Lots Done - March 25, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGardenlast month

Seedlings - celery crop March 2024.jpg

Celery seedlings

On Monday morning I was up at 5AM and got the beef bones roasting and wrote my post. I got ready for errands, got breakfast, did chores, checked the seedlings, laid out ingredients for bone stock, and just squeaked through in time to go to exercise class at 9:10AM.

Seedlings - mesclun1 crop March 2024.jpg

Mesclun coming back from the haircut

When I got home from class I rested for 45 minutes then got up and got ready to do errands. I had time left so I got the beef stock cooking on the porch. We did errands and shopping and were home again before 1PM.

My general helper got the vegs prepped and into the roaster, then she watered the seedlings.

Computer on desk crop March 2024.jpg

My husband’s computer had been sitting on my desk since Tom had made the “new” computer. As he had finished it on Sunday, I really wanted to move this computer off my desk.

Desk area mess crop March 2024.jpg

This area between the woodbox and the old desk was where it normally stayed. So we cleaned it out and took the stuff to the cellar.

Cellar - soil and clean up crop March 2024.jpg

But I knew a lot of stuff was laying on the floor down there. My son had done a great job moving the bags of seed starting mix and I needed to finish putting things back where they belonged.

So we went down and did that, even got the pallet laid down and stuff on it, off the floor. Now if we get another downpour like we had on Saturday, I won’t worry so much about things getting wet, if the cellar gets damp.

Computer moved and working crop March 2024.jpg

Then she went upstairs and got the little table that fits this area and we got the computer moved and working.

Trays and covered done crop March 2024.jpg

She was going to wash trays, but I thought we should double check the starting sheet. Good thing, because I had made changes previously and they weren’t reflected in the totals. We would have to set up in the office door area and there were 13 trays we’d be starting on Monday, April 1.

Now she knew how many trays we needed, she finished off what hadn’t already been done.

Fence gardens - daf buds crop March 2024.jpg

The Fence gardens hadn’t been weeded since 2019 and there were a lot of tall dead weeds in them.

Fence gardens - tall stuff out crop March 2024.jpg

My helper had thought it was warm enough for her to go outside so when she finished inside she went out and cut down all the tall stuff and pulled out as much dead grass as she could. She wasn’t weeding, just cleaning up some.

Fence gardens - tall stuff out2 crop March 2024.jpg

She almost made it through the 4th Fence section. It’s hard to tell Fence sections with the fences down. Sigh…

East Shed - 30. Tweety Bird daff crop March 2024.jpg

We had seen tiny daffodils for sale at the market and I’d been telling her I had slightly larger versions that came up early, called Tweety Bird. And there was one open in the East Shed garden, on the very north end.

New East - lungwort buds crop March 2024.jpg

New East garden – lungwort buds

I was completely exhausted by 2:15PM and left her to it while I rested. I kept an eye on the bone stock, did chores, and was glad I’d picked up something for supper at the market as I was far too tired to cook.

On Tuesday I hope to finish working on the paperwork and I have an appointment mid morning. I also have a trashed kitchen to clean up.

Sort:  

It must have really been a busy day for you. Do you have helping hands around you

On Monday I did have a helper. She did most of the work.

I love the blooming in your garden.

 last month  

You manage to get a lot done in one day. You may be getting our warmer temps heading your way for a nice change. The gardens look good and I am sure you are excited to see flowers blooming.

So far, no decent days until next week. The flowers are pretty much stalled by the cold, I think…

Please, if i may ask what kind of exercise class do you always talked about ?
Your son Tom did an excellent job by moving and elevating the bags of seed starting mix at least you won't bother yourself about them getting wet anything it's raining

Tom is a family friend, not my son. But my son did do a nice job.

We have Senior Centers here in most towns. Ours is a particularly active one and offers many classes and events. The class I take is called Healthy Bones and Balance and the leaders take us through a variety of exercises and balance movements, plus strengthening exercises for an hour, 3 times a week.

It always beats my imagination how you are able to do so much in a day, everyday without getting tired. You must be a workaholic 😊
I'm happy the garden is eventually yielding some daffodils

Oh, I get more than plenty tired. I spend most afternoons on the couch or in my chair! But I long ago learned to work smarter, not harder. It makes all the difference.

You’ve got a very busy day
Make sure you rest well

Rested most of today, actually.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Your husband's computer must hold beautiful memories and that could be the reason you have not moved it since.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 12000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 12500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain