Homemade Pesto: Where Were You?

in GEMS4 years ago

Happiness can come in the form of many ways. This weekend happiness came to me in the form of making homemade pesto. It was my first time at making homemade pesto and I was so thrilled with the outcome that I’ll probably never buy ready made pasta again, unless it’s homemade from the someplace such as this Italian shop that makes fresh pasta in my neighbourhood. I nearly felt like I had been missing out on something all of my life, homemade pesto: where were you?

image.png

However, as you can see I’ve discovered the joys of making – and eating! – homemade pesto. I had wanted to make my own pesto for a long time, then (and this is beginning to be a frequent becoming) a few weeks ago my friend made pesto and was more than delighted with it. So we could say he motivated me to get on with it and make it.

image.png

I have two types of basil plants. One has bigger leaves than the other. The one with the bigger leaves is specially for pesto I was told in the plant shop. I can’t really say which each type is called, as in which species.

Ingredients:

  • Basil leaves – 1 plateful
  • Pine nuts – 2 1/2 handfuls
  • Walnuts – 1 handful
  • 2 cloves garlic – peeled
  • Parmesan cheese – about a 5cm piece, cut into chunks
  • Salt
  • Black pepper – freshly ground
  • Olive oil – 1/3 cup
  • Pasta

Very simply put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend. Boil the pasta and drain when it’s al dente. Mix the pesto with the pasta.

image.png

image.png

I served it with some chicken. It was so delicious that tonight we have a friend coming over for dinner and I plan to make some more pesto.

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @diana8! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!