VIBES Web3 Music Competition Week 11 - "She's Only Sleeping" (Original Song)

in Vibes21 days ago (edited)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Vibes Community. My name is Jasper, and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa! Welcome to Week 11 of the Vibes Web3 Music Competition!

Today I would like to sing you an original song I have written called “She’s Only Sleeping”. This one is quite sad, just so you're warned!

In my mind, it is a song about a parent comforting a grieving child. Even in my own mind it has sometimes been a beloved pet that has passed away, while at other times it has been a grandmother. I think it is good that I leave that ambiguous and let each person who hears it decide for themselves. For many older people it could be about their own mother I suppose!

I hope you like this one despite the sad theme! Thank you for listening! Best of luck to everyone entering the Contest!

My submission link:

Lyrics to “She’s Only Sleeping!” by @jasperdick (original)

She watched you play she watched you grow
She loved you more than you could know
We always knew that it would end this way
As she got older everyday…

But baby don’t cry, you and I know she’s only sleeping
Baby don’t cry, it’s never goodbye, no use in weeping
She’s still watching you and sending all her love
She’s still watching you but now it’s from above
Because we know, that’s where the good ones go…

Oh how she loved to watch you play
She waited for you everyday
And we always knew that this day would come
Now that her time on Earth is done…

But baby don’t cry, you and I know she’s only sleeping
Baby don’t cry, it’s never goodbye, no use in weeping
She’s still watching you and sending all her love
She’s still watching you but now it’s from above
Because we know, that’s where the good ones go…

Sort:  

WOOOW, jas, de verdad que siempre destacas con tu estilo y voz bro. Me encanta ver la destreza que tienes y también al componer tus propias canciones. Realmente tienes una gran virtud. Saludos bro.

Your interpretation is very good!

I went through the lyrics and it's such a beautiful writing well done Sir.

I read the lyrics and saw that 'she's only sleeping' meant that someone has gone to the other side of live.
It's a very comforting song...It isn't easy to lose a loved one. When we think that they are in a better place, it also brings comfort to the heart.
Nicely written Jasper :)

Exelente presentación amigo,

This is brilliant man! Your original music is great, love your playing style :)

!LOL
!LUV

jasperdick, zakludick sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

What a moving song! The lyrics are so beautiful, and also when I read the context of the song and how you composed it, it was so great. I celebrate your talent and dedication in each presentation Jasper. This composition and interpretation are endearing and wonderful.