Mid October annual garden update

in HiveGarden6 days ago

Pepper season is upon us, and we are getting many kinds. Jalapenos, Serrano, Mini Bell, Cayenne and Trinidad Scorpion. During early spring they did not do much, but now they are really taking off and filling the plants full of fruits. The amount of peppers we getting are now starting to out number the tomato harvest. Which has been the dominant fruit of this year.

The trinidad scorpion peppers can be seen above, fully ripe. I cut them off and careful not to touch them. The amount of capsaicin inside is weapons grade and I really do not want any of the oils in my eyes or somewhere else scratching my ass or something.. lol

The broccoli has crowned, but seems every bug in town went after them as soon as they did.

Suprised they did anything at all, we planted them in the spring and just like the peppers not much has happened until now.

The tomatoes seem to be slowing down, wrapping up for the year. We got so many so its okay.

The lettuce plants dropped their seeds, and now are trying to come back... lol Well the beds need lots of soil, so I am afraid these will be buried. But maybe next season we will get dropped seeds that can stay.

They even dropped outside the beds, trying to grow in the hard clay soil.

We will harvest the last few tomatoes, but seems the plants are dropping production around this time. With temperatures dropping into the 30s they will not last much longer.

Wood loving mushrooms have been popping up in the boxes.

Not sure what kind it is, but its quite large.

Taking a closer look at the trinidad scorpion peppers the redness tells us they are ripe. Also tells insects and animals danger... lol I like danger.

Such ugly little peppers, but with over a million heat units they are no joke.

I cut them off carefully, putting the bucket under the plant and cutting them right into the bucket.

The cayenne peppers are getting really big. They look so cool all long and curly.

So big for such a small plant.

One of the trinidad scorpion plants lives with the horse gram vine.. It is not as happy..lol

Speaking of the vine, it is producing beans now!

Thousands of pods forming, soon I will collect them and boil them.

The serrano peppers are doing well, getting quite plump.

Luckily with peppers we can pick them at any time. Even when they are green they are still good to eat. But I like the spice so I will wait.

This winter I hope to fill up more of these beds, the low ones should be perfect for my upcoming crop. Check out my newest snap for a preview on my garlic.

My first perennial plant is coming up, the ginger I planted early this spring is doing well.

Going to give them a few years to grow, and then I can start harvesting ginger roots for cooking.

Just like the broclli, the brussel sprouts are getting their ass kicked. Harlequin bugs seem to be doing the damage, this is a new pest to me. Tried using my soap on them but did not seem to affect them. Will need to find another solution for next year.

Sucks I was hoping for these to grow up big.

The amount of settling that has occurred in some of the boxes need to be addressed. I will add more dirt soon.

Seems like this year we corrected our mistakes from last year. Now they have much better soil and seems be paying off. Along with using shade cloth earlier this year, all of it is helping. And next year I hope we do even better.

Even if bugs got some the plants, we will try again next year with new methods to keep them bay.

Sort:  

hahaha some peppers really make your eyes water very effectively. The place you put it on burns for a long time :)

Hehe yeah that has happened to me many times.. No fun.

Overall, the plants did great.😊 Good job to your tomatoes which bore more fruits this year.😊

Thanks, yeah this year our tomato plants did great!

As you said, maybe the peppers would outrank your tomatoes. 😄😄

I've heard a lot of people complain about bugs with things like broccoli and leafy greens in the past. That is part of the reason I have never really bothered to grow them. We had a very dry season, so I am guessing my garden would have done quite poorly if I had tried. Usually my peppers come out quite bitter and have really thin walls. I think it has to do with how much water they get.

Ah okay, makes sense.. next year we will need to be more vigilant against bugs on the broccoli and bussell sprouts.

Damn I have always had good luck with peppers.

Trinidad scorpion peppers are looking so red and ripped thus they are ready to be plucked out now.

Yep, we got them all picked now.

What good news dear friend @solominer,
How good that the pepper harvest has surpassed the tomato production, it's great to see the growth of your plants
Have a great day

Thank you, yep it is cool seeing how during the grow season changes so does what is being harvested.

you too

!HOPE
!LOL
!INDEED

I used to work in a blanket factory.
But it folded.

Credit: reddit
@solominer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of cryptoyzzy

(8/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

(3/5)
@solominer! @cryptoyzzy Wants to spread Hope! so I just sent 1 HOP to your account on behalf of @cryptoyzzy.

Since we think the world can use more Hope, you can now already start spreading Hope yourself!

Hope Logo

(8/10)
@solominer! @cryptoyzzy Totally agrees with your content! so I just sent 1 IDD to your account on behalf of @cryptoyzzy.

Indeed Logo

all those plants looks really healtly and i know that you will harvest greats vegetables :D

Hehe yeah they are doing much better than my cannabis crop did thats for sure.

I didn’t know peppers could be that spicy—I'm kind of scared to try the Trinidad Scorpions, though, haha

Hehe yeah it is quite potent.. best to make a sauce with it or something else that dilutes it.

The Trinidad scorpion must really sting so harder to get that name and I understand why you wouldn't touch it lest those same hands end up in some membrane.... 😁
Quite a lot of peppers and I really love my food very spicy.

Probably so, and yes I want to be as careful as possible with them.

Me too I love spicy food.

wow, you have a Ginger. =)

Yep, just bought some in the local market, broke it up and planted it.. just that easy.

The peppers are looking so luscious. I'm glad the tomatoes did well, and the peppers are also doing well. Congratulations, it's every farmer's dream to get good yield from their farm/garden.

Thanks, they are doing well.

Well glad we are doing better this year, last year we did not get any.

Impressive pepper harvest. Those Morugas look really dangerous. I tried it once, almost died just like I did after trying Carolina Reaper :D Crazy stuff. And I´m saying that as someone who eats fresh Habaneros regularly so I can handle some heat...

@tipu curate 2

Thanks, yeah the peppers are really coming along now. Damn, the Trinidad Scorpions are only one notch lower in spice than the Carolina Reaper. So I can only imagine how that was.... we are not going to eat them raw.. probably make a chilli paste and use a 1/4 teaspoon at a time cooking with it...lol

Your posts are very uplifting for the spirit I must say. I wish I could just drop everything and move to a more rural area, I'm sure I would be happier. You seem to grow all sorts of vegetables and fruits in what looks like a stunning area. I'm just trying to work out something though, do you run a crop farm or something like that?

Glad you like my posts, yes I know what you mean. I was unable to do this just a few years ago as I was taking care of my mother. But now I was less responsibility with her passing and have done very well for myself so I can live the life I want to live.

The fruits and vegetables I am growing in this part of the garden is purely for hobby. But we have a 1 acre plot we are going to start garlic in next year, and we hope it will be a successful crop we can bring to market.

I have never tasted the Trinidad scorpions or maybe I have but didn't know, but I love its spiciness.

Haha well try to make something with it, I would not try to eat it raw.. too spicy.

What a nice update, the peppers look nice, I have not seen this Cayenne pepper before, see how they grown big and long, you did a nice plant, more Grace.

Ah thank you, yeah this was my first time growing them so its all new to me as well.

thanks

I'm blowing away! Everything looks so beautiful, you have a very varied garden, there is so much good quality produce, this is life, nothing is as fresh and healthy as the food you grow yourself.

 3 days ago  

Those darn bugs love brassicas and the only way I have found to ward them off is to use insect netting on the raised beds. It really helped to get a nice harvest. Perhaps next season you can try to do that. Here are a couple photos of how I use it. It would be good for broccoli, cabbage, and Brussels sprouts. I hope this helps you with your future gardening.

Also, do you think using scorpion peppers for a pain salve would be too hot? I use Cayenne but maybe these would be stronger. Just wondering if you have ever tried that.

SRL-image-2 (1).jpg

SRL-image-1 (2).jpg