RAIN AND RAINBOW ON THE ROAD

in Road Trips2 years ago (edited)

The events shown and described in this post happened a week ago. On 14th November 2021, exactly.

20211114_154733_malo.jpg

The weather was mostly rainy. Mostly, but not totally. This photograph was taken somewhere in between the village called Kanfanar and the small town known as Zminj, in the inland area about forty kilometers from Medulin, the small, seaside town in which I live. Here the sun broke through the clouds, but the rain was still falling. A friend was holding the umbrella to protect the camera. That umbrella was ideal for the occasion. Trippy and colorful. Just try to imagine this scene with the black one. At this point, our little road trip was already going on for a couple of hours ...

img_9630_malo.jpg

... and for the most part, it wasn't so colorful.

img_9622_malo.jpg

The sky was almost as gray as the asphalt of the road. The vegetation looked gloomy and dull in that light. The soft, sparse rain was appearing on the windshield from time to time while we were driving towards the city of Pula.

20211114_134150_samomalo.jpg

I took this photograph while driving through the northern suburbs.

(Enlargeable)

The circus was leaving. The crew was disassembling the tent ...

img_9614_malo.jpg

... so we stopped because this is a very rare scene in Pula. The last time I witnessed this kind of situation was long ago, in my childhood.

img_9615_malo.jpg

At one point ...

img_9619_malo.jpg

... while the people were working ...

(Enlargeable)

... I caught a moment that looked like a well-choreographed part of the show.

img_9620_malo.jpg

The circus was leaving town ...

(Enlargeable)

... and we did the same.

img_9624_malo.jpg

In this photograph, our group of four old friends stopped by the road that leads to the small town called Svetvinchenat. At this point, we are about twenty kilometers from Pula.

img_9627_malo.jpg

We passed by that town without stopping and continued towards Zminj, another small town. Before reaching Zminj we did another quick stop to take a few shots of the scenery and the rainy autumnal atmosphere.

img_9626_malo.jpg

The terrain along the road was slightly elevated, so the scenery in the photograph looked much better than usual in this kind of shot.
Zminj was near, but we didn't stop there. We took another road ...

img_9665_malo.jpg

... and made a short visit to Sveti Petar u Šumi, another small town. The town is small, it looks more like a village, but the name is pretty long. Here you can see the old monastery in the center. Without that iconic building built in between the 12th and the 13th century, the place wouldn't look like a town at all. After a short walk in between to periods of rain ...

img_9663_malo.jpg

... we drove out of the town ...

img_9631_malo.jpg

... and ten kilometers further, when the rain stopped again ...

img_9632_malo.jpg

... it was time to take a walk in the woods.

img_9638_malo.jpg

The ground under the oaks was carpeted with fallen leaves.

img_9639_malo.jpg

The pattern below my feet was made of various shades of brown. Only one leaf was still green. Details like this look pretty cool in photographs. Soon the rain started again, so we walked back to the car and drove away.

img_9664_malo.jpg

Some kilometers further we came across a railway track.

img_9654_malo.jpg

Rails and the scenery looked pretty cool, so I took a couple of photographs under the gentle but annoying rain. I mean, the rain was nice, but I had to take care that the camera doesn't go too wet, and that was annoying.

img_9672_malo.jpg

After some more aimless driving around the area with many small villages and isolated farms ...

img_9666_malo.jpg

... we decided to drive back towards Zminj, which wasn't very far.

img_9669_malo.jpg

We didn't visit the town, but we stopped near the roundabout at the entrance of town ...

img_9667_malo.jpg

... a great spot to take a couple of photographs.

img_9674_malo.jpg

The old town looked great and timeless in that weather.

img_9675_malo.jpg

Here you can see the representation of Calvary just outside the town. It was made in stone, during the year 1728.

img_9673_malo.jpg

Very soon after we left the surroundings of Zminj, directed to the town called Kanfanar ...

20211114_154944_malo.jpg

... the weather changed.

20211114_154902_malo.jpg

The rain was even stronger than before, but the sun found its way through the clouds and the scenery became extremely colorful, almost unrecognizable. The transformation was sudden and amazing ...

img_9693_malo.jpg

... but didn't last long. When we reached Dvigrad, the remains of the old medieval town, only a couple of kilometers from Kanfanar ...

img_9684_malo.jpg

... the colors were more subdued.

(Enlargeable)

We parked near this iconic rock ...

(Enlargeable)

... and walked a bit around the ruins.

img_9681_malo.jpg

The night was approaching.

img_9700_malo.jpg

The moon was rising above the hills. Soon we were in the car again, ready to drive back home.

As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

Sort:  

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 1100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18

Congratulations! You've been awarded an upvote from The Creative Coin Fund.

Copy of Copy of Freewrite 40Day 1100 (1).png

Manual selection by @cliffagreen.

Seeing your photos of Bečki Cirkus brought a memory from my youth back. When I was kid a circus came to town. I don't remember how old I was, but old enough to go alone. As all tickets were sold for early show that day, I had to wait for the second one later on that day. As my parents expected me to back home earlier and I did not come, my father went to look for me. He found me waiting there for second show, which I did see then later on. It’s such a fleeting memory in my head, but it’s still present. I don't remember much about the show though. 🤡

I also don't remember so much the circus shows from my childhood, and I was on quite a few. Medulin at the time was somehow a popular destination for circuses. They were always here in Summer. The tent was not far from the Luna Park that was regularly every summer there. I remember more the excitement and the tent near the port than the actual show. I remember also my older brother paying for the chimp one time to come and pose for a photograph with me, and another time he arranged for me to go on the elephant - end every time I had no idea that that will happen. Great unforgettable surprises.

You have beautifully combined the modern, the ancient and nature in this post. Seeing the Becki Circus crew break down camp reminds me of how much I begged to go the circus when I was a kid. These kind of things don't exist in may parts of the world, and it's on my bucket list of things I'd like to show my daughters while they're still young. Perhaps like you, I'd be just amazed at watching them expertly break down camp as I would watching their routines.

I was very surprised to see this circus. Haven't seen a circus for more than a decade. Last time I bought a ticket and saw the show was in 2005. It was a small circus. Only 4 people were changing costumes and doing various things. The acrobats turned into clowns, and one of the clowns tamed the wild animals. They have plenty of animals, but those weren't the typical circus animals that are forced to do something like jumping through the fire. Here you had porcupines, pelicans, crocodiles ... and they just appeared and walked around the stage while some big 2 meters tall dude with long black mustaches, dressed like Indiana Jones was kind of dancing and trying to keep them from going to the audience. At one point, while the acrobat lady (she was also the magician and the knife thrower) was doing her stuff up in the air, hanging from the ceiling. a small baby hippopotamus walked in between rows of sitting people. It was a very cute hippopotamus, just a little bit bigger than a domestic pigg. The Indiana Jones guy brought him out in silence, the hippo followed him like a dog. On that occasion, the dude was dressed as a clown but had no make-up. It was summer, and I visited the circus with a friend who worked with me in the Tourist agency. We were exhausted, went there directly from work, sweaty and tired. At one point the clowns were calling and choosing people from the audience for a sketch. I had a hand over my face and I thought: Oh - no, just stay away from me :D I'm not in a mood for that stuff tonight - they chose me, of course, and insisted. So I went on the stage and had to act like a jealous husband in some bizarre situation :) don't remember what the joke was exactly, but I had to nock at some colorful door with no room behind ... didn't regret accepting, it was a fun experience. The circus arrived from Italy, it was named Circo Aquatico. At one point a man entered an aquarium with the shark. The aquarium was just a bit longer than the man and the sharks were considerably smaller. It was an innocuous species that I saw many times in documentaries. But the scene, with that long aquarium on the stage, looked beautiful and surreal.
img_0035.jpg

My friend was photographed with the young crocodile.

img_0036.jpg

The photo is inside this little booklet. It's like a Christmas card but larger.

img_0034.jpg

This was my last circus show.

That is quite a whopper of story, almost deserves to be its own post. How cool to see a picture of you replying to me in this reply, perhaps that is how we can view a bit of the matrix.

I'm curious to see how circuses have changed with the times around the world. In the USA I heard elephants are no longer used, but instead virtual 3D holographic elephants.

This might be very well be the most substantial reply I've ever received on Hive, give thanks. It's like a mini-post just for me 😁.

:) Holographic elephants! That sounds like a cool, SciFi thing. Hope I'll see that one day. It looks that the circus has an interesting future ahead. With that holographic stuff, they could make various monsters and aliens to perform with magicians and acrobats :D

Cooooool ... circus is coming to town! 🤡
Thanks for sharing this beautiful photo story, @borjan.

Those Rainbow shots are beautiful. It's so vivid. The forest is kind of neat as well. It's interesting how so many of the trees form a "V"
You don't see that very often

It's wonderful rainbow! This thing has been the center of attraction since childhood. When I saw the rainbow in the sky, I used to enjoy it all together as a child. I also tested the seven colors of the rainbow many times while sitting in the lab while studying at the university. However as well shared many beautiful nature photography and hopefully enjoyed the moments well. Especially the color of the leaves and the texture of the leaves is really amazing.

I just love that rainbow. 🌈
You live by a really beautiful place.
You might get many things to explore.

I like the yellow and orange color in the leaves at this time, I find it very nice, the pictures are very good, especially those of the ruins.

Thank you :)

very beautiful scenery and looks very amazing rainbow...

That last photo is so cool, I don't know if it's a planet or the moon, but it looks so clear. ❤🥰🥰🤗🤗

what you share this time is really amazing, apparently autumn has not ended at your place, in my life I have never seen a circus show, I don't know how long I can watch it.