Be the Light

in GEMS3 years ago


Your personal light gets bright when you point a ray of sunshine on others. A surprise for me the other day. You bloomed when I wasn’t looking, showing up for lunch and wearing a smile.


soup-kitchen-for-homeless_addkm_Shutterstock.jpg


Somebody asked me the other day if soup kitchens are open, or if they still exist. What? More than ever with all of the newly homeless and struggling families. Unfortunately, there is a need. I wish there wasn't, but, at least there are places you can go for a meal, no questions asked. Anyone is welcome, they don't turn anyone away. Some serve meals, some give food. I have volunteered at several, putting aside some time to give back to the community. source for picture


tiny.JPG


I have an extraordinary time —we laugh, exchanging inside jokes… talk a little bit more, and tend to be merry whatever the job. There are meetings and greetings of memorable faces, a genuineness that I can’t always identify at that split second - and then there is that moment that we share, person to person, that helps me remember that it is the small things in life that I fail to recognize every so often… these delicate memories, that often surprise me when I'm not looking. - Things I see at the Soup Kitchen


919053_10151620879328832_939169672_o.jpg


Oh, the beauty of the flower! The flower has its expression, which it gives over freely and selflessly, until the day it dies. It never feels it should have done more. It never feels inadequate. It never feels it has missed the life worth living. It just radiates beauty, perfume, and love. And it never thinks to itself, “I have to radiate beauty, perfume, and love.” It just does. That is the inevitability of its nature. It will give freely, until the day it dies. If human beings could live as the flower, for just one day, this world would be transformed forever...and ever

IMG_0844.jpg


I leave this with you, my friends. If there is extra in your pantry, donate it to the food bank. Please don't donate things that even you won't eat. :)) We have a collection right in our neighborhood to make it easier for people to donate. Start a collection place in your neighborhood. Many grocery stores will round up your total and donate the extra to the food bank of shelters. It's these small things that make a difference.


10496181_10152687639933832_622404315934313567_o.jpg

The beauty of nature, ever-changing...It is like having an unfinished symphony inside our hearts. Every moment inspired by the beauty of nature completes another bar of the music.


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Excellent post Denise and thanks for the reminder. I have always believe we cannot do it all, but we can all do something. Yes the kitchens are open and still need help. I am certain many places have some locally. I have to admit I have not been down to the Capuchin Soup Kitchen since the start of the pandemic, yet one can always send a gift to them. They do an awesome work that I have witnessed first hand where it is really in need. They provide quality meals that some pay what they can, or not, depending on the need. They provide laundry and showers. They even grow loads of good veggies so people can work the "farm" side if they want. It is an amazing story and folks can check it out at https://www.cskdetroit.org/ and
https://www.cskdetroit.org/earthworks/

That is awesome that you volunteer! The kitchens always need help, but, thankfully there are different ways to help as you have nicely outlined.

It is hard enough being without, but, when places like the Capuchin Soup Kitchen, it makes it so you can give right back. Thank you and thanks for dropping the link.

Have a great day!

Yes, soup kitchens are still a thing, and helping so many people who are in need for one reason or other. Not people who are too lazy to work, but people wrecked by high medical bills, job loss due to COVID and other economic downturns, people with developmental challenges and mental issues, so many are struggling.

This post is a perfect candidate for the #thoughtfuldailypost tag by @wesphilbin 💗

And, as always, your flower portraits are exquisite! 😊

So many people ask me that question. The short answer is, they never stopped. So many more people are in need with the struggles that were presented last year. I was so alarmed. How are these people coping? No more unemployment, no more checks coming in... how are they making payments on rent, mortgage, food, life? It is the very least we can do as people. If you have more than you need, share a little. You won't starve and you could be saving someone - in more ways than one.

Thank you so much, you are such a kind soul. 💗

EokgV81rGY69d9NZ4DRtocZKahAuK3ewEyRT7eHrpWz4Rey5N6itNbZbXwWY4xYjhak.jpg

The gift of beauty and nourishment. Food really should be free.

XOXO The value of having respect for Mother Nature. She will feed you.

Let's just say I am h madly in love:)

How nice to have the opportunity to help out at soup kitchen! Helping and showing kindness in time of need is really very energizing too. People have forgotten the joy of giving and sharing so they need some examples to remind them of what could be.

Lovely flowers always!

Thank you so much @kaminchan! I have volunteered since I was old enough to. Not always as life takes over, but when I have the opportunity. I find that you always get back tenfold what you give, without a doubt. Even if you can't count it, your heart is that much fuller.

Thanks you so much! Always!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 49 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

बहुत खूबसूरत

बहुत खूबसूरत

Thank you so much.

Flowers are the best beauty in the world. Great photos.

Thank you so much.

Your post is reblogged and upvoted by me. It is a good post. Thank you @dswigle

Thank you so much.