The Long Dark [Tis the season. The season for gaming. PT. 2]

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Buckle in. It's cold. You are alone and no electronics are functioning.
The snow is starting to fall. You realize you don't have enough food, let alone any warm clothes to get you through the encroaching blizzard. You must press on. Scrounge, scavenge, and craft. At this point, your survival counts on it.

Screenshot_19.png


The Long Dark is a beautiful game with a unique style. It's one of those games where you can feel the love, sweat, and tears poured into it. The dev team did a fantastic job. Truly nailing what I imagine it would be like to have to suddenly start surviving in the middle of a brutal winter.

If I were into handing out numerical ratings this one would get a 10/10.

There is so much to this game, I am so excited to share it. I hope I can cover it all (they are still updating it!) and do it some justice. The world they have artfully crafted is so immersive. From the crunch of the snow when you walk to the howl of the wind as you hide in a cave. You can't help but get sucked in.

On the other hand, there are also some incredibly useful features meticulously incorporated to provide the player with a customizable experience to fit their preferred playstyle. This is predominately displayed in the time spent developing various modes (including a story mode).

I will say, the majority of my hours are in sandbox mode but I have played some bits of the story. It was very enjoyable, but I enjoy the freedom of exploration the sandbox modes gives me. I always just end up getting distracted and focusing on survival, completely ignoring the progression of the story. So, sandbox mode is a perfect fit for me.


Screenshot_9.pngScreenshot_10.png
Setting the stage for our survival adventure by choosing our difficulty. Pilgrim (easiest), Voyageur, Stalker, Interloper (most difficult), and an additional option to customize things even further. I do suggest that if you are new to start with Voyageur. The injury system can kick your butt when you aren't sure of all the ailments.Here is an image of the 12 maps that are available for exploration. Each map has its difficulty. Some have more shelter options while others you can go for a full-in game-day without seeing a human structure. Additionally, you can travel in between maps as you work your way across the landscape.

So it begins...

Screenshot_12.png

After choosing the Stalker difficulty, I felt spontaneous and ended up using the randomize feature for my starting location. I ended up getting plopped right on the Coastal Highway. Not a bad draw. There are lots of abandoned vehicles to search and a few buildings and cabins. Time to start working my way down this mountain.

Screenshot_11.png
Here are my starting supplies. As you can see. I need to start becoming resourceful real quick!

Traversing down the highway went smoothly enough but I didn't find enough food. I found an old lantern and some upgraded clothes. But hardly any food. Lack of supplies could mean that getting caught in a blizzard would be devastating. Sometimes the storms could last a few in-game days of pure a snowstorm "white-out". Not wanting any part of that, I decided to push onwards towards Pleasant Valley (spoiler: it wasn't very pleasant).

Screenshot_18.png


The Valley

This map is generally good scavenging but has a severe wolf problem. I think it's the trade-off for having all these abandoned human houses to hide in. The goal was a small town, which was finally reached before sundown. Some real shelters with indoor fireplaces and plenty of scavenging.

This was the plan:
Step 1: Find a house in the center of town. Can easily walk back and forth without much effort.
Step 2: Drop off some things at the house from Step 1.
Step 3: Head out to clear the other houses of their food while I could still see. [important]
Step 4: Retreat to base house, organize loot, craft anything I could, and catch some rest.

Upon arrival, most of the food found from the coastal highway fishing huts had been eaten. There were only 2 cans of soda, a bag of beef jerky, and a fruit and nut bar left in my bag. I wasn't in dire straights, but tomorrow morning I would have to head out right away and hope I find some food immediately.

I hastily got started on steps 1 and 2. Sweet. Good to go.
As I head out the door to start on step 3, I hear it. A wolf howl. I can't see it at first. But it was close. Quickly trying to get eyes on it, trying to analyze how close it was and what the options were I walked forward. Wrong move! The wolf was right in front of me.

20211209193748_1.jpg

I'm not ashamed to say I retreated. I backpedaled back to the house I came from. The wolf followed me the whole way. Snarling. If I had let it get any closer it would have probably started sprinting and I had no deterrent. It would have been a bad night.

Screenshot_16.png

Once safely inside back inside I took a moment to ponder the option. Letting go of the battle plan was the best move. The sun wasn't going to be up much longer and that wolf most likely wasn't going to go anywhere soon. Time to focus my energy on clearing the house I was hiding in. It, fortunately, did end up having a decent amount of food in it. So I could rest easy.

I did try to go out in the night to see if the beast was still around. Tossing a flare out some distance to get a line of sight. I couldn't see it. But I heard it howl. I 'noped' back into the house. It was time to wait till morning so we live to survive another day!

Screenshot_17.png


The Craft

The Long Dark, is just wonderful. Keeps me coming booting it up every year. The crafting/affliction system are just a few of the high notes for me. Initially, getting started can be a little confusing. I do promise that if you take some time to learn it, you can save your bacon! Sometimes it just takes trying a few combinations of things.

Screenshot_22.png
Even catching a few in-game Z's burns calories.

Craft tools, weapons, clothing. Break down resources and repurpose. It's what will get you from barely getting through the day to thriving through blizzards.

This does have a cost though. Every time you break a resource down or build something, game time is lost. Tools can help to decrease this cost but not with all things. Something as simple as breaking down a large tree branch for firewood can take 10 minutes. That is a full 10 minutes of exposure to the elements, potential predators, and the burning of precious calories. Now, with a hatchet, it could be as little as 5 minutes.
Screenshot_17.png

Still, the best option is to just pick up a smaller stick. Having to weigh the time spent on essential tasks like food, boiling water, resting, traveling, and scavenging forces you to prioritize.


I recall one playthrough where I had found a nice shelter to base out of. I was pretty comfortable. Not worried. Went out to collect firewood. The simple task wasn't going to be away from camp long. I had come across a cedar branch that I wanted to break down. It was going to take 45 in-game minutes. I had been walking away from camp for about 2 in-game hours this was my last grab before I turned around to head back. A momentary warning flashed in my mind. Something to the effect: don't waste your time, just look for smaller sticks. I ignored this advice. Instead of smashing the enter button to approve of my choice.

It's important to note that when breaking down or crafting it takes you into a screen where you can't do anything. Once the task is complete or if you hit cancel the game would return you to your spot in the world. Well, when I came out of the menu it was a snowstorm. I couldn't see anything. Snow raining down, the wind blowing, and me not being able to see the footprint that was going to lead me back to camp. I froze. Unable to light a fire, no shelter, and having left my heavy-duty supplies back at the camp.
Screenshot_13.png


Don't Get Sick

Afflictions are a whole other ball game. You need to stay on top of your well-being and status. Cold, tiredness, hunger, even cabin fever, are all things that can happen to you. Pushing things too far or waiting too long can be costly and even game-ending. Adding a whole different type of difficulty to the game. Which I like.

Screenshot_3.pngScreenshot_2.png
Proceed with caution. One false move. Sprinting down a slope, having an encounter with a wild animal, or having too high of an encumbrance. You can also get frostbite, infections, food poisoning, and even lose your sanity.If you find yourself afflicted with the aforementioned ailments make sure to manage it using your supplies. You may get lucky and have everything you need to repair yourself. Or just to even make yourself some tea to get warm.

Final Thoughts

This game is worth it. The effort gone into the development and improvement of this game is exactly how a game studio should do it. I pick this game up every winter and am never disappointed. This game may not be for everyone, but it is right up my alley.

In closing, I did want to take some time to draw some attention to the lovely charity work that the Long Dark Team (Hinterland Studios) has contributed to with some of the game's proceeds. Paying their successes forward. Knowing that the money I used to purchase this game was used to plant trees is just another flower in the cap! Well done!

thelongdark1.png

Screenshot_8.png


All screenshots were taken by me, Huzzah, and are from the game: The Long Dark


Check out my friends and fellow collaborators on HIVE!

Hive.Pizza hosts events every week! 🍕
Events like: Movie Night, Trivia Games, Poker, and Chess Tournaments!
With the potential to win free $PIZZA and NFTs! Make sure to check out the discord linked above for more information
.


resize2.png

🌟Huzzah🌟

Sort:  

In the dark you have nothing but yourself and yourself only. sounds fun and i mgiht try it out :)

!PIZZA

does look good daddy!

And the howls of the wolves to keep you company! It is a really fun game IMO. Let me know if you do end up giving it a try! :D

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@huzzah! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@huzzah(2/15) tipped @cryptoniusrex (x1)
huzzah tipped stickupboys (x1)
stickupboys tipped huzzah (x1)
huzzah tipped nitsuga12 (x1)
huzzah tipped dadspardan (x1)
creodas tipped huzzah (x1)
cryptoniusrex tipped huzzah (x1)
dadspardan tipped huzzah (x1)
huzzah tipped creodas (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Very Nice Review, don't know if you mentioned it, but is it single player only?

!PIZZA

I didn't mention that actually. Great question, it's a single-player only game. I think there are some 3rd party mods that allow multiplayer. But the dev team has come out and stated that the game was designed for a single person experience and has no plans to come out with an official multiplayer version.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Al principio del juego me fastidie mucho caminando y yendo de aca para alla en la nieve, lo sentia como un simulador de caminar en la nieve pero en los capitulos siguientes le tome cariño aparte lo jugaba a la par con mi novia. Se que lo dieron gratis y es una gran experiencia de juego. Recomendadisimo, lastima que la pandemia atraso el desarrollo.

Sí, hay un montón de caminar. Llené mi tiempo recolectando recursos y explorando. ¡Me alegro de que tú y tu novia lo hayan disfrutado! Es bueno que hayan estado lanzando actualizaciones periódicas a pesar de que no pueden acceder a su equipo.

Perdón por mi pobre español. Utilicé el traductor de google.

!PIZZA

This game looks incredible, I might have to go and get it! great blog have some more !PIZZA.....as if you not eating pizza everyday!

It is! It's holding up well for being 4(ish) years old. The fact that they are still working on it and adding things makes me so happy!

It's definitely one of my all-time favorites. Thank you for the za! (I wiiiish I could eat pizza every day).

!PIZZA

This game is so gritty, I love it. Surviving never truly thriving. Nice review of a lovely game.

!PIZZA

It's so good! Only takes 1 multiple-day blizzard to really throw your chances out the window! Or the unexpected bear! 🐻

!PIZZA

Congratulations @huzzah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!