Garden Update - Day 28

in HiveGarden24 days ago

Hello Everyone,

The garden is looking really good lately.

I planted everything almost a month ago, and have been doing my best to care for the plants properly.


IMG_20240523_165909697_HDR.jpg



IMG_20240523_170207365.jpg


I finally hammered some stakes into the ground. Of course I waited until these tomato plants started flopping over, but I didn't allow them to stay in their flippity floppity state for very long :D


IMG_20240523_165934196_HDR.jpg


How about these squash and eggplant plants?

I definitely planted them too close together, but I don't think that is going to hinder them from healthy growth. It'll probably just be a little crowded is all.

I feel like these plants look so good that I could convince just about anyone that I've been gardening my entire life, but the truth is this is my first garden ever outdoors.

I've been lightly watering them at times when I feel they need water, and strictly with 6.5 pH adjusted water.


IMG_20240523_165944081_HDR.jpg


I don't feel like these pepper plants should be growing peppers just yet... We have a lot of backyard floodlight action going on in the hood... So I'm going to blame it on that...

When plants are exposed to light during the hours they should be in darkness, early flowering can occur.

It's such a cute little pepper though, I don't even care that it is early.


IMG_20240523_170045341.jpg



IMG_20240523_170036117.jpg


Look at all these happy loved plants.

I think next time I won't place the pepper plants next to the fence. They like a lot of light and I just don't really know what I was thinking, but hey.. They still look good.

Let's go ahead now and just slide these canna-beasts up in here...


IMG_20240523_144707698.jpg


These Crack Macks are looking epic.

They're a bit of an experimental grow.

I accidently pollenated a Green Crack auto flowering plant with Big Mack Superstar and Miracle Mack pollen.

That means there's a lot of variation for phenotypes.

And it also means they could all behave differently. Some might be auto flowering while some are photo period, or they might be all auto flowering or all photo period. I have no idea what is going to happen.

If they are all autos then I think that means they will all be female. Time will tell, and they are on the same exact day count as the outdoor garden. I didn't plan that really it just happened that way.

Presex indicators should be coming within the next week or two.


IMG_20240523_201900217.jpg


I've also been lumberjacking a little in the back yard.


IMG_20240523_201753650.jpg


I think one day I might start challenging people to have hand axe competitions with me. They'll have their work cut out for them ;D

What else can I cram into my overdue update?


IMG_20240523_182118853.jpg
Syracuse New York Inner Harbor


I've been taking a lot of trips lately to the Syracuse New York Inner Harbor.

It's a pretty little public park area with lots of flowers and people jogging and walking their dogs.

I have a very high rate of magnetic attraction with dogs, and it's quite common for dogs to start yanking their pretty woman walkers my way without me doing a thing to attract their attention. What a nice ice breaker with meeting pretty women since dogs are a great judge of character and all ;D


IMG_20240523_185313755.jpg


The sun has been so bright and intense lately. I'm not the only one who's noticed, as I've seen some people talking about it on the internet lately. The photographs where the sun looks normal sized I have the exposure turned down a lot, but you can still see the aura where it would be full washout to the lens and naked eye. It's so bright I can hardly glimpse at it with the naked eye, whereas last year I was able to look directly into the sun for upwards of thirty seconds or so. I'm not recommending looking directly at the sun, it might be risky. I still pass vision tests with flying colors.

To me this giant washout like sun is an indicator of something atmospheric, causing a hazy blurred magnification, but it's only an uneducated guess. I'd love to hear other people's thoughts on this.


IMG_20240523_181244765_HDR.jpg



imageedit_7_8108585954.webp
Catmint, Photograph touched up with LUNAPIC photo editor.


I'm going to be experimenting around with some electroculture soon, and also will be experimenting around with aloe vera, as I have a nice little aloe farm in rapid growth currently.

We can expect all kinds of stuff from futuremind in the near future.

This concludes the garden update.

As always, thank you for stopping by!

Have a good day! -@futuremind

Sort:  

This is looking great and a wonderful challenge. Interesting to see the pepper already growing.

image.png

Thank you @litguru.

It's certainly a challenge, but mostly I'm just letting nature do its thing.

I wonder how big that pepper will get since the plant is not very mature.

That's very cool to have unexpected growth happen. Do you fertilize your plants?

Indeed it is cool. No fertilizer, just planted them into the existing soil in the yard. The only thing I've added to the ground is two light waterings with pH adjusted to 6.5

Nice. I was hoping you'd have a secret recipe for plant juice. 😄

I'm still perfecting my secret sauce :D

Just a month ago and they are looking good already
That’s awesome

Thanks so much my friend for the kind words.

nice!

kneeing in the mud :D

@tipu curate

Thank you my friend!

Of course, I love playing in the dirt :D