Watusi Woman  - Bread Baker Sailor

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

received_3170887919850338.jpeg

Well, I did it folks. I made a loaf of bread. White, fluffy bread. Hubby's favourite type of bread.
It's no mean feat to cook in a galley on a yacht and baking is even more difficult. Space being the issue. Space for ingredients. Space on the bench. Space in the oven. And then there's the temperature. In the tropics it's hot. In the galley it's hotter. The oven? Not so much. And it's only a little oven. A gas one at that.

received_1078945376297652.jpeg

After my successful efforts on the sewing machine I was all fired up to bake my own bread. I laid out the ingredients, measured everything carefully, mixed and kneaded as per instructions then waited for the dough to rise. Then waited some more. I feel like I should have measured the dough ball. Maybe it was rising but I'd forgotten how small it was? After a considerable amount of time I figured that maybe that's as good as it's going to get. I had the oven finally up to as close as I could get the temperature so in went the dough. And out came the bread. Same size as it went in, just brown on top now. A solid lump of cooked dough. Chalk that up to an epic fail first time around.

received_550553150027668.jpeg

I had a whinge to mum, the Baking Queen in my life. She suggested that the yeast may have been old, losing its power to raise the dough. I'll take that. Better it was the yeast that failed, not me on my first baking endeavour on board.
A couple of weeks passed when one day Hubby ran out of bread. The perfect motivation for my 2nd attempt to bake my own bread. Fresh ingredients at the ready, time to measure, mix and knead. Then sit back and watch it rise. received_753739159099826.jpeg

GX011145_1650358557848.jpg

Actually, for this snorkelling sailor, I had 45 minutes to admire the fish and coral.
Wow! What a difference fresh yeast and a snorkel session can make. The dough had risen so much it was almost at the top of the bowl. There was no way this baby was going to fit it the oven. Halved the dough and problem sorted. An hour later we had 1 loaf and 2 large bread rolls, baked to perfection. All of them soft, fluffy and white. Hubby's favourite type. A cup of tea, bread warm from the oven with lashings of butter and jam, and life is sweet.

received_1033002340961516.jpeg

received_701224927590398.jpeg

received_1464974773900821.jpeg

received_5099576573456969.jpeg

received_521744176224602.jpeg

Until next time, Watusi Woman - Baker in training, out.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I love the bread, the rise is maximum. I like to make donut for my kids. Yeast is the problem why a dough is not rise.

Living on the yacht sometimes need some food supply. When you runs out of the food supply making your own bread is a great idea.

 2 years ago  

I've never tried donuts. I'll see if I can find a recipe that's easy to make on the boat.

 2 years ago  

The bread looks good. Congrats on the success!

 2 years ago  

Thanku 😁 I was excited when it came out of the oven looking good. Hubby was rapt.

Congratulations @watusiwoman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

I like bread with milk, but I want to try the recipe you tell

 2 years ago  

Do you mean with milk in the recipe instead of water?

 2 years ago  

Woo delicious bread... I used to make bread too . But nowadays slightly lazy . The fun part is to see the dough rise.. and kneading is pretty euphoric.. pressing onto the soft dough.. I know how to make pizza crust too.. wahahaha.. anyways, just wanted to ask since u make bread, how many days has it last before mould grows? That's one issue I faced when I made bread. Not long lasting. But I know definitely those in the market have preservatives.

 2 years ago  

The bread doesn't last long enough to get mouldy, haha. But about 4 or 5 days here in Queensland. It will probably get mouldy once we're in Indonesia and experience more humidity. I will keep it in the fridge then. I haven't tried making pizza dough yet but we love pizza so I'll be looking for a recipe soon.

 2 years ago  

Hahaha.. =) Queensland is a lot more colder in temperature right.. Pizza dough is easier to make as compared to bread with less ingredients.. and it is quite fun but needs a couple of tries to make it right. =) If I do make pizza dough, I'll share some tips..

 2 years ago  

That would be great if you share your tips on pizza dough 😁

 2 years ago  

I know how to eat bread. Making bread, that one i don't know 😂😂

 2 years ago  

My husband is the same, knows how to eat it like a champion 😂

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

i miss baking, the smell of the freshly baked bread is the best thing ever!

 2 years ago  

And I'm just discovering the joys of home baked bread, the smell being one of them 😂

 2 years ago  

Well done! That is a big success to me! Next, chocolate chip and raisins filled dough 🤣

 2 years ago  

Now that does sound delicious.