Vessel v0.4.1 - Into the Hive!

in HiveDevs4 years ago (edited)

Vessel v0.4.1 - Into the Hive!

Screen Shot 2020-03-20 at 12.55.21 AM.png


Download link

Hive Blockchain launch is coming ...

... and what better way to prepare for it than to get your Vessel desktop wallet updated to support Hive! There will be a lot of new upcoming changes to Vessel in the spirit of Hive so be sure to keep your eyes open.

What is Vessel

Vessel is a desktop wallet that will help you securely and conveniently store your Hive blockchain keys, transfer tokes, power up/down, witness vote, add/remove delegations, and more!

By using Vessel, you can reduce the risk of your keys becoming compromised as you will have less of a need to use them on various websites or in your browser. You can add an extra level of security to Vessel by encrypting your wallet with your own password. Take that scammers!

What does v0.4.1 bring?

A whole new life! Along with the Hive rebranding, Vessel v0.4.1 comes with a thirst for new features and collaboration by the amazing Hive community. If you want to get involved with Vessel you can do so in a number of ways, including by sharing this post and joining the discussion below. Tell me what you would like to see added to Vessel and how it will improve your daily life on Hive!

I look forward to seeing you on the other side

And remember, use your witness votes. Make sure you upvote content you like, downvote abusive content or content you disagree with, and make your voice heard. Hive is a blockchain built quite literally by the community and for the community.


image (1).png


PS: SteemDevs community will be migration to HiveDevs. All curation will be moved over the HiveDevs in the coming week. Stay tuned for a further announcement.

Sort:  

Hey, @netuoso I re-forked your Vessel repo to fix some stuff I see and can test locally, you are welcome to copy paste or just merge: https://github.com/4Ykw/vessel/tree/fix-hive-migration

Not sure the best way to help, but because I wanna test some local stuff too. =) decided to fork it.

I am used to work on branches to fix stuff and upon agreement, either merge to my repo master first and then others, or if I am the only coder for my repo, then just directly to others (unless I have stuff I wanna test in a pipeline or something like that).

Awesome will check out what you added and merge in soon!

After looking at what I though a easy come back ... I realized I am not used to npm and yarn anymore... lost all knowledge. Plus the mess of cross resolving is crazy compared to what I am used to deal with.

Trying to test what I thought to be an easy commit. But now that I have seen you have actually added the change HIVE>STEEM on the powerUp function, I am not sure anymore if that was because it was dependent on the steemjs. Anyway, if it was, disregards that commit.

I also saw you started a @hiveio/hive.js. Are you going to switch to that over the next updates of Vessel?

Last question, and this is one of the reasons to play with this, any thoughts about adding the change_recovery_account which is something called "reset" on the js lib...?

Cheers and thanks for the fast replies. No rush on this.

I have seen already that the party has just started again on the Justin side... what a jerk...

Change recovery account will be a great addition. Thank you for that suggestion; I've added it to the TODO.

Npm/Yarn and all the Vessel goodness can get a little annoying with setting up the dev environment. One of my coming pushes will update all the NPM dependencies and provide a start script and a Dockerized build. That may make things easier to get up to speed!

That would be super... =)

(now on the right chain...)

Tested now... looks working fine.

Found a minor visual bug, I will try to replicate. When using the password to unlock the account. Works fine first time, then if you try to unlock another account (must have a different password to trigger the bug), when the pop up comes back up again, whith the "previous" password filled in, it has the "Unlock+Broadcast" enabled, and because the password is wrong... it does nothing (expected).

If you are by default highlighting the button when the password is correct, then this visual effect would make sense to be aligned.

This is quite a minor thing... not really important, but decided to let you know since I have used Vessel for so many years =) (feels great to say that, lol).

Good morning (here) @netuoso. Just found a link to this post. And successfully downloaded, installed, and used it to accomplish what I needed - to increase a delegation, which the PeakD wallet currently cannot (and Hive.blog's wallet is inoperative ...).

If I may make a request, I would encourage you to add a SHA256 checksum value to your GitHub repository, for a little added security for us downloading these files.

Thank you (and @jesta) for your efforts!

Good thoughts about the checksum. I will add that to the upload process for the future.

Epic, thank you!

Will this replace steem keychain?

They are two different solutions. Keychain is a browser extension and Vessel is a desktop wallet.

Apps could use the built in protocol handler in Vessel instead of Keychain, so it could replace it. Really depends on the user preference and if they feel comfortable with their keys in a browser extension.

or switch the node in the keychain to api.hive.blog and it works fine... real question is how do i open vessel i think im too stupid... the deb pack wont install when i click install and the tar.gz file has no where i can click to start the app, or atleast it doesnt seem obvious to me...

Switching the node in keychain has nothing to do with the question the guy asked about if Vessel replaces Keychain.

If you are trying to install a DEB package I assume you are on linux. You should google how to install the package on your OS. Ubuntu would be dpkg -i package.deb

The tar.gz is the source code, so if you want to use that you will have to compile the source code. That will take far more googling.

im sensing ur very stressed and annoyed by me asking.
so im sorry.
keep up the good work you are doing an awesome job.

I am confused... I thought I answered your question quite well.

You did not even tell me what operating system you are using. I inferred it was linux because you are trying to install a DEB package.

I provided the answer on Ubuntu, but the package installer instructions may be different on another version of Linux.

I took the time to reply to you and answer your question .. not really sure why you are saying I seem annoyed at you? A lot has been going on and I am moving quickly. Sorry if I didn't come across as welcoming.

i felt like i annoyed u also because you seemed quite displeased by me messaging you directly (asking questions) over discord earlier today instead of tagging you over group chat (that could benefit others better) :D so im glad tho i didnt annoy u.
thankyou for answering me :) its hard to sense ones feelings over a bunch of ascii characters, so i have misjudged

why replace the keychain? you can replace the api in preferences in the keychain to https://api.blog.hive and the keychain works fine

Please could you add a link to your Vessel. I am only aware of Vessel created years ago by @jesta

Great! I will try it out later today!

I am looking forward to check Vessel .
Keep Hiveing !

I think the new thing should be - keep buzzing! :)
Anyways, I'm so excited about everything around HIVE!

Thank you netuoso for everything as well as other devs included in hard fork and development of HIVE.

Perfect timing and wonderful news! Can't thank you enough for resurrecting Vessel!
Stoked for the latest V 4.0 downloading it asap.
Also, respect to you and the other Devs for holding firm to your principles.
See you on the other side!

cool!
heading to download!

One thing I would like to handle as well on vessel is the delegated vests that one account receives from others, is it possible to implement it @netuoso ?

I have been thinking about ways for Vessel to some of the account history that a user asks it to download/import. If Vessel had an active view of the users account history it could construct incoming delegations.

Otherwise, there is currently no API built into Hive that supports that query.