Where does it Hurt?

in GEMS3 years ago


I love hydrangea bushes. There is something so reminiscent of my childhood that makes me love them. Perhaps because my mother loved hers and she always took special care of it. It is possible.


Zskj9C56UonZ32EJw6nMdZ3XcwxKWCfDeN6ZQdwg2s5EenK8ASgeLaBU4MhnBCzzgAtyBj6s2xu4iaq5ToqKUGZXpKk3Cut4b6cfBufeabiANzqGGy3C.png


My hydrangea is so very special. It stands alone with this distinction. Just this one. They are all beautiful, but, this one came with me when I moved from another house, a house with so many memories. So many very good times, so much laughter and so much life... and then, in the middle of the night, when nobody was looking, a life-changing event invaded my life. Changing it forever. A few years later, when I moved, I took my little hydrangea with me. I give it special attention, wanting it to stay healthy and grow old with me.

Later that night
I held an atlas in my lap
Ran my fingers across the whole world
And whispered,
"Where does it hurt?"
It answered,

"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"

-Warsan Shire


1075332_10151788433138832_201435527_o.jpg


Of course, by using this poem, I realize that I purposedly used it out of context. But, at the time, I felt like it was written for me. Did you ever find a piece of poetry or words written that felt like they were speaking to you?


I toil endlessly in my garden, sometimes using the last of the daylight to tend the soil. It is usually the flowers that I am tending until the end of my time. I love all different kinds of flowers. Every year, I have such a hard time choosing flowers when I go to the nursery. I love them all and this makes the task so much harder. In the end, it all works out and I am pretty sure that there is no wrong flower, just wrong places to plant them.


26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqWqBbFsdaqqwsC6KegJgFFkML5qtGXzUu6wEgEm8ozYkqt2Yk4cY7hfb7B2RGXKCCadHR2YBaJQ7h7MHo5cnhmKTBWBLeRSwSzJra4FQ9BGLPWN.jpg

More land in which to spread the seed is what I really need.

Maybe not really more, because I have only so much time to play in the garden but, a wave of the magic wand will grant me time to do whatever I want. Work or don't work. Play. Play harder. See? Be all you can be.


12239344_10153771610488832_8520716016028715440_o.jpg


Words have some degree of inadequacy
Leaving me in haste
You speak without saying a word
As you often do
I hear whispers of truth, somewhere in the distance
Covered in layers, for me to undo
How can I deny you
The first chance of the season
To make it all right
Once again


To think that this all started by planting a seed. Seeds are what got me hooked on plants and now I harvest the seeds from the flowers and vegetables every year, carefully letting them dry and then putting them in a place that is cool and dry until the next season. Oh, yes. So many things begin when you plant seeds.

Are you in the habit of planting seeds? Adding water and pulling the weeds? All it took was for me to read, turn over the card and continue, proceed. Do you? Do you?

Gradient - Green.png

All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmiL1ggFM8U6oCwM9eMhoHgs9Dp9Kbt9hnCKf8nRRGnbL3MRRMcWsU6Fc6VuaG.png


Keep on playing your song! Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin! Thanks for stopping by! All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.

20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

I am jelly of your hydrangeas. Sadly my stalks are limp and the tops so heavy that they are spending most of the time on the ground. Not just mine but others in the neighborhood as well.

I hope every house you inhabit will be full of "So many very good times, so much laughter and so much life."

Hydrangeas are pretty easy bushes, but, trimming them the right way can be one of the problems with their heavy/limp stalks.

The big white one in my front is between 8 and 10 foot tall and the stems are rock solid. I have another one that bloomed for the first time ever! It was planted 3 years ago and decided to give us a show this year. The flowers are dainty little purple and white ones.

Thank you for the words, and I appreciate them.

Amazing close up, I love the hydrangeas too :) Here is a little greeting from the Azores, the unofficial hydrangea capital of the world :)

IMG_20200607_154921.jpg

Have a great and productive week Denise!

Thank you so much for thinking of me! What an eyeful these are! These are incredibly beautiful! That is such a sight to walk by that, isn't it? I love that they are basically blue and white. Very consistent soil! :)

Appreciate the visit and the beauty!

Yeah, beautiful sight indeed. Every year for several months, almost the entire island is covered with blooming hydrangeas. The roads look like this: (not my picture though)

Dig6IjoWAAE1YeV.jpg

I hope you will get to visit the place one day. Or you have already been there? I am not sure now, you have been to so many places :D

Not as many as you and Tammi! :))

For a very short time, I was on Terceira Island! My parents didn't even know where it was and how to look it up before it was such a popular place to be.

Le sigh. Speaking of beauty, you live in some of the prettiest places.

I want to thank you so much for spreading the beauty across these pages!

So you have been there! Niceee :) I haven´t actually been to Terceira (we lived on Sao Miguel) but I guess they have a lot of hydrangeas over there too. It´s the natural symbol of the archipelago after all...

Always a pleasure to spread natural beauty around ;) You do the same so thank you too!

I love the wide range of emotions in this post.

Did you ever find a piece of poetry or words written that felt like they were speaking to you?

Poetry speaks for everyone. This specific poetry says something like that this world is full of pain, while you say "what wonderful world we live in".

To be honest, both of them are true.

Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin!

It is already spinning so fast. Time flies. Sometimes so fast that some people do not even notice that their life also flies next to them, and they wake up as elderly people with full of regrets. Regrets that they missed so much that they did not even lived. Maybe some people find this familiar. I try to live my life well, so I will not have these kinds of regrets (I already have other kinds of regrets because of making mistakes, but this is another story). Either way, I am trying to be good, I am trying to take every opportunity to live a good life, and achieve my goals, make my dreams come true. Some people say that I do not know when to give up. They say this like as if it would be a weakness. I obviously do not agree with them. This is strenght, and not a weakness.

Keep on playing your song!

Everything sings to us, we gotta sing it all back.
Or maybe we should not look for a song in everything we meet. 😂

Yes, yes, yes. That's it!

I just said something incredibly similar elsewhere but not as beautifully as you did.

Whatever we declare the world to be we will notice it everywhere and thus the world becomes more of the thing we declared it to be in the beginning. There is a simple antidote to this, take time to notice, acknowledge and share the good, the beauty, and the magnificence.

That does not make us naive, foolish, or tree-huggers. We see there are bad things, poverty, famine, and war but we acknowledge that is not everything. It is simply one side of a coin that is better at grabbing headlines and promotion.

Your words regarding the passage of time are eerily accurate and serve as a stark warning to us all. Enjoy today to the greatest degree possible, who knows what tomorrow will bring if indeed it even arrives. Like you, I too have many regrets but I guess they were just stepping stones that brought me to where I am today.

Take great care, have a wonderful week and beyond. 😎

Oh, yes. There are nights that I am all over the place. Some people call it a mess, others like it. I have found that I just need to post from the heart and all will be well with my night. In fact, the world is full of pain, but, that pain allows me to see and cherish the wonderful things that go on in this world. It is a wonderful world, despite some things.

The world does spin pretty fast, but, regrets, I try not to have, but, can we really help it? Probably not. I regret not being a perfect mother. Would I do things differently? I try to improve every day, guiding, showing the way. Giving them something that they will be able to someday give children of their own.

I think you are an amazing person that I probably misjudged at one point. I tell you this because I think you are a kind and gentle human being with great writing skills and a keen sense of humor. This person up here (above) is well written, perceptive, and a total surprise to me. I like your style.

Thanks for stopping by and thank you for taking the time to comment! Have a great night!

I have just left a long comment for you elsewhere, I swear I will do my utmost to not subject you to that again lol.

Words have some degree of inadequacy

Oh, that is so very true and a constant bane of my life, although I hope trying to negate at least some of the inadequacy helps me to grow and evolve. I do have a poem, sadly I am getting ready for a nightshift and I don't have time to seek it out.

Something about the final line beeing so mundane but so remiscent of life always resonated with me.

They told me it would rain today, you know, I just don't believe them anymore.

I realise without context, there is literally nothing you can do with that haha.

I love just how many memories and life events both good, and the other kind are wrapped up in those beautiful flowers, leaves, and roots. I do this with the most mundane things, it's funny how once we attribute something to them it is forever intertwined in the things provenance.

I would hardly dare share pictures of my hydrangea right now. Your photo makes yours look so pretty and delicate, although, in fact, it is obviously not.

Powerful and emotional words from -Warsan Shire, loved them!

Take good care lovely lady, hope to cross paths soon, I promise I am studying brevity right now... Ahem!

Loading...

You play the piano? I didn't know that. Me too.

Wow! I didn't know that either, it looks like we're all learning stuff today.

You are such men, you know? :)) Are you telling me you didn't pick up my biography yet? ;))

:))

Really? I am thinking the opportunity just never came up. Oh, by the way, I play flute and piccolo too! Good evening from here!

It's been a long week already!

Yeah, started at 4.5 years old, did my seven grades. I'm actually qualified to each. I played bass guitar in a jazz band and trumpet too. My family has traditionally been very musical. I play the piano these days, when the mood hits me. I quite enjoy it though it can be frustrating getting good at a new piece.

A flautist huh? Piccolo too? Very musical! I actually quite like the flute when played well. See how layers people off a person the more one looks? Quite an interesting concept really. Looking more clearly at others.

Oh, yes. Layers and layers, carefully peeled off to reveal. It has always been interesting to watch. I can say that I was recently surprised by someone, but, while it is nice to know someone, I feel like you get to know another more fully when they slowly show their hand.

We have a musical family too, and, it really does make family get-togethers fun and full of music. :)) Everyone wants to show off their talent. :) Kidding. They really are fun. I don't think I started until I was almost 7 and did it until college. Men and pianos... you know that is a chick magnet. Your mom was a smart woman. :))

I can say that I was recently surprised by someone, but, while it is nice to know someone, I feel like you get to know another more fully when they slowly show their hand.

Being pleasantly surprised by someone is a really nice feeling for me, especially so as most people start from a position of neutrality with me.

Music has been a huge part of my life from a very young age. My grandfather [mum's side] played the e-flat bass in a marching band and his brother was a world-class euphonium player in the 1920's. I have a record that was cut of him playing. I never met him though.

It sounds like your family gatherings are quite fun...That's the beauty of music I think.

Men and pianos... you know that is a chick magnet. Your mom was a smart woman.

Lol, I didn't know this to be honest. Although, I'll let you in on a little secret...I've never been a chick magnet.

I think that is fair. I have actually never thought about it, starting from a point of neutrality, but, I guess I do. I don't usually carry around preconceptions of people, nor have a like you/like you not attitude either. But, I do like the way you think.

I think music has always had a way of bringing us together, making the most of it. Our family gatherings are fun and I never tire of them or the people.

Men and pianos? Really. You really go to the wrong kind of parties. ;) Thanks for the words. Always.

I'm not really the go to parties guy I guess; far too shy and socially-averse. Depends on the party and attendees of course.

Hi there, @dswigle not only are your flowers always looking spectacular but your poetry always leaves me speechless :)

Hi @tinman88! Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful comments! They always make me smile!

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 55000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 55500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank for the notification and the reminder! I have a few hundred ready and waiting for me to launch them!

You're welcome @dswigle, that's always with pleasure 😊🌹 We wish you a nice day!!! Se you soon 🌹

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much, @ecency! Much appreciated!


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Did you ever find a piece of poetry or words written that felt like they were speaking to you? This part got me,I once read a peom about "life",honestly I cried while reading that piece....nice post you've got. Thank you.

Thank you so much!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 67 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
13

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer!