Work - April 16, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden15 days ago

Stock - waste crop April 2024.jpg

I was up at 4AM on Tuesday. I had a LOT of work to get done before I left to go play at 8AM. I got my post up and then went out and processed the stock to package it for the freezer. This all the waste. I wish I had pigs, they were the only ones who would eat it.

Stock - 10.75 qts. crop April 2024.jpg

Once it was strained, I put it into quart containers for the freezer. I got 10¾ quarts. Then I started the process of cleaning up the awful mess tallow makes. That took quite a while.

The waste has nothing left in it even though it looks edible. I’ve tried to use it for something, but it just tastes nasty. Hence pig food, if I had pigs.

Porch full again crop April 2024.jpg

Now that the roaster was out of the porch, I could put all the seedlings back where they belonged. Then I watered them well. So we have the dining room table and couch back, until next weekend. I plan to do the last batch of stock then.

I finished washing and drying the laundry, but didn’t have time to fold it. I got the kitchen mostly cleaned up. Then I got ready and left. We got back at 12:30PM.

Cold frame covers on crop April 2024.jpg

My general helper had done an errand for me, cut more crabgrass for Larry and had just started cleaning out the cold frames. I got changed and came out to help her get the covers out of the garden shed. Then we figured out which ones went where and were done.

Big garden - 1-2 cleaned out crop April 2024.jpg

I checked to see if I had any amendment for the Big garden but it was all gone. So we just cleaned out around the rhubarb and comfrey and mulched the corner.

Then we started cleaning out the rest of the garden.

Big garden - garlic cleaned out crop April 2024.jpg

She moved over to the garlic, and pulled up the flag markers. Only 1 garlic hadn’t come up. Then she cleaned all the debris out from them. I kept working on the main garden and got nearly ½ of it done.

Big garden - 5 kales still alive crop April 2024.jpg

My legs started to cramp so I stood and pulled up all the kale that had died. I found 5 that were still alive. The deer hadn’t killed them. My helper had moved to the south end of the garden and she got another section done.

Wood - first bag empty crop April 2024.jpg

My son found that 1 of the bags of wood is nearly a truckload. There’s a lot of kindling in the bottom of the bag. I moved the truck up to the shed and he will unload it on Wednesday.

It was such a gorgeous day to be outside. We got such a lot done. On Wednesday I hope to finish the cleaning out of the Big garden, and if I have any energy left, I might clean out a flowerbed as a reward. Or maybe I’ll plant pansies…

Sort:  

So much work done in a day!
I could do only two or three things today!! Time just escaped from me too fast!!

 15 days ago  

I'm sure you were happy to get so much done in the garden. It was nice to have two full days of sun to get things cleaned up. Today, well here comes more rain for us. lol

I’m counting on rain all day tomorrow so I can rest…