The Holy Trinity Of Domestic Surveillance

Holy Trinity.jpg

I don't know if they read my last blog post or not but the Jefferson County Department of Health tracked me down yesterday and informed me that I was not to leave the county without their permission prior to the 20th of this month. I guess that puts the kibosh on my camping idea...

Anyways, the photo above is from the night of the attorney general's announcement in the Breonna Taylor case, from maybe a half hour before the flashbangs and fires got going good. There were three or four helicopters circling that night along with a plane and at least one drone. The first photo was the only one where I was able to get one of each in the same frame.

aerial survaillence.jpg

Once it got dark the helicopters added their spotlights to those LMPD had mounted on the roofs of some of the buildings surrounding Jefferson Square Park. Once they flushed most of us from the park with flashbangs the helicopters followed us up until the shooting happened, then they circled that area for the next hour or so.

double chopper.jpg

Thanks to all the lively events and actions this summer I have come to hate the sound of helicopters. I can also identify the police helicopter just by the sound of its rotors now, I usually hear it coming even before it flies into view. The chopper on the right in the photo above is LMPD's chopper, the one on the left is one of the Kentucky State Police choppers (I've spotted at least two different ones over Louisville this summer).

drone watching.jpg

The drone in the photo above belongs to the Kentucky State Police, although at least part of the time LMPD is the ones in charge of flying it. LMPD was illegally flying it over people (there's FAA regs which they can get an exception to but never bothered to do so). Usually any time it got a little too close people would notice and chuck water bottles at it. Nobody ever came close but that would get them to not fly it so low. LMPD also used the water bottles as an excuse to light a bunch of people up with pepper balls...

Don't yall just love all the different ways the government can watch you?


In other news, for those that's been following my writings on the goings on here in Louisville, an arrest was made in the murder of Travis Nagdy (news story here). The FBI are saying it was a carjacking but as of now little else is publicly known, although reading the news story it said the Secret Service was involved which is odd, they mostly deal with protecting government figures and dealing with counterfeiting.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Here's a mask people could put on to help prevent the government watchers.

Indeed, there were more than a few of those there. It's kinda funny, the Hong Kong protests were basically a real world sandbox for devising and testing countermeasures for riot police tactics. Masks for covid somewhere negated the need for the guy fawkes ones but most of the other lessons they learned showed up here.

Speaking of V for Vendetta have you read the graphic novel? The movie is okay but the book is much better, it's also something of an introductory primer to anarchism.

I haven't read the book now, but the movie was pretty good (I am a bit of a Natalie Portman fan to be honest) so I imagine the book would be good. You know, I never thought of reading it for some reason. I'm on it.

Just on a side note, I have seen Guy Fawke's lantern in person, at the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford UK. It was pretty cool to be honest, you know, just to see something so mundane, but was a small part of something that has meant so much, all the way to now. I thought it was cool.

https://www.ashmolean.org/guy-fawkes-lantern

From the Ashmolean website: The lantern was given to the University of Oxford by Robert Heywood who had been a Proctor – an official responsible for ensuring the rules of the University are observed. His brother, Peter Heywood, had accompanied Sir Thomas Knyvett, Keeper of Whitehall Palace, in his fateful search of the cellars and is credited with taking the lantern from Guy Fawkes during the initial struggle and preventing him from detonating the gunpowder. The lantern seems to have been passed to Robert sometime after an assassination attempt in 1640 left Peter mortally wounded. Robert then passed the lantern to the University in 1641. For many years it was on display in the Bodleian Library’s Picture Gallery but was transferred to the Ashmolean in 1887 as part of a reorganisation of the University’s collections.

That is neat as hell. I always wondered why the Brits burned effigies of a guy who tried to blow up a bunch of aristocratic politicians...

I felt like the movie was a product of its time (the Bush years and the early days of the 'War on Terror') and that it was changed from the book to deemphasize the more radical aspects of the book. I still enjoyed the movie and have yet to find one with Natalie Portman that I didn't enjoy :)

I know right? Natalie Portman. ❤️

Anyhow...Yeah it's a very cool story and shows how strongly a person can feel about government and injustice...And at least he acted...So many these days do not. Anyway, the old boy was done in, but that's ok, we can still learn from it.

By the way...Look what arrived today from bookdepository.com...Thanks for the recommendation.

20201218_163229.jpg

Nice! I'm curious to know what you think of it after you've read it. My best friend is who got me to read it, we spent a good deal of time debating it afterwards.

I'll be starting it tonight and will see how it goes. I'm interested to see the perspectives on the topic. I'll let you know.

Yeah, just love it. Like water.

Water, water, everywhere, nor any drop to drink