Just bought my first ever Apple product

in GEMS4 years ago

Recently my wife and I have been going through a selection of tablets to purchase for my son. As a long time Android user plus my personal, admittedly biased, feelings about the company and their products, the Ipad never crossed my mind.

Nonetheless, I remembered my nephew's 7-year old Ipad is still running well and just as smooth as new as opposed to my Samsung tablet which was lagging like heck by the 5th year - iOS is undisputedly superior to Android in many ways. They don't nickname it lagdroid for no reason.

Considering that we plan to use it for a few years anyway, I bit the bullet and ordered the normal Ipad 128GB from the Apple website. 3 days later, this arrived at my doorstep.

ipadbox.PNG

ipadback.PNG
The gold color wasn't really my first choice, my son picked it out. We forwent the free engraving option as it adds a week to the delivery time.

ipad.PNG
Good news is, it looks almost the same as the previous generations of iPads. Bad news is, it looks almost the same as the previous generations of iPads. Of course, the first app I installed was Netflix.

Before you go "Another poor kid to be raised by gadgets.", I assure you we are acutely aware of the pitfalls of these child-raising "aids", but we reasoned that he is old enough to start learning how to operate touchscreen interfaces and familiarize himself with these hand held devices.

Because whether we like it or not, inevitably he will need to rely on these technologies for school, and we'll need to move him along with the times lest he be left behind.

Nonetheless we made a point to restrict his usage for school work and educational apps only. We still want him to play with toys, not computer games.

Back to the Ipad - Am I happy with my purchase? Meh. Like I said, I was never a fan of Apple products and so far this one hasn't impress me. But time will tell to see if I can be converted as I spend more time using it.

Sort:  

Hi @dxn, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 85%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.

My wife and one of my sons have iPad's and I have one of my wifes hand me downs. I am also not a Apple fan as I believe that the hardware is over priced. Also I have a large problem with the fact that Apple IOS cannot be updated on older iPads and some of the software I wanted to try only works on newer versions of IOS, so the older iPad (which still works OK) is unable to run various applications I would like because they only support newer IOS/iPads.

I know right, their prices is a major hurdle for me, I would not have considered it at all if not for the potential promise of lag-free usage for at least 5 years. else I could've gotten a decent China-made tablet for half or even quarter of the price.

Yes to the iOS too, I had the same problem with my old 1st generation Samsung tablet, it was so old i can't even get Play Store to work lol! At least, hopefully, the iPad won't bogged down to a crawl over time. HOPEFULLY!

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.


Vote @bdcommunity as a Hive Witness.


Are you a Splinterlands player? Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDVoter Team