You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What should you get for competetive play? My new gaming setup Review and my recommendations for you.

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

$2490 total cost

Assuming most people won't need to buy the desk or additional LED lights.

Other costs people might add is the power strip/backup and stereo system.

What operating system or essential software did you buy, and what was the cost of this? Do you use an older speaker system that continues to perform well?

This was a great article.

Any recommendations for transferring everything onto the new PC?

I would like to get a newer PC so I can finally play newer Steam games that won't run on my older laptop. It is always hard for me to figure out the best way to transfer my data, and retain axcess to my old software installations. Windows always organizes installs items in double or triple locations, needing all of them to run things as before. Last time I ended up doing a copy of the user files and program folders onto external USB drives, and it's not pretty, but feels a bit safer with most of my saved data off the main drive where the operating system lives. Had to lose or reinstall most software.

Is there a way to possibly keep my old laptop running and able to communicate/network to the new PC and Monitor? Or would it be better to ditch it and get everything off. It already runs hot and sluggish with all the additional fans I use to keep it cool while running.

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by on my post @creativetruth.I'm glad u like the post. Unfortunetly I can't use stereo system since I live in 1 room with my parents and that would be annoying but I agree, most people already have their desks and LED is just an addition. I'm using Windows 10 Home and I bought a key to active it for 2.5$, there are many tutorials how to do it for free but I went with a less risky option because cracks and other stuff might contain viruses. Besides that I'm not using any paid software like Anti-viruses(even free anti-viruses slow down your PC performance). I'm not sure if its what u asking about but I'm not using speakers, only headphones. I feel like with my new motherboard my audio quality is a lot better and louder than on old PC.

Basically what I do when I'm reinstalling Windows or changing PC - I just take USB flash drive, copy all the imporant data to it. It gonna take a while so I go out of home for this time. Then when I get the PC I install Windows, and all the apps I had on my old PC, with my good internet connection its pretty fast and then I paste my data from USB flash drive to my new PC. It takes some time and its annoying. Other way is u can upload it to some sort of cloud and download it on new pc. But I rather to just use USB Flash Drive. If you have paid application I hope u have the key to activate them on new PC. If those keys are for 1 PC that will be problem. I think theres no magic tricks, just take ur time to copy everything and paste it.

Thanks for the insights. Yes, the old floppy copy technique is a stone age practice, but still seems to be the best option for reliably backing up data.