Game Maker Project: Dr. Stone - How I create my own game based on the Anime Dr. Stone - Part 002 (EN+DE)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

The following post is in English and German.

English:
All pictures are original screenshots of the game taken by myself or I created or redesigned the pictures by myself. Original pictures are created by the game developers (unknown artists; pictures from official websites of the game). I use only fanmade grafics if I have the rights to use them.

Alle Bilder sind Originale Screenshots des Spiels, gemacht von mir oder ich habe die Bilder selbst erstellt oder redesigned. Originale Bilder sind von Spieleentwicklern designt (unbekannte Künstler; Bilder von offiziellen Webseiten des Spiels) Ich verwende nur Fanmade-Bilder, wenn ich die Rechte an dessen Nutzung habe.

Follow me on Steam and get my created >Live Wallpapers< for Wallapper Engine for free


English:
If you missed the post before or if you are a new follower of this Game Maker Project: Dr. Stone, you can find the other Posts in the end of this Post :D

Deutsch:
Wenn ihr einen Beitrag verpasst habt oder ihr neue "Follower" des Game Maker Projekts: Dr. Stone seid, könnt ihr die anderen, älteren Beitrage dazu am Ende dieses Beitrages finden :D

Dr. Stone Game 001.png


English:
I like this Anime! It is one of my favorite. I also like survival games. So I looked for a game where I can play like in the Anime Dr. Stone. I found a Dr. Stone game devoloped in and for Japan but it was like a cheap produced mobile fighting game... Not what I want, so I started to create my own Dr. Stone game, based on RPG Maker MV :D

Deutsch:
Ich mag diesen Anime! Dr. Stone ist einer meiner Lieblingsanimes. Ich mag auch Survival Spiele. Also habe ich nach einem Spiel gesucht, das mir das bietet, was den Anime Dr. Stone ausmacht. Ich fand sogar ein Spiel produziert für und in Japan, aber es war mehr ein billig produziertes Mobile-Kampf-Spiel... Nicht das, was ich mir erhoffte. Daher beschoss ich einfach mir ein eingenes Dr. Stone Spiel bassierend auf dem RPG Maker MV zu kreieren :D


Primitive Crafting System | Primitives Crafting System

English:
In the last post I started the project and we created the Interface to show the player how hungry, how thursty and so on the character is. Essential for Dr. Stone in the beginning is a "Crafting System" for primitive tools and we need resources to create them. We will create food and water in another post.

Deutsch:
Im letzten Beitrag habe ich das Projekt begonnen und wir haben ein Interface erstellt, damit der Spieler sehen kann, wie hungrig, durstig und so weiter der Charakter gerade ist. Essenziell für Dr. Stone ist am Anfang ein "Crafting System" für primitive Werkzeuge und wir benötigen Ressourcen dafür, welche wir auch erstellen müssen. Wir werden Essen und Wasser in einem anderen Beitrag erstellen.

Dr. Stone Game 006.png

English:
To make it easy to open the function to create primitive tools, I create 2 global Events. The fist is easy to create. We need the function to open a choice what to craft. To open this choice I use the button for "Site up" which I not need for my game in the normal way. So if the player press the button in my case "Q", the global event #0043 to craft primitive tools will open. The function itself will be there on global event #0043. The event must be activated by a Switch which have to be activated on the first map, where the player should can use the crafting function. For the crafting system itself I crated some items like branch, stone, flint, plant fiber, thread and so on, which will we need to craft tools.

Deutsch:
Um die Crafting Funktion einfacher und überall öffnen zu können, verwende ich 2 globale Events. Das erste ist einfach zu erstellen. Wir benötigen eine Funktion um die Auswahl, was erstellt werden soll zu öffnen. Um das zu bewerkstelligen, verwende erstelle ich die Bedingung, wenn der Spieler die Taste "Q" für "Seite raut", was ich normalerweise im Spiel nie benötigen werde, verwendet, wird das globale Ereignis #0043 geöffnet, in dem sich die eigentliche Funktion zum Craften von primitiven Werkzeugen befindet. Das Event selbst muss über einen Schalter auf einer Karte aktiviert werden, auf der der Spieler die Funktion zum ersten Mal nutzen können darf. Für das Crafting System selbst habe ich ein paar Items erstellt wie Ast, Stein, Feuerstein, Pflanzenfasern, Zwirn und so weiter, welche zum erstellen der Werkzeuge benötigt werden.

Dr. Stone Game 007.png

English:
Now to activate the Event to craft tools we need now switch because it works by pressing "Q" button. To craft things I have 3 categorys: Primitive Tools, Primitive Wapons and Material. In Material the player can craft other resources like thread by using plant fibre. I show you the example to craft a "Primitive Hammer". Look on the picture above to see what I mean. There are different options to create this function. In an older post I showed when I set every resource the player have to an variable in the beginning of the event before the conditional branches starts. In this example I show you how we can set all resources to only 3 variables (#0061 - #0063) or more if you need more different for one tool. I set the variables inside the conditional branch of the tool "Primitive Hammer" to the amount of Stone, branch and thread. Then the condition starts to check if the player have enough items to craft the tool. If not, the player get a message and the choice jump to start by using "Labels" inside the condition to craft the tools. I use also a loading bar while crafting the tool, so the tool will be not instand crafted and later the player can skill to decrease the time it needs to craft items. For that loading bar I use also labels to jump to another position inside the "programming" and then jump back. To jump to the right position I use a variable for the label (with conditional branche funktion there) and I have only change all the time the number of that variable. So I need the loading bar on only one position of the "programming" and not in every choice what tool to craft. After that I check the durability of that tool (important to see if the player already have a tool like that) and if it is less or equal to 0 I set a number for the durability. If the tool breaks in another global event the durability will set back if the player have another same tool. For sure while using that tool in the events the durability must decrease to get it work. Then I set a switch to other events for easy checks if the player have the tool (no need if you like to check every time if the player have the tool directly) and everything else is like normal (player get the tool, materials will be gone and player hear soundeffect and see a message). To see how the loading bar works, you can find the basic principle on the first post (in the end of this post is a link).
You can do all of this for other things easy by copy and paste if you have the first tool. You only have to customize it for other tools or materials :D

Deutsch:
Um jetzt das Event zu aktivieren um Werkzeuge zu bauen, benötigen wir keinen Schalter (Switch), da wir ja mittels Taste "Q" das Event jetzt abrufen können. Um etwas herzustellen habe ich 3 Kategorien: Primitive Werkzeuge, Primitive Waffen und Materialien. Materialien ist sowas wie Zwirn, was aus Pflanzenfasern hergestellt werden kann. Ich zeige euch ein Beispiel für "Primitiver Hammer" Seht euch das Bild darüber an um leichter zu verstehen, was ich meine. Es gibt verschiedene Optionen diese Funktion zu erstellen. In älteren Beiträgen habe ich beispielsweise am Anfang des Events alle Materialien, welche der Spieler besitzt, bestimmten Variablen zugeteilt und diese nach der benötigten Anzahl abgefragt. Hier zeige ich euch die möglichkeit von nur wenigen Variablen (#0061 - #0063), 3 oder mehr, wenn mehr verschiedene Materialien für einen Herstellungsprozess benötigt werden. Diese Variablen werden immer innerhalb der Bedingten Verzweigung (Conditional Branch) neu definiert, da diese Variablen immer die Anzahl verschiedene Items besitzen (welche eben zur Herstellung benötigt werden). In diesem Fall werden Stein, Robuste Äste und Zwirn benötigt. Hat der Spieler nicht genug davon, wird durch die Bedingte Verzweigung eine Nachricht angezeigt, die anzeigt, was fehlt und mittels eines "Labels" springt die Auswahl an den Anfang zurück. Ich verwende außerdem einen Ladebalken, damit die Werkzeuge nicht sofort fertig gestellt werden und später kann der Spieler auch mittels Skills/Talenten die Herstellungszeit verringern. Die Funktion des Ladebalkens ist nur einmalig innerhalb des Events und wird mittels Label immer abgerufen. Am Ende wird mittels Label zurückgesprungen. Damit die "Programmierung" weiß wohin, wird eine Variable für den Prozess zuvor festgelegt, die mittels Bedingter Verzweigung später ausgelesen wird. So müssen immer nur die Label und die Variable für das Label angepasst werden (verringert die länge der riesigen globalen Events um es etwas übersichtlicher zu machen). Im Anschluss wir die Haltbarkeit des Werkzeugs geprüft. Ist diese bei oder unter 0, wird ein bestimmter Wert hinzugefügt. Das ist wichtig, falls der Spieler bereits das gleiche Werkzeug besitzt. Zerbricht das Werkzeug, wird die Haltbarkeit in einem anderen Event zurückgesetzt, wenn der Spieler weiterhin das gleiche Werkzeug hat. Das funktioniert natürlich nur, wenn bei Verwendung des Werkzeugs der Haltbarkeitswert gesenkt wird. Weiterhin setzte ich einen Schalter für die Prüfung ob der Spieler dieses Werkzeug hat (wird nicht unbedingt benötigt, wenn ihr jedes mal direkt prüfen lassen wollt, ob der Spieler das Item besitzt). Alles andere ist wie normalerweise (Spieler bekommt Werkzeug, verbrauchte Materialien werden entfernt, Spieler hört Soundeffekt und sieht eine Nachricht). Um zu sehen, wie der Ladebalken funktioniert, könnt ihr im ersten Beitrag (Link am Ende des Posts) das grundlegende Prinzip sehen.
Für alle anderen Sachen, die hergestellt werden können sollen, könnt ihr dies ganz einfach mittels kopieren und einfügen bewerkstelligen, wenn ihr das 1. Werkzeug fertig habt und man muss es nur noch anpassen. :D

Dr. Stone Game 008.png

Dr. Stone Game 009.png

Dr. Stone Game 010.png

English:
I hope you like it and thanks for watching. See you next time^^

Deutsch:
Ich hoffe ihr mögt es und danke fürs ansehen. Bis zum nächsten Mal^^


Links to the Posts of this Project | Links zu den Beiträgen des Projekts

Game Maker Project: Dr. Stone Part 001 (EN+DE)
Discontent by the search for a good Dr. Stone game - I started to create my own game based on that Anime! (Creating an Interface)


English:
Please tell me if you find mistakes in writing during 7 days after publishing this post. I can change the Post only on this time. If you want to use my pictures for your projects/posts or whatever, please link my post.

Deutsch:
Solltet ihr Schreibfehler innerhalb 7 Tage nach Veröffentlichung finden, teilt mir dies bittet mit. Ich kann den Beitrag nur innerhalb dieser Zeit ändern. Solltet ihr Bilder von mir für eure Projekte/Beiträge oder was auch immer verwenden wollen, verlinkt bitte meinen Post.


You want to show everyone your created games, your gameplays or something else?
Then do it with Hive on Bord on Peakd

No Account on Hive? You should create one here: Hive on Bord

Generate Tokens for your Hive-Account!

Play RisingStar to get Starbits - RisingStar.png Starbits
Play Splinterlands to get DEC.png DEC

You can find me also with other projects and topics on:
Hier findet ihr mich ebenfalls mit anderen Projekten und Themen:
Yalunas Blog LeoFinance
Yalunas Blog Neoxian
Yalunas Game Maker Blog on Peakd

Sort:  

Wow, I love Dr.Stone & Game Development, and I like more Gamedevs to join this blockchain... Seems like you're using RPG MAker assets, will you make the art to be closer to the anime in the future?

I hope you succeed, starting a game isn't hard but sustaining the effort is.

Since you want feedback: The way your post formatted isn't easy to read... I think it'll be better if you made all of your post in English and then another copy of your post below it in German. If you don't want to do that, you can make the words English and German bold by adding "**" to them.

By the way, I think you should change the title to include RPG Maker since there's an actual program called Game Maker and that might get people confused.

Thank you^^
I will try to change the used tilesets in the future. The art itself will be changed and I try to do it closer to the anime and there will be also original pictures from the anime for some scenes.
I added "**" to the languages. To write the post 2 times cause of using different languages is no option. I got trouble from the Admins/Moderators of Peakd.com in the past cause of that.
Good to know about that Game Maker program but I don't want to change it because I have more then only that project and Game Maker is the main Name of all this projects. The biggest of my Project you can also find here is Project Pokemon Amethyst (EN+DE) also from the same project line but created with RPG Maker XP. In the post itself on the beginning I also wrote It is created with RPG Maker MV.

Oh, I understand about the game maker part then...

" The art itself will be changed and I try to do it closer to the anime and there will be also original pictures from the anime for some scenes."

Nice, just make sure to not overstep your limits too much with copyright.

"To write the post 2 times cause of using different languages is no option. I got trouble from the Admins/Moderators of Peakd.com in the past cause of that."

Thanks for telling me, I didn't know that... Another way is to put the other languages in quotes, but I understand. Good Luck~


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Good luck on your project! Looks cool.

Thank you^^

 2 years ago  

I love Dr. Stone. I think the ideal with this kind of programs is to make your own sprites, when I tried it I obviously used the predefined ones, but Game Maker one of the many good things it has is the freedom it gives you to make your own sprites.

Intersting and good to know :D
The most time if I need sprites I look in the internet for free to use commercial and non commercial or I buy high quality sprites if I find one or the most time I design them by myself only with paint.net and it works fine but It is much work^^'
Do you know if the resolution of created sprites in the Game Maker programm is fix or can the it set freely?

this looks amazing I would really like to play it one day i really loved the anime and trying to recreate some of the experiments so this game is a lovely idea

Thank you^^
That was my intension to create a game where we can do things like Senku in Dr. Stone Anime :D
The project iteself will need much time to create all the maps, the story and so on. At the moment I redesign all the maps with better textures and I create the cave with the bats to get nitric acid like in the Anime :D

Awesome that sounds great. I'm wondering r u going to add Sulfurina the Sulfuric acid fairy in the game I really loved that depiction of the chemical😅