HORNY GOATS AND WEED

IMG_0065 (2).JPG

"There is no easy way to say this" my husband said; "Merar is dead". I stared at him. I would not cry. "I'm sorry Love. The neighbour drove over him" Just that morning I had cuddled him. Only a couple weeks old and already frolicking all over the place, head butting the bigger and very tolerant goats. Losing animals is the part of homesteading that I hate. But sudden death, especially of a strong baby, is unbearable. I try not to get attached to the animals we give away - but I had decided he was a keeper. There was something about this fiesty little kid that all of us loved. The children are still asking me why he is gone. How do I explain, that, after a decade of walking our goats to the fields and back, morning and evening, one of the neighbours would still not keep his eyes on the road as he drove the farm road passed our home. Are a batch of bouncing white goats and their human so hard to see?

IMG_0036 (2).JPG

Rescue is my go-to calming treatment for humans and animals in traumatic situations. Merar's mother Shabta seemed surprisingly calm. Unlike me whose eyes kept leeking. I couldn't understand it. There's a batch of weeds that have self seeded all over the goats sleeping area. Someone has been munching on the tender lambs quarter and cannabis. Then the next morning when I took the goats to go to the field Shabta ran out. Bellowing up and down the field. The last time she had seen her baby he was frolicking behind her out of the field. She obviously thought she'd forgotten him there and was calling for him. An animals grief is a terrible thing.

IMG_0048 (1).JPG

With the wonderful rains the valley is a picture. Of course we have a bumper crop of weeds too! I'm trying to decide what to do with everything. We're eating huge salads of weeds, topped with my goats milk feta and our latest batch of olives. We have various herbal salts to flavour our meals.

IMG_0007 (6).JPG

There are bunches of various weeds - tame and otherwise - drying. I've stripped my wild garlic to dose all the animals drinking water.

IMG_0002 (2).JPG

It is incredible how animals will self medicate. If exposed to the various medicinal and nutritious plants my goats and chickens always forage according to their needs. Not just their palates.

IMG_0052 (1).JPG

For now I will use my homeopathic Rescue while I ponder why. Why? Life is a curious thing. So fragile. And yet we take for granted it will remain the same. Unchanging. Untouched by the horror of loss. Who would've thought during those morning cuddles that the life of a beloved little kid would be snuffed out by that evening. Goodbye sweet little Merar.

IMG_0061 (3).JPG

Sort:  

I am very sorry to hear about that. Poor little guy... 😖
Hang on in there. I wish the rest of the year brings you many joy and happiness.

😢😢😢😢

Nooo! I am so sorry to hear this. This is especially sad when it has a duel/triple purpose in life. I think it affects your life in a bigger way. Plus he was way adorable. :( May the loss of little Merar be softened by time. Life can be so harsh.

The photo of the double bottle feeding is precious as is one of you weeding. In fact, all of them. Such a heartfelt piece of writing. ❤️

Love from me. It's all I have.

Loss of an animal is as bad as human, mother looks for them by calling eventually too tired and must carry on with life.

Merar looked a cute little kid now how to explain to the children is not something easy, hope 2022 goes better than the start you had today.

An animals grief is a terrible thing.

Even though our own grief is bad, I think nothing comes close to the grief of animals. It makes our own grief even worse.

I am so sorry about the loss. It is never easy. Never will be.

And, even in this sad post, what a wonderful piece of wisdom:

animals will self medicate. If exposed to the various medicinal and nutritious plants my goats and chickens always forage according to their needs.

If we could get this attuned to our own needs.

Good luck with the grief.

May 2022 not carry on like this for you.

So sad for you and I know how I feel when we lose one of our squirrels.
But one simply has to know that life goes on and I can't even imagine how you feel.

All that we can do is to wish you strength and the one consolation is that somehow, you will get through this.

Our best wishes to you and the fam.

Truly sorry for your loss! RIP Merar 😯💚

A heartfelt post, thanks for sharing the goods and the bads, which are all a part of life, the loss of our animals is a strange reminder of the abrupt nature of life.

Much love!

Big hugs to you for the loss of little Merar. It is amazing how animals will self medicate if given the opportunity. We should take note. Your plants and salad look so beautiful! Best wishes to you in the New Year from the deep cold north (-40 and piles of snow). I’m warmed up by your beautiful gardens.

So very sorry for your loss. It is hard almost impossible not to become attached especially to goats as they are so active and playful. I grew up in Michigan, and having some 4-H experience was able to care for a goat and a pig.

So sorry for your loss 😥 The last pictire is so adorable ...sweet dreams Merar..

P.S. I really hope this one neighbour of yours start paying more attention while driving...

Yes! Sweet dreams! I love that @didivelikova

I also have dogs and I understand what it feels like to lose an animal - An everyday friend we all love. It was a real feeling that cannot be described in words.

Rest in Piece, little one.

Thank you for sharing this precious personal story with us.

Sending you a big hug from Portugal,

Was signed,

Hypersensitivosaurus

Congratulations @buckaroobaby! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @buckaroobaby.

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue our work!
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you and Happy New Year ✨🥂✨!

@tipu curate

Thank you Denise. For your words. For your gentleness. For your support

❤️ Always

Sorry to hear for your loss.