Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories - Skyrim

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

image.png

Source

The Elder Scroll V: Skyrim is the complete name of my favorite videogame of all time. Open world videogames have always been my favorite ones and if we mix that with a western medieval type of world, then the result is a perfect formula for my tastes.

Before Skyrim the only western RPG I had played was Fable, I was unable to play Oblivion but I knew about The Elder Scroll saga, so when I watched the first images and trailers of Skyrim I was mindblown. There were giants, trolls, dragons!, the world seemed immense, and everything looked more mature and serious when comparing it to Fable.

It was like seeing the game of my dreams coming true and when I finally played, it was exactly like that. Skyrim is the most epic and enjoyable videogame I have ever played. When you start the game, on the menu, you are greeted with this epic and powerful song in the background. Sometimes I even stayed in the menu just to hear the complete song, check it out and if you know a more epic song than this one let me know in the comments:

Now imagine yourself hearing that powerful song while discovering your first dragon flying in the skies above you in a giant fantasy world. They even created a new dragon language just for this game and this is the language used in the song.

My first companion in this game was called J'zargo, he was a cat-like being who belonged to a race called Khajiit, I remember meeting him in a sort of magic school where he requested my help and since I love doing a lot of side quests I accepted without knowing he would become my permanent companion for a good while. My last companion, on the other hand, was a vampire girl called Serana from the DLC Dawnguard who was extremely powerful.

When playing this type of game exploring the world on your own usually becomes a rewarding experience, one of my good memories happened when I found myself doing a mission inside a haunted house experiencing what appeared to be demonic activity. I was with a small cousin at that time and he even got a little bit scared. The final reward from completing this mission was a very evil looking mace.

image.png

Source

It was also possible to encounter powerful enemies called Dragon Priests, there were 9 of them in total in different parts of the maps and they were always inside intimidating looking structures/temples. One easy way to recognize them was their use of Dragon Priest Masks, these were metal masks with a cloth hood, and they always had extremely valuable stats. After I installed the Hearthfire DLC I had a sort of museum in my house with some mannequins wearing valuable armor pieces and some Dragon Priest Masks. There were also a lot of the unique weapons I collected hanging in the walls. It really was a very beautiful looking room.

Being a medieval RPG, it is no surprise there is magic inside Skyrim, but this game had a unique type of powers that were exclusive to your character given the fact he is a Dragonborn. These special powers were called "shouts" and in order to learn them, the first thing needed was to locate a special wall with information about the shout in particular. These walls were difficult to locate and usually in places inhabited by a lot of powerful enemies. After finding one of these walls and learning the shout, then a dragon soul was required to unlock it, hence the importance of fighting against dragons and killing them. For each dragon you killed, you absorbed its soul.

image.png

Source

One good memory when using a shout called "Unrelenting Force", which is probably the most common one, happened when fighting against a troll. In the beginning, trolls are very dangerous to you because they can easily kill you. Ice trolls are stronger than regular brown trolls but both are scary in the beginning. I had just learned my Unrelenting Force shout so it was in its first stages of development, this shout is like a massive push against your enemies that can very well send them flying depending on their size. An annoying troll had just spotted me and was coming down to attack me. I tried my shout to see if I could earn myself a few seconds to get away from the troll, so I use the shout at him, on a mountain, and the shout sent the troll flying off! he went down to the ground and off the mountain like a straw doll. I broke out laughing when seeing that for the first time.

As I mentioned in the beginning, in this game there are giants as well. They are mostly peaceful but it is not advisable to go near them. If you approach them they will probably turn hostile, hit you with their massive mace and you will feel like a baseball in a homerun. I am not lying, you literally go flying in the sky like a baseball and die.

image.png

Source

I also remember the first time I fought against a werebear, at first I thought this was a bigger and stronger werewolf but to my surprise, it was actually a man turned into a bear, I didn't even know this enemy existed. It turned out, that the Dragonborn DLC included werebears into its regions. These enemies were strong even for an advanced character.

A similar surprise happened when playing the Dawnguard DLC, there is a part of the map with a lot of ice and what appears to be a giant ice lake. When walking above this place, 2 dragons will fly from beneath the ice, breaking it and attacking you at the same time. It is one of the best fights in the entire game and it was really challenging. This was a complete surprise and is one of the reasons why I love this type of game, out of nowhere, 2 dragons appear not from the sky but from beneath you! These 2 were also really powerful dragons, much more than usual. An epic song is always playing when experiencing these crazy fights.

image.png

Source

Skyrim is the closest thing to an endless game, it has all sorts of guilds with tons of quests for each, a lot of independent sidequests, the main quest that's extremely epic about a battle against an evil dragon, there is even a civil war between humans, and the DLCs offer a lot of content as well. The only thing I would have preferred was to play this game on PC instead of on Xbox but at that time my X360 was the only device I had available for gaming. In PC there were also tons and tons of mods that added much more content! In total, I spent more than 100 hours playing Skyrim, and I didn't even finish all the side quests, and that was with zero mods because there was no way to use mods on Xbox.

Luckily, I am now able to run some recent games on PC and I have been posting my ongoing exploration of a modded Fallout 4 as well as the adventures I had in Enderal, a Skyrim's mod that's completely independent and just as enjoyable as Skyrim itself. As you can see, I am a fan of Bethesda and I am obviously looking forward to their new space RPG game called Starfield and of course, I am also patiently waiting for The Elder Scroll VI.

As a last related note, Amazon recently announced they were going to produce a live-action series based on the Fallout apocalyptic world, and even though that series will probably be cool and exciting, I wonder why they chose that saga over The Elder Scrolls. Take a look at this Skyrim live-action trailer, it would have been such an awesome movie/series.

Sort:  

Oh those sweet Skyrim member berries....The main Dovahkiin theme will remain in our hearts forever.

"he went down to the ground and off the mountain like a straw doll. I broke out laughing when seeing that for the first time."

I sent many a sheep flying of mountains with unrelenting force :)

The main Dovahkiin theme will remain in our hearts forever.

Yes it will. I always thought Skyrim had the potential to become a live-action movie, especially after seeing The Witcher and Fallout with their own series. Skyrim is better than those 2 in my opinion.

Skyrim is one of my all time favourite games too. So many memories. I remember when i first played it i felt like this was the game i had been looking for all this time.

I always picked erik the Slayer as my companion. There was something endearing about him and i enjoyed teaching the greenhorn the ropes. Turns out the backstory of how they came up with the companion erik the slayer is very endearing. Its to honor one of skyrims greatest fans who passed away far too young. I thought that was classy they made him a part of the game and a companion.

Skyrim is great because you never run out of places to go, things to fo adventures or even mods.

I am looking forward to the sequel

For me, The Elder Scrolls are my perfect RPG. Have you checked Enderal? If you have a gaming PC you should definitely check it out. It is a free mod on Steam that is as awesome as Skyrim and I am not exaggerating. It has a completely independent story and character. It is just awesome.

I thought that was classy

Oh I remember reading a similar story with an old lady from Youtube that loves Skyrim. Bethesda is going to include a character based on her in TES VI.

I remember her. I watched a new special on her. The gaming granny.

Yep i played enderal. Beautiful game, excellent voice acting and plot. Used to live running around ark

NOOOO
HICISTE LA RESEÑA DE MI JUEGO FAVORITO !!! me encantó de verdad jaja ya nada mejor que ese video Live Action que dejaste... tanto amo Skyrim que ya le he hecho 2 post ajdakhdkjashj hay demasiado de que hablar

Expetacular

This is one of the best games I have ever played in my life. When I first played it I couldn't believe it. So many interactions, an epic world with fantastic creatures, weapons and skills everywhere, I loved it right away. I remember that as soon as I was able to get some levels I went with a lot of courage to face a troll believing that I had enough power to defeat him. To my surprise, I ended up flying through the air hahahaha. Keep up the good work.

Congratulations! Your awesome post was curated by our team and featured in our Gaming Curation Report. Keep up the great work and game on!

 4 years ago  

Skyrim on the PC is the best RPG ever! If properly modded to suit your tastes.