What Does Hive Mean To Me?

in GEMS4 years ago

I've been planning to write a good bye post for Steem but with this covid craziness had no time. Today I saw @theycallmedan's initiative called What Does Hive Mean To Me? and I thought I'd rather write my post on Hive for the obvious reasons.

What Is Hive For Me?

Hive is my virtual home, that's the short answer. It is my virtual home, where I can keep in touch with my friends, learn and post what I want. It's a place where I can feel free.

IMG_20191211_121621a.jpg

Centralization & Censorship

For me these two words and what comes with them can be terrifying. Most of you don't know that I grew up in communism where these two words defined our life.

I grew up always thinking three times before I spoke as you could never know who's working with the secret service and they said even walls had eyes and ears. Imagine as a kid always be told to watch what you're saying and to whom you are speaking to as it can have very serious consequences. There was only one goal, to praise the one who shall not be named.

There was no free thinking, no doing what you want and when you want. Everything was determined and preset. There was no private property except for the basics and development was also non existent. I could go on till morning with the details but I'll stop as the topic is far from fun. Those were terrifying days that I don't want in my life, ever.

Right after Justin took over Steem, I started recognizing the signs or centralization and censoring. As far as I know he grew up in China, another communist country where human rights are non existent. He knows exactly what centralization and censorship means and what we've seen so far from him tells us he's perfectly ok with it as he knows money means power and power means a lot.

All he's done so far is using whatever tools he could to achieve his goal, regardless of the consequences for the masses. That's what he has seen, that's what he's doing. Maybe I can understand him better as I've seen this before. That however it doesn't mean I agree with his actions, not by far.

These days content on Steem is being censored, posts are disappearing, people are blocked on Twitter and who knows what is yet to come. He's acting like a dictator and I'm saying this without exaggeration.

IMG_20191211_121625a.jpg

Do I Want Or Need Centralization & Censorship?

I guess the answer is obvious but let me spell it out for you. I don't! Never in a million years! Been there, done that and didn't like it, not for one bit! It's very bad and harmful.

Hive is a fresh start for everyone, even though we have a baggage we carry with us, full of both good and bad things. I believe the four year ride for some, less for others, has been a time to learn, adjust, grow and develop. The process is not over, in fact it's never over, it continues till the day you die. I believe the experience accumulated on the old chain can be used on Hive and we know better no to repeat the same mistakes.

IMG_20191211_121628a.jpg

What Does Hive Mean To Me?

Hive is what Steem should have been.
Hive means an amazing community what stuck together during tough time, doing everything to defend what's ours.
Hive means standing up for what is right and fighting for freedom.
Hive means the platform where I can practice my English by posting and conversing with my others.
Hive means a place where I can be myself and post what I want without being censored.
Hive means a big workshop where I can watch artists share their creative work and step by step tutorials that can motivate me and others to start creating new things.
Hive means a possibility to travel without leaving my house. Reading all those travel blogs about places I may never be able to visit means the world to me.
Hive means a possibility to contribute to different projects that help grow the blockchain and communities.
Hive means a part of my life now.
Hive means freedom!
Hive means the future!

What Do I Want To See HIVE Evolve Into?

This is a very good question and the answer is simple. I want to see HIVE evolve into a place where everyone can find what they are looking for. Some developers are working on setting up a market which is needed and will be awesome. We'll be able to buy and sell goods and services for crypto.
Developers are working together and I guess I'm not mistaken when I'm saying there's more development already that it's been on Steem. Curation is already working even though delegations are not made yet and there are difficulties bringing stakes over Hive. I'd say we're on the right track.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Check my last update here

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

Are you a Splinterlands player? If Yes, then checkout MonsterMarket.io. Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase, and 2% cashback on every booster pack purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space - 60% for cards and 40% for packs, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDvoter Team

Well, I see you have a lot of reasons to be in Hive. Many of them are the same as mine. Very well written and argued.

I'm glad we have the same reason to be here. Thanks for stopping by and happy hiving.

With pleasure!