Did A Muffler MOD to the DR650

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


The DR650 is probably one of the quietest bikes I've ever rode. I wanted to swap out the exhaust for something a little louder. I didn't want ear ringing loud, just loud enough to get the attention of the drivers around me. In the age of distracted driving, it good to be not only seen but also heard.

I came across an inexpensive slip on muffler kit on eBay originally. Researching it online though, I found the same seller on Walmart but $10 cheaper. So I ordered it from Walmart.

So far I'm pretty happy with the end result. The new muffler gave the bike the added sound I wanted without becoming deafening. I'll be doing a carb rejet soon to tune it better with the exhaust.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I myself am very much interested in riding different bikes like this but till now I have not been able to buy a heavy bike of my choice.

Honestly, I'm torn between my 250 (currently broke down :) or my DR650 off-road. On the highway and long distance, country backroads, the DR is preferable. Doing serious riding off road through mountains or desert, I much prefer the little bike.

That seemed to go pretty smoothly. I've not done an exhaust, but I remember a few jobs on the bike taking longer than expected. Judging by those I hear a fair few bikers do this sort of mod. Some will want the extra performance, but some like the noise. Technically they may be illegal, but I wonder if they get stopped.

!BEER

I was actually surprised how smoothly it went. I hope the carb modifications go just as smoothly. It'll be a first for both exhaust and carb.

Sound-wise, they're pretty good about it here, legally. I used the full baffler system on this muffler. State Law is 90dB I averaged 91dB so it's right in the range. As long as I don't over rev and ride like a moron I should be alright.

Surprisingly, the Honda had straight pipes, and I never got pulled over for the exhaust. I was shocked, my ears would ring when I got off that bike. 🤣

!BEER

There are some bikes and cars around here that are clearly illegal on that front. They are supposed to have a general check every year and might get pulled up on that. I wonder if some would swap the exhaust for the check.

A lot of people do that. When I lived in Nevada, they had really harsh laws for emissions. If you know the guy at the shop, you could show up with two different cars and run the test on the car that passes and place the sticker on the car that doesn't. There are all kinds of shady work arounds.

I'm pretty sure this exhaust passes all around without any shadiness on my part. I also looked at fiberglass repacking. I watched this video. I currently have a similar baffle to the middle one.

I may try the fiberglass baffle wrap next time around. We don't have emission tests in NY but I'd be interested to see if it passes with this system.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @the-bitcoin-dood for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.