Sublime Beautiful Sunday | Staycation at Phu Quoc Island

It's Sunday... And it's time for another Beautiful Sunday and Sublime Sunday.

This week I thought I'll share about my short weekend staycation at Phu Quoc Island. To be honest, I've not had any staycation or vacation for a long time. Then again, I guess many people are like me too. Thanks to my colleagues, they encouraged me that we needed a short break after the long long down. Especially when the future of travelling is unexpected, it is best to take full advantage of the ease of domestic traveling and just go ahead.

IMG_4265.JPG

One of the places we visited was the famous Starfish Village. It was highly recommended by the locals since it's seasonal and very uncommon to see red/orange starfish. I ain't no fan of any sea creatures especially when we had to travel over an hour just to get to this village. But, since we had nothing planned and only time to waste, we thought why not. To our surprise, even before getting to the village, we were very much welcomed by the beauty of the surrounding area. There were several self-made planks heading out the the sea - each plank belonging to a restaurant operator who also provided boat services to bring us to the Starfish Village.

The length of the planks are at least 100 meters long and the width is sufficient for 1 motorbike and 2 person to squeeze in between. Walking on it and being so far away from dry land was an experience for me. Both exciting & fearful at the same time!

IMG_4267.JPG

I'm glad that I was wearing flip-flops instead of a proper sandals on this day. Sure made it easier to soak my toes in the sand and dip myself slightly in salt water. I walked further up as I wanted to see where it would lead us - other than the restaurant but my colleagues were too busy taking photos at the beach. Well.. I got to admit this place is amazing. I did wished I was a better photographer & more inspired in catching more photos.

IMG_4274.JPG

Though we weren't very hungry, but the thought of chilling out at the restaurant that is build on stilts on the ocean definitely triggered a slight interest. What more, with the strong winds blowing on our faces & the sun shining above our heads, we needed a place to hid away from the UV Rays. Of course, this was also the perfect time of the day to take photos.. no matter how sunny it was.

As we walked closer towards the restaurant, we found an Instagramable spot to take more photos. It looked very much like a love swing designed for couples. Got to give credit to whomever who came out with this idea! Absolute perfect location .. and for some reason, we're lucky that we choose this plank route to walk on instead of the others. Though I suspect that our driver had some paid out commissions from the restaurant owner for bringing us here!

There's so many photos that I'll love to share but let's keep it for later :)
cooltext343304256655053.png

#SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a while #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108. Both of whom share similar wonderful thoughts of how Sundays should be for all of us.

Blue Dynamic Fitness Youtube Thumbnail.png

Sort:  

It's a beautiful island and the seafood is fresh. Unfortunately it is being planned and built unwisely. If you have gone to the end of that island you will also regret this beautiful island

huh? where is the starfish?

haha Had to laugh about the driver comment! That situation is the same all over the world. Taxi Drivers given a commission to direct tourists to their establishments...

Glad you had some nice time away. Cheers!

Congratulations @ireenchew! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Awww it's beautiful and look so nice.. Better than wall! Looking at the plank, I had a chill 😂. I think I would walk less than 10 steps then shaking already hehehehe

 2 years ago  

I've always wanted to visit Koh Tral/Phu Quoc. You are right off the coast of the two towns I used to live in before the pandemic, Kep and Kampot in Cambodia. We can even see headlights of the cars on the island at night from there, but I never visited because a trip to Phu Quoc required a trip all the way back to Ha Tien to catch the ferry. There is rumor a ferry service will be running soon between Kampot and Phu Quoc with international visas/checkpoints, but I'm sure COVID has delayed that.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

This pandemic has put a stop to travel for many people. And I am one of them. :) I wish this pandemic get over soon so that I can start with my little traveling again. :) Keep sharing such pictures of travel, feels good to see it! :)

 2 years ago  

Can't imagine how can someone ride a motorbike on top of that plank. I would rather walk that risking falling into the sea 😅