Visit Gilman’s Bazaar by accident

in Liketu2 years ago


405opjwkyme2etq_2.jpeg
405opj13kyme2ggc_4.jpeg
405opjpkyme2hs8_3.jpeg
405opj20kyme2lmh_1.jpeg
405opj1ekyme2lsf_5.jpeg
405opjikyme2m6l_6.jpeg
405opj1pkyme2mdy_8.jpeg

Those images were taken back in June 2020 on some weekend, my mom felt a bit bored to always stay at home then she asked if I have interested to take a walk outside with her. Why not? Let’s go.

Supposed I was going to take her to Lan Kwai Fong as she said she never ever visit there in her life, while my mom asked which stop should we get off, I suddenly figured out that Lan Kwai Fong is closed at day, there’s no reason for us to go there at that time.

Thanks to my mom asking where should we get off, if she didn’t do so, probably both of us would really get to Lan Kwai Fong and saw all the shops were closed, maybe the visit was going to over and we simply go home then.

I told my mom to change the plan visiting the streets nearby Sheung Wan instead, when she realized that the shops in Lan Kwai Fong probably were all closed, she agreed to visit Sheung Wan instead, then we immediately get off the bus in the next station.

Sheung Wan is just next to Central but you will see the interesting contrast between them: central is super modern place with many Grade A office building there, and Lan Kwai Fong is located in Central, there’s lot of bars and restaurants there, Central is the energetic area for sure, but the feeling is absolutely different when you arrive Sheung Wan where is just 7/8 minutes away from Central on food.

Sheung Wan looks like a very old district, there are many antiques shops around and you can see there are so many old-school styles of stalls doing business there. The narrow and short and small lane is called Gilman’s Bazaar there, you can see there is a stalls which selling some cheap shoes and sandals.

They have got some restaurants in the Gilman’s Bazaar, since this lane is not easy being spotted, many white collars would love to have a tea in the restaurant in the lane which is super smart choice as the top management of the company in Central and Sheung Wan will never consider visiting there, you don’t have to worry you bump into them “by accident” when you are trying to loaf on the job. Oops, don’t forget to have a selfie even there’s not too much special in the lane.

If you want to study for the history / background of Gilman’s Bazaar on site, there is a board at the other side of the entrance there so you can roughly understand the background and history of Gilman’s Bazaar.

This was how my mom and I visit Gilman's Bazaar by accident, what do you think of our visit? boring? or still ok?


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Interesting post. When I think of Bazaar, I tend to think of sprawling market places with lots of home made goods. That doesn't look to be the case here, though from reading the plaque of the history of the place, I think it might have been historically.

It's interesting that you mention that the top management in companies would not visit restaurants here.. I certainly would and I don't see what reasons there are to avoid here? Can you elaborate?

If it's just because it's not a famous restaurant or that the restaurants by the side of the road are too "low" for people in their position, then I would say they are too bigoted and need to come down to earth. Perhaps this attitude is quite prevalent in cut throat corporate Hong Kong culture.

Afternoon bro, they do have some home made goods or antiques next to the Bazaar, but not exactly in this lane.

Somehow people love to have a tea in the lane when they are trying to loaf of their job.

And you already told the reason why the top management wouldn't visit their, because the places there are not high-end enough, they think it's lower their grade to visit there, what a stuck up assholes 😤

They prefer to have a high-tea in the cafe landmark in central where have got so many
celebrities having tea there, or they will having a luxury lunch / tea in the Michelin grade restaurants at IFC mall.

I goto the high end places all the time. But I have no problems going to food stalls on the street either.

Anyway, I think it's time to raid celeste's post..

I go to low-end places all the time, but sometimes will go high-end places with my family, usually X'mas, Chinese new year, their birthday, otherwise I enjoy to eat on the street or individual stalls.

OK, here we go, make some noise to her

I've never been there but it's exciting from the pictures.

I am glad that you like them, maybe visiting here someday 😬 you will have different experience when you see them in person

Thank you, if I could go on a trip, it would be nice.

This place looks very contemporary, and I will go to Hong Kong when I have a chance!

Hopefully you can make it in short time (which mean the border is reopening soon)