Parting With The Family at Paramaribo Airport 🛫 Future Unknown

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

IMG_4573.JPG

This post contains the last moments I shared with my wife and kids at the Paramaribo International Airport in Suriname before their return to Cambodia.

Bitter Sweet 🤷‍♂️

1.JPG

     This wasn't the first time my family and I have been separated by bureaucracy and humankind's love of imaginary lines, but the second time around wasn't any easier. On one hand, I am glad to see my family return to greener pastures, but on the other hand I have a heavy heart knowing I couldn't go with them until we can arrange a visa for me to return to Cambodia as well.

2.JPG

     I think of the three lovely ladies in my life, Monkey-B is the most attached to me because she's been with me since she was nearly a baby. We have a close bond and she's also very young, so these separations are the hardest on her.

3.JPG

     Srey-Yuu has become a young lady, and she's been growing so fast I can hardly keep up, so I can only imagine how much she will have changed by the next time I see her. She can already wear her mom's clothes and shoes, and upon my return to Cambodia, I hope to teach her how to ride a motorbike.

Kill Some Time 🔪⌛

4.JPG

     The flight was delayed a bit, so we decided to hang out beyond the airport's interior where the family could enjoy their last maskless moments before covering up their faces until touching down on Cambodian soil. Monkey-B's favorite traveling shirt is her monkey shirt, go figure huh?!

Last Family Selfie 🤳

5.JPG

     We went to the airport in a minivan shuttle with roundtrip fair paid for @faustofraser and I. Our Suriname visas were/are expired and @sreypov's English still isn't good enough for airport lingo. I am thankful I was allowed inside to translate and help them with the check-in process, because they asked for health insurance and the $2,000 COVID-19 cash deposit for Cambodia.

Through The Glass 🔭

6.JPG

     Luckily I was able to explain to the staff that this is a requirement only for non-vaccinated foreigners, and she quickly noticed that in small text on her screen too. After check-in, I sent them on their with a very, very, heavy heart. I was thankful I was able to contain my tears by replacing them with the joy I have for them being able to escape the hell we lived in Suriname.

7.JPG

     They initially had wi-fi in the airport during check-in, but I assumed the signal was lost after I parted with them because @sreypov stopped responding to text messages. I was worried because of our visa predicament, but luckily I spotted them through the foggy glass on the other side of the security checkpoint.

8.JPG

     I wouldn't hear from them until they touched down in Amsterdam and reconnected to wi-fi, and I must admit it was a sleepless night because I knew there was a small chance they'd turn back up at the apartment at 2:00am in the morning by taxi if they were denied boarding for any reason.

9.JPG

     The moment at the foggy glass was very touching, a bit surreal, and both @faustofraser and I saw as a good opportunity for photos. I am glad we were able to connect one last time through the glass before I lost sight of my lovely ladies. I will not stop struggling and will do whatever it takes to reunite with them as soon as is possible.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters
Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

A really sad post.. I can tell from Srey-Yuu's expression. Srey-Yuu's smile isn't as wide as it should have been. Even Monkey-B who usually has a really big smile wasn't smiling. I can imagine the relief that you felt when you got a call from them after they landed in Amsterdam.

I think of the three lovely ladies in my life, Monkey-B is the most attached to me because she's been with me since she was nearly a baby.

It reminds me of one of your post early on where she rode at the back of your bicycle.

Every bit of struggle is worth it. These moments will be deeply carved into your daughter's mind. I think kids from my view, know what's going on although they don't fully understand the situation well enough like how adults would.

 2 years ago  

I was very relieved when they arrived in Singapore too, it let me know they can transit an airport by themselves, a major feat considering their background and circumstances. I think it can certainly be said that my daughters know way too much about visa policies and issues for their age. They do see the evil that that nationalism and borders often breeds, and I hope their generation will undo a lot of the wrongs that my generation has done.

This whole thing chokes me up so much. The frosted glass scene is crazy heart wrenching. I assume you will be with your American family soon. I'm looking forward to the next part of this saga. It will be a happy ending. All of your good work and providing the moral support for your ladies during those tough times, will ensure a wonderful outcome.

Blessings to you all.😌

 2 years ago  

I can't wait to share the joy of our reuniting with all of you Hivers. You all have become closer to us the last several years, much more so than our friends and family in Cambodia and the USA, who all have zero interest in our Hive blogs (aka life) for the most part.

Much love to you and your family brother ❤️
I'm confident that this is all going to work out for the better and you will all be reunited again soon. Things are changing and maybe some positive changes will occur with all of the ridiculous border restrictions nightmare.
Stay strong!

 2 years ago  

I have to believe all will work out as it should. Perhaps Monkey-B will be the first politician to remove a border, and the inspiration will have come from the experiences she's had. Thanks for the support and encouragement, it is certainly well-received.

Oh noooooooooooooooooo! I was excited when I was reading @sreypov post, but I was wondering how come you are not in the photos. Well now I know and I am not happy about it. I just pray that this red tape crap will not take too long @justinparke! I wish you all the best 💖🙏💖

 2 years ago  

@sreypov is already busy generating Cambodian Hive content. I can't wait to be with them. Although it was hard to watch them go, they're in a better place, and it's the place we belong as a family.

I guess it's always best to look at the bright side of things! And you will join your family soon!

 2 years ago  

I hope you will reunite with your family very very soon! I just can't imagine the struggle the four of you are experiencing right now. it is not easy being away from our dear loved ones.

 2 years ago  

We've hardly ever been apart even a night since we've been together, minus a previous 6-month separation due to previous visa and bureaucracy problems. So this is really tough for us, not only have I lost my family, but my best friends too. Thanks for thinking of my family.

 2 years ago  

The foggy glass panel does add a lot of emotion to an already heart wrenching moment. Positive side, they're safe in Cambodia and your back to the states. Time to work for the reunite!

 2 years ago  

It did impart a strange feeling. It was such a surreal way to know they had made it through the visa check, especially considering we lost touch because of the bad wi-fi. Yes, being out of Suriname is something to rejoice about, seemed that was never going to end.

 2 years ago  

That is bitter sweet 😂😂 LOL a nice title for your story. I think you should write a romance of your life in a book when you unite with your family. That will be an interesting story starting from you leave America your home land to Cambodia. Then you spend your hardlife in Suriname , and now you are parted with your family. The happy ending you will lead a prosper life in Cambodia. ... so sweet happy ending will be.

 2 years ago  

Haha, thanks my man. I fear I am too unorganized to ever write and finish a book, but perhaps all these Hive posts are in a sense chapters of our lives. It is very true, life will be so much better in Cambodia, and I am hoping and praying for a happy ending to all of this.

 2 years ago  

Hey Justin, I don't like the "Last family selfie " of yours, Just does not read right for me. That will not be definitely the last. I pray you will get reunited soon with your family.

 2 years ago  

Aww, thanks my friend. That is better and more positive way of looking at the situation. I am overwhelmed by the ASEAN Hivers' outpouring of love and support.

 2 years ago  

bittersweet indeed. Hopefully in a few weeks this will all be behind you and you can look back on it as a milestone that your family overcame.

 2 years ago  

I really hope so, but it's so hard to relax with visa policies changing by the week. The whole world is a mess, don't think I'll be attempting any non-mandatory international travel any time within the next several years. Bureaucracy has finally become idiocracy.

 2 years ago  

most of the people who are here feel the same way. Tons of people are cancelling their xmas plans to go back home because they fear they will not be let back out.

 2 years ago  

It's so lovely to see your family. When I was in high school, I knew exactly what it was like to be separated from my family. I hope your family will be reunited soon.

 2 years ago  

Sorry this has happened to you in your past, it's a terrible I experience I wish upon no one. It is okay when it's a choice, like when a husband chooses to go work abroad to send money to his family, but that is not our case. I would never leave my family in pursuit of money, or willingly for any reason at all. Thanks for thinking of us.

 2 years ago  

I hope you can reunite with your family soon after visiting your parents. Hopes everything goes well with you. Bless you sir. Your kids really growing up very fast. Soon to be a fine lady with great parents guiding ☺️❤️

 2 years ago  

It is nice visiting family, but of course a shame that my two families will likely never meet. The Khmer side can't get visas and the American side is too lazy and/or scared to go visit them in Cambodia. I can't wait to hug my Khmer family again.

 2 years ago  

I understand the problem in between for both country. Hopefully times can wait both of your family for a reunion in the coming future ☺️

I pray that you can get back to them soon :( I take it from the way you write, that given the choice, you would have forgotten your trip to the US?

 2 years ago  

Don't tell my 'Merican friends and family that, but yes, I would've gladly given up this trip for a chance to return to Cambodia with my family. At least I can feel good inside when I see them eating a better diet and living a healthier life in Cambodia full of abundance, unlike our hardship in Suriname.

I saw one of the posts, they looked really happy :)

Your secret is safe with me!

!ALIVE

 2 years ago  

I will not comment anything my friend, @justinpark. i see your smiling face but my heart is a sign of crying i can feel it, 🥺🥺🥺

 2 years ago  

It is tough, but it had to be this way. I just hope some day humans will wake up and realize we all share the same spaceship Earth, and borders an archaic concept.

 2 years ago  

Dont worry my friend, you will be reunited soon. Claimed it. Just don't lose hope. And just wait, because there is always a right time. Don't rush it so that everthing will be okay.

 2 years ago  

I hope so, everything happens for a reason, this is just part of our story. I have faith things will work out as they should in the end. Thanks for thinking of us.

 2 years ago  

Yes everything happens for a reason. This is also one way of testing us on how strong we are.

God Bless all of you, Justin @justinparke I hope there is a seamless transition to your story.

 2 years ago  

I am trying to stay positive too, but already my backdoor way to get a residency visa is already closing, shame I've already got a ticket. Worst-case scenario I visit the family for two months until my tourist visa runs out, then I go live in Vietnam or Laos and adapt to a new chapter in this saga.

No way! :( Did you post on it? I need to go read.

 2 years ago  

Not particularly about visa issues, but I've mentioning it here and there a wee little bit in some of my posts over the last month or so.

Oh, okay. I thought it was something else. (again)

You will be with them very very soon :) I can understand how much you must be missing them right now.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

 2 years ago  

It's tough, but there was really no other choice, Monkey-B's passport was about to expire, our US immigration was denied, and Suriname was unlivable.

 2 years ago  

You have a great and wonderful bonding with your family my friend. This will serve as a good model to other families. 👏👏

 2 years ago  

We are all very close, probably from living in small spaces for so many years. I hope other families never have to face the visa issues we do, it's a cruel system that runs the world.

Bittersweet moment for your family, hopes you will be together very soon :)

 2 years ago  

Me too, this whole three years stranded and now separated feels like a bad dream we will eventually wake up from.

 2 years ago  

This is like a scene in a family drama. But this is real life. Gret job on the move @KidSisters and Mommy😊

 2 years ago  

Even though it sucks to be separated, I am at least glad they arrived safe and sound. Now it's my turn to conquer Cambodian bureaucracy, a much less formidable foe than the American system.

 2 years ago  

As a member of Aseanhive I am rooting for a fast and easy process on government papers and all you need to get to go where you are waited. Good luck on that.

These foggy photos are so cool!

I hope it's not long until you reunite with your family. Wishing you all the best.

 2 years ago  

I couldn't help but go crazy with photos when I saw the effect, glad you liked it too. Sidenote - my Nigerian neighbors, one of whom used to live in Cambodia, gave my wife and kids 250 Euros to aid them on their way back home. It was much more needed than they could've ever imagined. Thank God for Nigerians 🙏🙏🙏.

How sweet 😊

Hopefully you can all be reunited again real soon 👍

 2 years ago  

Me too, I am still trying to arrange a visa by any means possible, remaining hopeful.

Stay strong buddy and let me know how you go with your visa remember I have that lady that you can contact if you have any problems she will do her best if needed.

 2 years ago  

i hope you get reunited soon! surely you miss them so much now.. especially monkey b

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 2 years ago  

Thanks @pinmapple.

Congratulations, also thanks for your support 🖐️

 2 years ago  

🙏🙏🙏

Great post boss, I love the photography

 2 years ago  

Thanks 😄

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

😭 Ok…….. but this is all so heart rending… and I wanted you to know (as I know you know already) that a families love for each other is inseparable! And no matter what, I know that you will stay the course until you all meet again! (Soon!)

Much Love to you and your little family Justin! ❤️

Big Hugs,

-Wil

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the encouragement my friend. I'm working on a solution at the moment, trying to find a sponsor, but nothing has been made 100% certain. You Hivers will be the first to know of any good news.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

I am hopeful, I will be calling the Cambodian Embassy in Washington D.C tomorrow to plead my case. It's good to know so many Hivers are on our side.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

They are lovely, priceless to me.