Wait, Amazon has Cloud Gaming too? | Amazon Luna

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

image.png


In the last couple of years, more and more companies were getting into the whole "cloud gaming" or "gaming as a service" market. First, we saw games implementing microtransactions and (maybe) making some of the games either free or lowering their usual price.

LiquidSky, Shadow, Nvidia GeForce NOW, Microsoft xCloud, Google Stadia and now... Amazon Luna enters the cloud gaming scene. With a $5.99 introductory price tag.

image.png

According to Amazon, Luna will start running in the US initially and will expand later down the road, currently, it will support 1080p/60fps for unlimited gameplay and will be available on PC, Mac, Fire TV, iPhone and iPad (I am assuming they're going to add Fire Tablet support too? That'd be interesting otherwise) They said they are going to add 4K support down the road.

Unfortunately, it seems like Amazon suffers from the same thing as some other providers like Microsoft xCloud, PlayStation Now and Google Stadia, a limited library of games.

image.png

Unfortunately, I couldn't find a full list of supported games, so this screenshot has to do for now.


All in all, I believe that competition is good and with Amazon's virtually unlimited budget to spend on stuff like these might give them an edge. What do you guys think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @deathwing! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts. Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Update for regular authors

I use geforce now and its free for up to an hour. I can't do long gaming sessions unless I'm playing with others so its perfect for me.

When I tried out GeForce Now, I think it was $4.99/month, cheaper than Amazon to be honest and you can more or less use your whole library for a great RTX experience, given you'll need the internet speed for it though.

Did you try out the paid package?

Yup, it's still $4.99/month. It was fully free when it was in beta, and honestly nothing different. I've got 100 down and its works great on it.

I haven't tried out the paid package. Barely have any time to game so I'm not going to waste money when I'm already broke.

$4.99 a month for up to 4K gaming? That's a steal. Though you'd definitely need time.

Yea, when I game for like an hour a week I'm not going to buy that. I've still gotta finish Spider Man.