Ineligible Bachelorette

I trundle the aisles of the grocery store, fat with black winter coat and a month's worth of holiday indulgence. I could be invisible behind my dirty glasses and tired workday hair. I want to be.

But I'm not.

DSC_8831.JPG

7:30 PM. Wednesday evening. Fred Meyer. Hawthorne Boulevard. I look it up on meetup.com but if the meetup exists it's not called anything obvious like The Eligible Shoppers Club or Bachelor Grocery Nite at Freddy's! Yet around every corner, down every aisle, in front of every endcap, I encounter dude after solitary dude. My age. Carrying baskets. Pushing around the same damn single-person shopping cart I'm pushing around. There are so many. Their individual scratchy bachelor winter beard faces melt into the sea of scratchy bachelor winter beard faces that floods the store like Christmas snowmelt.

DSC_8827.JPG

It's a secret society of solo male shoppers with thoughts so loud you can hear them over the classic Pearl Jam tunes they pipe through the speakers.

I'm a dumpy Portland Dorothy, carting little Toto around in a wheeled picnic basket, lost somewhere under the rainbow where black birds fly, in a Land of Foodstuffs and Sundries, 175 miles south of the Emerald City. I've walked in on a party I wasn't invited to only to find myself the unspoken guest of honor.

Oh look a cute little dog being pushed around in a cart by-- OH MY GOD A FEMALE OF MY SPECIES.

...potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes, celery, carrots, brussels sprouts, GIRL!--no, that's not on the list-- garlic, onions...

These chips are on sale but are they cheaper than the ones I have the coupon for and jesus fuck how long has it been since I got laid fuck me fuck my life fuck chips I'm gonna grab a six pack of Breakside IPAs and kill the whole thing tonight. Wait no not fuck chips I take it back I still want chips. Chips go good with fuck-my-life beer.

I like my veggies like I like my women, frozen until I'm ready for them.

DSC_8830.JPG

How long has this been going on, or has it always?

What is it that they say? Once you stop looking...

This is a gold mine! If only I were looking for gold. I'm not. I don't want gold. I want eggs and arugula and ibuprofen. Zucchini, cheese, and hot pepper almonds.

A smiler by the peanut butter catches my eye. I nod politely. Turn away quickly. I hike up my ineligible bachelorette britches. Slosh through the sea of single men and continue my lifelong quest for groceries.

DSC_8833 1.JPG


This is my entry for the #monomad challenge, held daily in the Black and White Community.
Give it a try. Wednesday nights. Fred Meyer. 7:30 PST. You never know who you might meet.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

DSC_8826 1.JPG
~Crow featured is Biggie. He is a highly eligible bachelor. But he doesn't shop at Fred Meyer.~

Sort:  
 last year  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad first place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!

Whaaaaaaaat?? First?? !HEYTHANKS

Congratulations @corvidae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love it! The crow looks super cute!

Thanks! He IS cute, isn't he. 😍

It's so gothic! Love it

😆 thanks!

WOW!!! I fell in love with these photos! The crow is an important animal for me, I also have one tattooed on my back, there's a long story behind it. Your photos are of a phenomenal detail, congratulations you're very good!

Thank you! It certainly helps the photography that they love and trust me, and that I pay them for their time. 🥜

I would love to hear your long story!

Wonderful that you had established contact with them! You make me appreciate the photos even more!

Maybe one day I'll write a post about it and tag you, now I've added you to my favourites. But in short, I grew up with crows, my uncle kept them for pet when I was little and I played with them. Every day before going to school, the crow came to greet me and leaned on my shoulder. I have photos, but I have to visit my mother to retrieve them, otherwise I'll show you.

I'm happy to have met you here @corvidae, I wish you a very happy 2023!

Happy New Year!!!! Please do tag me when you share those photos.

Thank you! Surely I will, have a nice day, greet to your beautiful crows from me :).

Absolutely stunning.

Thank you!!

🤣 sounds like you need to choose a different hour! How did you manage to take your furry friend in with you???

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

I always take him in with me. He has a little pad that put in the cart so he doesn't hurt his toes on the wires. It makes me look a little nutty but it's worth it having Pilot there to complain to about the price of peanut butter.

I'm glad they let him in :) A lot of stores don't 😢

!PIZZA !ALIVE

Portland is very special that way.

That's so awesome 🙌 Other places should do the same, but many are afraid of the health inspector.

!LUV