Starting a garden Post #10

in HiveGarden2 years ago

img_4604.jpg
Purple Allium flower.
This is from a bulb planted last fall in one of my beds along the driveway.
Now on to Starting a garden Post #10. My first harvest!
img_4536.jpg
These radish were planted 6 weeks ago from seed directly into the beds.
img_4534.jpg
We sliced the radishes and added the greens to a salad for lunch. We never ate the greens when I was growing up but they are tasty and kind of spicy like the radishes themselves.

img_4612.jpg
Next up some delicate blueberry blooms.
img_4613_2_.jpg
I am pleasantly surprised with how well the blueberries are doing. I think we will have some blueberries to eat this summer.
img_4614.jpg
Here is a shot of an entire blueberry plant.
img_4582.jpg

We planted five different varieties. I think the mix is intended to produce berries over most of the summer but I will be happy with any berries this first year.

img_8917.jpeg
Since last post, we added some straw to help retain moisture.
img_8919.jpeg
We also added some pots so we had room for all of our tomato plants. You can see two pots by the fence posts here.
img_4569.jpg
And a couple of more pots here along one of the beds. We found the pots left at the end of a driveway marked "Free" 🙂
img_8924.jpeg
We also built three little beds outside the garden for some flower seedlings we didn't have room for in the garden beds.
img_8925.jpeg
These are sunflowers and marigolds. We put annuals in these beds. Perenials we put in flower beds closer to the house.
img_4572.jpg
Now that all the seedlings from under the grow lights in the garage are planted. Here are some current shots. The brussel sprouts are doing very well. We planted them a week before the other seedlings.
img_4575.jpg
The sunflowers were some of the largest seedlings and continue growing well.
img_4579.jpg
Some sunflowers are starting to put on flowers. I don't think the ants harm the sunflowers. I think they are looking for nectar and aphids.
img_4573.jpg
Green bean plant transplanted as a seedling.
img_4585.jpg
Cucumber plant also transplanted as a seedling.
img_4591.jpg
Pepper plant that survived transplanting well.
img_4588.jpg
A couple of the larger tomato plants along with some garlic and basil.

That's it for the garden update this week. Thanks for following my posts 🌻🙂

Here are a couple of bonus pics
img_8929.jpg
img_8931.jpg
Local wildflowers currently in bloom and lovely Lake Dunmore waiting for the Memorial Day crowd.
img_4605.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful set up you have @steven-patrick 😁
So wonderful to see the beginnings of the garden. 🌱🌱🌱
Can’t wait to move and start my own 😎

Thanks littlebee. Its so exciting to see things starting to grow so fast now that it is warming up outside.

You are welcome @steven-patrick 😁 yes… I could watch it grow hahaha 🌱🌱🌱
Happy grow season ☀️😎

Planting more varieties of blueberries has been proven to improve yield, as it aids in pollinating the flowers better.

Always glad to see a well kept garden showing signs of fertility in Spring.

Thanks for the comments. I got the blueberries from the tree farm I trust. He recommended planting a mix of varieties. I have been blindly following his advice. Good to hear from someone I trust that he is giving smart advice 🙂

Especially with some fruits that come in many different varieties, it really matters to find out which varieties are needed for it pollinate.

Most blueberries fortunately, I think tend to flower close to the same time of year, but not always.

My friend has a tiny one called Jelly Bean that he grows in a container on his porch, and says it self-pollinates well, and his kids love picking fruit off it. I've had one growing in my yard for three years, it is still scrawny, and it has never formed fruit. Ha!

I spent a lot of time studying my fruit trees I planted to figure out pollination but didn't think of it for the blueberries. Hopefully I got lucky with the blueberries. Sounds like maybe your friends blueberry container should come live by your blueberry plant for awhile 🤞

Nice idea. I will have to remember to offer to housesit for him next Spring, when his blueberries flower.

It looks like things are going nicely in your garden.

Thanks 🙂 So far so good. I'm waiting for the first disaster to strike... a hungry deer or bunny, catapillar infestation, who knows but I know you never have everything go right. haha

no disasters, only opportunities...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steven-patrick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You have a lovely and busy garden there! I didn't realize it only takes 6 weeks to harvest radish, I bet it taste so good, they always do when you eat your own home grown produce

Radish are like the starter drug of gardening lol Quick, easy, tasty crop. Makes you want to grow more 🙂

Dear @steven-patrick, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community. However, it lost its funding few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really helpful and you could make the difference! Thank you!

 2 years ago  

Gorgeous garden.

am jealous of your space. Can't wait to see how your blueberries turn out. I have tried twice (fairly non-committal i must admit) but never had much luck. A shame since my kids love them and i just about have to remortgage the house to pay for their blueberries. lol

We are in Brisbane Australia with our garden. Its nearly winter. Have just planted some radishes myself. although, we are not big radish eaters so not sure what we will do with them.

thanks for sharing your garden and please keep us well posted!!!

sarah

I think blueberries grow well here in Vermont. We tended a neighbors garden for a bit last summer and had lots of fresh blueberries which was part of our inspiration. Also the tree farm we bought the blueberries from included some sulfur for the soil to make sure it is acidic.
Our space is hard earned 💪 There were two huge downed trees and all the brush that had grown up around them where our garden beds are now. We spent a lot of time clearing the space out last fall.
Thanks for checking out my post 🙂

That is awesome, a job well done.

!BEER

Thanks brother
!GIF thanksbro


Hey @steven-patrick, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.