Shadow of Mordor Review

in Hive Gaming5 months ago

Sometimes I struggle to come up with great titles for my posts and simple titles will do the trick, right? After all, you all understand what this post is about and that's what matters. One of the first games I played as a real gamer was Shadow of Mordor. Let's take a look at it.

Overview

I think it's a game with impressive graphics and if you're a Lord of the Rings fan, you need to try this game. I'm not saying you can find Middle-earth here, but there are references to it. I haven't played many games of this kind, but there are realistic Orcs and Uruks like in the movie. Some of the characters from the movie are in the game as they are in the movie. For example Gollum! I would have quit this game much sooner without him (just kidding). I think he also has an important role in the movie and I think our main character is inspired by Aragorn.

The gameplay was summarized for me by @pusen. The game tells you which button to press all the time. An attack is coming, use right click. Is another attack coming? Roll. I know that's one of your favorite things, man, and I rolled a lot in this game. You can mark missions on the map, which is nice. I don't want to get lost in the open world. By the way, yes, you have an open world and you can go wherever you want and take on whatever creatures you want. There are no limits. Of course, when you encounter very powerful creatures, they will destroy you in one go. So be ready for that. So the game is not as easy as you think.

Gameplay Details

The game has an army system. What does that mean? Your enemies have ranks in Sauron's army. I'm not talking about ordinary orcs, they all have their own level and have their own strengths, fears and weaknesses. If you assess them correctly, you can defeat them more easily. But here's what happens when you are defeated. The commander you defeat increases in rank and becomes more powerful. Also, the leaders you kill are replaced by others. So you should fight as much as possible without dying. Is this possible?

I don't think so. Because there are different missions to complete in the game. Really challenging missions. For example, you have to kill one of Sauron's top commanders, but he doesn't travel alone. He's surrounded by a few other lower-ranking commanders and a lot of ordinary orcs and archer soldiers. When you get between all of them, the battle is chaos. I've fought against 30 people alone and won, but you can't fight 5-6 leaders at the same time because they are really strong. Some archer bosses can kill you in a single attack. Of course you get one last chance.

There is a mechanic called last chance. You can dodge the attack of your enemies even if you have very little health before you die. I won't explain how, but it's really easy. There are other mechanics in the game, for example, right now I have a mechanic where I can turn my enemies to my side, and not just ordinary soldiers, but the most powerful leaders closest to Sauron. I've done it a couple of times, it's part of a quest in the game.

You can walk anywhere you want in the game, but you can also fast travel to certain points on the map if you want. You just need to go there once beforehand and that's it. I think that's a great feature because sometimes you want to walk everywhere but sometimes you want to get there fast. There are wild creatures called Caragor that you can use while traveling. Of course you can't have them whenever you want. You have to jump from above and get them on your side.

How Much Have I Played and Will I Continue?

I've played the game for about 20 hours, I've finished about 33% of the story and I must say it's enjoyable, so I'm thinking of continuing. I don't know if I'll make it to the end, but I'll do my best. Right now I'm stuck on a very difficult mission, maybe I need to go back and strengthen my character in side missions to complete it. I think you can easily spend 50-60 hours in this game.

Music, Atmosphere, Map, Side Quests

I think the game's soundtrack is very good, but I would recommend turning it down a bit. It gives you the feeling of the middle world. I can say the same for the atmosphere of the game. Everywhere you look you enjoy because there is a different view everywhere. There is nowhere on the map that is empty. Everywhere there is a challenge, a side quest, a horde of orcs and so on. They balanced it well. The content of the side quests is also sufficient. Not all of them are perfect, there are definitely missions that need to be improved, but that's normal.

Final Thoughts and Rating

As I said above, if you are a Lord of the Rings fan, you should try this game. Of course, I don't know how accurate it is to say this without trying other Lord of the Rings games. If there is a better Lord of the Rings game than this game in the comments, please send your recommendations! I would like to take a look at them. I will give this game 8.5 out of 10. I think it is a very enjoyable game, it can be played for a long time and the price is not too expensive. But I recommend you to buy it on sale because there are great discounts. I got it on sale, and I can't lie, I'm a big Lord of the Rings fan and that's why I rated it a little bit higher.

Bonus Screenshot Section

Here you can see the landscape photos I took in the game. I didn't want to spread them all in the post.

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you liked it. Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments section. Especially if you've played this game, let me know what you think so we can discuss it. Take care and have a great day!

Play More, Live More!

Sort:  

@tipu curate 10

Thanks a lot for your support, I appreciate it

It's a good game, a very nice open world. And the cool thing about the Nemesis system, where enemies can evolve, was a great addition.
The apparition, as the protagonist is affectionately called, has to coexist with that other soul tormented by betrayal and ensure his revenge.
The backstory in this game is interesting, they did a good job in this installment indeed, it is a good recommendation.

I see you've played the game before, man. I'm glad you liked it. How many points out of 10 would you give this game?

As a lover of this style of games (hardcore Skyrim player), I would give it an 8.
But I have followed it through a good YouTuber friend (RicharBetaCode), I still haven't finished building the gaming PC to run this installment.
In a short time I will be able to get another graphics card, so I can play more recent games.

Sounds perfect man, I hope you can play the game asap!

Okay okay okay, is this free to play? It looks free to play...

I'd have to agree with you on Gollum...it would not be the same,heck if Gollum isnt there its not Lord Of The Rings!

I bought the books a few months ago and hell seeing this, okay well I've seen it before but I haven't actually seen game play footage...the graphics looks fairly greay if you ask me and the fact that it is open world really grabbed my attention.

I might actually try this out if it's free or very cheap!!

!PIZZA

The game is not free, but there is a big discount right now. I think it's $3.50. It's not too expensive, right? I'm glad you like it man, I hope you buy it and at least try it. Here is the link: https://store.steampowered.com/app/241930/Middleearth_Shadow_of_Mordor/

Ooooohhhhh I need to go grab it then! Lezs then R80 I cant buy anything in this country for under a R100 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

 5 months ago  

Wow bro, this game is really awesome and fantastic, you have amazing graphics and gameplay that apparently looks easy, the missions I feel are very amazing and the battles even more, what catches my attention is the open world, where you can explore just as you mention, sometimes you want to go to a place fast and sometimes not just to admire the whole environment of the game, I think you should finish it, but I notice that it will take you more than 60 hours to do it hahaha, that's the bad thing about complicated games, they force you to level up a lot extending the duration of the game as such.

We'll see if I'll be able to finish the game, man, but it'll be a different experience for sure. Maybe I can try it. It won't be easy for sure.

Thanks for stopping by.

I found the game to be meh when it first came out but the ending of it had me buying Shadow of War when it released! The nemsis system is interesting it's just a shame that it got TM.

I also like the mixture between AC, and the batman arkham games, for the combat!

Yes, the nemesis system is interesting to me too. I think the combat system is not bad. It would be better if I didn't get one shot from every archer boss I see :P

Wow, I didn't know there was a game based on the Lord of the Rings, I love it! Although unfortunately because of visual problems, it would be difficult for me to play it.

By the way I saw that you joined the InLeo campaign and well, I'll just tell you that today they announce how they will distribute the rewards and that you still have time to recover the points and reach the goal.

Yeah thank you so much for reminding, that's the 3rd one today XD I don't know if I'll come back to climb at Zealy, we will see.

Hmm you mean problems about your PC or something different?

Visual, from my eyes hahaha. I need surgery.

Ahh got it, I hope you can have the surgery if it's possible

It’s been a while I haven’t seen you on Zealy campaign 🤔 today they are going to tell us about how they are gonna distribute the prizes. Hope that you can still try to recover your points keep trying 😇.

You are looking for me on Zealy? 🤣 I just want to try my luck but I didn't push more. Maybe I can have a look again later :)

You can still try for it many days left :D

this lord of the rings game is very interesting, I didn't think there was a game of this famous franchise.

Yeah and there are even more mate :)

Oh yeah, I have watched lord of the rings and the characters you are talking about like orcs and uruks, we can also find those in warcraft ( the movie I loved a lot).

This game looks nice plus I also like the shape of gollums, lol.

`


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.


`

Gollum is my precious! LOTR is legendary and I'm glad you also like it. Thank you so much for your supoprt mate :)

Glad you're enjoying it even if I didn't.

Thanks man, it's fun for me because I'm a fan of the franchise 💍

 5 months ago  

really fun right? while what pusen said this game is repetitive which I agree, It's just very satisfying to defeat encounters.

and also, the game with the better gollum model.

have fun buddy

Thank you so much man, I know it's repetitive sometimes but it's still fun to me :)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@technicalside(3/5) tipped @incublus

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This game must be really great, guess I'll have to check it out. I like the visuals you presented.

Hope you'll be back on the Zealy campaign soon. I got a reminder myself so I thought I should remind you that we could still make it to good positions in the leaderboard 👍