Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories – Sega Mega Drive2 and Mortal Kombat

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

mortal kombat.jpg
Image Source

When it comes to video games either during my childhood days or playing games now, I have so many amazing and wonderful memories that can never be forgotten. For me, if I am to pick my best video game memories, it would definitely be from my childhood days – Boy oh boy were those days crazy and so so amazing. I can never forget that faithful night when my dad got me the Sega Mega drive 2 game console after I passed the challenge that he game me. The challenge was basically to be among the top 10 best student in my high school class and he was going to get me anything I wanted...

For me, that was one of the best challenges I had ever received as a child and I couldn’t miss that golden opportunity. At the end of the academic term, I beat the challenge by a great distance and was among the top 6 – this meant that I was going to make my request and he was going to fulfil his part of the promise. Boy oh boy did he fulfil his promise quicker than I thought – a night I would never forget. He came back home with a pretty large box and dropped it on the couch. He didn’t say a word and went straight inside to his room...

image.png
Image Source

As usual, I was inquisitive to know what was inside the box – I got up from where I was seated and opened the nylon package and to my greatest surprise, IT WAS THE SEGA MEGA DRIVE 2 console. I screamed at the top of my voice as joy and excitement took control over me. I was so happy and I couldn’t control the happiness in me that night. I quickly rushed to meet my dad in his room to appreciate the gift and the promise he kept. It was one of my greatest moments as a child. I didn’t waste any time, I tore open the console box and brought out the game – the first thing that welcomed me was the brand new smell of any new electronic device and the Mortal Kombat game cartridge...

image.png
Image Source

It was heavenly. I quickly glanced through the console manual to learn how to set the console up. After reading the instructions, I set up the game with the speed of light as all I wanted was to get my hands in action as quickly as possible. That moment when you switch on the game and the TV to see the sega mega drive 2 intro. It was at that moment that I knew that I was about to go into a world of fun. I put the cartridge on and as they say, the rest is history… lol.

image.png
Image Source

Mortal Kombat still remains one of my best ever games on the Sega Mega Drive2 game console. The quality of that game on a 16 bit console is just out of this world as at that time. Playing Mortal Kombat was great and my favorite characters were Sub Zero, Noob Saibot, Cyrax, Scorpion. I also enjoyed playing with other characters but these were probably my favorites ones out of the others in Mortal Kombat 4. I can remember mastering some of the moves, fatalities and brutalities that I received form different friends who also had the console. It was truly an amazing time as we would spend time during school hours to discuss moves of the different Mortal Kombat characters.

image.png
Image Source

I played the game so much that I was pretty a badass in the game. I was so confident in my Mortal Kombat skills. As always, I am my friends back in the days used to challenge ourselves in the game and I won a lot of those battles. I was that good. Using Noob Saibot was awesome as I mastered almost all his every moves. I was really good with Scorpion and the Sub Zero characters as well. The Sub Zero freezing was great as well – I was so good with him that I could literally get a flawless victory with ease just by using the freeze move.

image.png
Image Source

image.png
Image Source

Aside competing with friends, I also enjoyed playing against the computer and completing the various stages and difficulty levels of Mortal Kombat 4 was a great feeling. I can remember finally defeating Shao Kahn after several failed attempts and watching him explode was one of the greatest feeling of my Mortal Kombat on the Sega Mega Drive 2 journey. All I have to say is that this game experience I had back in the days can never be forgotten and it is something I am very privileged to have experienced. The memories were truly amazing.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chimzycash! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 120000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna