How to get yourself to pick up a book

in GEMS4 years ago

Books are like treasures chests that contain wealth of information within it. I believe every book is meaningful one way or another even baby books. I know there has been a time when we pick up a book intended for kids and while skimming through it we find something we never knew about; that's why I say a book is meaningful one way or another.

source


My friends are sometimes impressed about how I easily pick up a book to read. And they give various reasons why they find it difficult to pick up a book. Some of the complaints include: books are too voluminous, it is hard to pick a book that is interesting, why should I pick up a book when some of the great books are made into movies, or it is difficult to find where to get hardcover books that I really want. Below I will make a brief list on how to make yourself pick up a book without feeling like it is a chore.


1) Start by reading short stories: Before I began reading large books with 400 pages or more, I used to read short stories or novels that had like 200 pages or less and I could finish them in a day. Aside from the stories been short, they were also interesting to read. If you do this continuously, you will gradually get used to reading a book.


2) Reading what the book entails online: This is for those who have a difficulty in picking the perfect book. Before I read a book, I sometimes go online to read the synopsis and review of the book to see if it is something I would like. For some books, Google gives a preview that you can read and through this , you can decide if you like the book or not with no stress and time-wasting. Two days ago I was torn about reading a book because I have never read a book from the author but I decided to give it a try after reading reviews online and it was one of the best decision I made. The book was easy to read, understand and apply. I will give the name of the book below to anyone who is willing to read it. It is titled The Secret Principles of a Genius by I.C Robledo.



51u6JYZXGKL.jpg
source

The book is a serious read ( not something I would advise reading for fun) and it is better to read in a quiet environment.


I will stop here for today to prevent my post from been to bulky and causing any form of disinterest. I will create a follow-up the next time I'm free to create a post again.

hgjbks2vRxvf3xsYr6qQ7dm31DuBHGui8pKMdEVPxhLfEeEoVMPfUw4auS2vvbXvXcBrTXfghQEp5dmvB786jpp446.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😊

Sort:  

Congratulations @enidareto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It is always nice to read a post from another lover of books! I like that you have taken the time to write a post about the importance and enjoyment of reading. You also give some good ideas on how to encourage others to get into reading books. :)

Thank you