Monomad: Sunday morning walk along the Basingstoke Canal

in Black And White2 years ago

Earlier I posted my daily @actifit report https://peakd.com/hive-193552/@nicklewis/actifit-nicklewis-20220116t201449385z about a walk I went on this morning. So let me Introduce you to a very foggy Frimley Lodge Park and Basingstoke Canal. I thought this would be a good one for the #monomad daily contest run by @monochromes

Frimley Lodge Park has plenty to offer in it's own right and I parked by it's fabulous miniature railway. It's probably not open until Spring but the volunteers were there bright and early, carrying out some maintenance in anticipation of the season ahead. A sign of optimism!

B84090E2-797A-4195-B6DD-026D3458DBF7.jpeg

93F52D82-7E54-431D-A5B4-CBE51028706C.jpeg

A6690AB6-8CFB-4ADF-99BA-256C65A96D92.jpeg

From there I turned onto the canal towpath and headed towards the Basingstoke Canal Centre and it was delightfully foggy! It was also rather mucky under foot. I found myself dodging the puddles, nipping around the trees.

The light was quite ethereal, the air cold and everything looked magical.

There are some lovely narrow-boats along this stretch of the canal. I think many of them are tour boats, so nobody lives on them but can be hired for a period of time.

Have you ever spent a weekend on one? We have and it's great fun. I highly recommend it :-)

68DF04E0-82CD-40AF-A1F5-05FF627D6D01.jpeg

A095810C-B147-49C9-A4B7-0A30CB5D91DF.jpeg

A219028B-68FE-4D31-BB8E-412EC1869DC3.jpeg

Eventually I reached the Canal Centre and was glad to see the Swingbridge crossing was open, as it isn't always. I was able to nip across and grab some more photos. A nearby plaque tells me that the bridge had been constructed and installed back in 1999 courtesy of Surrey Heath Council.

I said hello to the local canoe club (not the same club I'm a member of) who were getting out their boats for maintenance, another good sign for the season ahead. Incidentally I myself have recently been kayaking along this part of the canal and will be again fairly soon. I look forward to that, it's a fabulous way of seeing the water, the wildlife and some wonderful sunsets.

9798351C-BFAA-4522-B7B7-36BFDA8C109F.jpeg

Al of the photos in this post are my own, taken on an iPhone 13 and later edited in Darkroom on my Macbook.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @nicklewis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful. I'm shaking looking your photos, the weather seems so cold over there.

Yes it was very cold and still is. We’ve had fog and frost quite a lot this January so far. Thanks for commenting!

WOW! What beautiful pics you captured! 😍👏 🥦 !LUV 🥦

Many thanks!