You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please, no more frost!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I wish I could send you some heat! We have been close to 100°F for the last week.

I already have a bumper crop of ticks! I wish I had time to grow something else to harvest, LOL. I just have a few tomatoes with some onions and garlic planted.

💗🙏👍😳🤕

Sort:  

It was warm here for the past 3 days, at about 30 Celsius. The first day wasn't so bad because we had 40-60 km winds. The second day was oppressive hot, but today it rained for 8 hours so it wasn't that bad either. Ticks are terrible. You need to keep that grass cut to reduce their numbers in your immediate surroundings.

Working on a riding mower for out there! Have a brush hog scheduled in about 10 days....

They are Bad, I'm going to do a post on a homestead tool to cleanly remove ticks soon. I'm using pure sulphur dust to keep them off me for now!

It has been 35 to 38°C here lately, Not fun!!!!

🤠👍💗😁😳

Why not use some Deep Woods Off? I bathe in the stuff. haha. Watch your dogs too because they like to hide on the dog and then jump off into your bed. Is there lime disease in your area?

Off doesn't seem to work very well here on ticks, but I have tried it. They hate the sulphur though.

We do have lyme disease here, but I don't leave them unmolested long enough for a good bite. It takes a day or more for them to really latch on to feed, but most are off before they can bite at all. Where they do bite, I made a special tool to remove them safely...pulls everything out in one shot!

My dogs haven't been out there yet, but when they do, I'll watch them carefully!

💗🤠👍😳

We don't have lime disease, but we do have ticks. I give my dog a flea and tick med in the Summer months. Sometimes in the Winter months too. Poor baby had fleas bad one year and he went outside in the Winter to freeze them off. We had to flea bomb the house!

They are a pain for sure! I Hate fleas, and they love to bite me. I have flea pills coming for the dogs. In the mean time, I'm flea combing them, and dumping the fleas I find into soapy water! They sink like a rock....

👍💗🤠😆💙

Fleas are definitely the worst. They itch worse than mosquitos!