Please, no more frost!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

My garden is in, so I hope there will not be another frost. I don't think there will be, but it is a possibility. Last year, there was a killing frost on June 21st, so anything could happen. I pretty much lost everything and had to start over.

20220611_203409

Starting over is a big deal because the season here is so short. In general, the last frost is at the beginning of June (or mid June) and the first frost can be as early as the end of August, but by September for sure. That is a short time frame!

Many of my seeds have not even come up yet, but at least everything is in. Every bit of this garden is planted with something, except for where the stepping stones are.

I plant in patches instead of rows because I am weird. I think that I can get more plants in this way, however. Even still, I whine every Spring: "the garden isn't big enough!"

20220611_155546

This is my greenhouse. As usual I have over-planted it. In another few weeks it will be difficult to walk in there. In addition to the plants that you can already see, there are seeds waiting to germinate in there. Last year, the tomato vines were so long and heavy that I had to tie them to the rafters.

20220508_135833

This is what the greenhouse looked like a couple of weeks ago. Stuff fills in fast.

20220611_155407

Look at these baby lettuce! I want a salad so bad, but they are taking forever to grow. I weeded them to help them along. Maybe I can harvest some leaves by next week--maybe.

I am always panicked at this time of year because all my work can just disappear overnight if it gets too cold. So far, however, I have done okay AND I have the added bonus of rain. We are several years into a serious drought. Last year was so bad the provincial govt hired a salvage company to harvest the failed crops for animal feed. The whole year was a loss. Hopefully the drought is ending.

Sort:  

I hereby decree you will have no more frost this season. There. It is done.

The garden will be hearty this year and the lettuce will be ready in a few short weeks. We were there about 2 weeks ago and are harvesting a salad for dinner tonight. I just wish tomatoes would be ready earlier. Strawberries are nice and early and I see a little jalapeño so that won’t be long either!

I love the #gardenhive community and all the people and gardens I discover!

Thanks! Your decree is working AND I even got some rain.

Oh yah I am a little low on that this season too. So glad to have a rain barrel and a large roof to fill it. Otherwise I would be in trouble. One good rain fills it up and keeps me watering a few days.

I have 5 rain barrels and each are 1000 litres or 250 gallons ish. I still need more. It has been a bad drought.

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

this is really a short season, all the best for your plants

Thanks! Although the season is short, I have the benefit of longer days. The sun is rising just after 3 am and does not set until almost 11 pm.

Great garden you are really tackling the season well done

What a shame, i hope that the frost doesn't appear again, and the time do the best of bless to your garden

The soil there looks very fertile because from the photos I saw the soil there was sandy so it was very easy to plant some plants.

The fertility is not too bad. I add compost and manure every Spring. The soil itself is fairly sandy and even more so because we have had a severe multi year drought.

I wish I could send you some heat! We have been close to 100°F for the last week.

I already have a bumper crop of ticks! I wish I had time to grow something else to harvest, LOL. I just have a few tomatoes with some onions and garlic planted.

💗🙏👍😳🤕

It was warm here for the past 3 days, at about 30 Celsius. The first day wasn't so bad because we had 40-60 km winds. The second day was oppressive hot, but today it rained for 8 hours so it wasn't that bad either. Ticks are terrible. You need to keep that grass cut to reduce their numbers in your immediate surroundings.

Working on a riding mower for out there! Have a brush hog scheduled in about 10 days....

They are Bad, I'm going to do a post on a homestead tool to cleanly remove ticks soon. I'm using pure sulphur dust to keep them off me for now!

It has been 35 to 38°C here lately, Not fun!!!!

🤠👍💗😁😳

Why not use some Deep Woods Off? I bathe in the stuff. haha. Watch your dogs too because they like to hide on the dog and then jump off into your bed. Is there lime disease in your area?

Off doesn't seem to work very well here on ticks, but I have tried it. They hate the sulphur though.

We do have lyme disease here, but I don't leave them unmolested long enough for a good bite. It takes a day or more for them to really latch on to feed, but most are off before they can bite at all. Where they do bite, I made a special tool to remove them safely...pulls everything out in one shot!

My dogs haven't been out there yet, but when they do, I'll watch them carefully!

💗🤠👍😳

We don't have lime disease, but we do have ticks. I give my dog a flea and tick med in the Summer months. Sometimes in the Winter months too. Poor baby had fleas bad one year and he went outside in the Winter to freeze them off. We had to flea bomb the house!

They are a pain for sure! I Hate fleas, and they love to bite me. I have flea pills coming for the dogs. In the mean time, I'm flea combing them, and dumping the fleas I find into soapy water! They sink like a rock....

👍💗🤠😆💙