Delicious Cake with Ricotta Cheese and Colorful Eggs

in GEMS2 months ago (edited)

Hello dear friends, in this post, I will share a very tasty cake recipe with ricotta cheese.

444.jpg

I made these Easter cakes several times during the Easter season and decided to take some photos of the recipe. However, I didn't get the chance to share it at that time. I wanted to share it now so you can try and bake it next time. I also dyed the eggs in an original way and I want to tell you how I did it.

055.jpg

I add sugar, salt, vanilla sugar and lemon zest to room-temperature butter. At first, I mix it, then whisk with a hand mixer or blender. You can also use a stand mixer, beating for about 5 minutes.

074.jpg

Next, I add the eggs one by one and mix them in. I add ricotta cheese, which I previously strained to remove lumps. In the final step, I add lemon juice and mix everything together. I add sprinkles and raisins to the dough, soaking and drying the raisins beforehand. I mix everything and add the flour gradually. About 300 g of flour is needed, but I add 250-270 g to avoid a dense batter. I mix everything and this is how the dough is made.

097.jpg

110.jpg

119.jpg

122.jpg

143.jpg

156.jpg

160.jpg

177.jpg

Then, I place the dough in molds, filling them a bit over halfway and level the tops. I bake the Easter cakes in a preheated oven at 170 degrees Celsius, with a baking time of 1 hour and 10 minutes for me. It's essential to check if they're ready with a toothpick.

188.jpg

196.jpg

204.jpg

209.jpg

Now, I want to explain how to make Swiss meringue to decorate the Easter cakes. This meringue is easy to prepare, dries quickly, doesn't stick, doesn't fall apart and is very tasty. I add sugar, salt and vanilla to the egg whites and mix them in a double boiler until the sugar dissolves. No need to whisk here, just stir because the egg whites shouldn't cook at high heat. After the sugar dissolves, I remove it from the double boiler and start whisking at a low speed, gradually increasing the speed. You can whisk to stiff peaks, but I leave it slightly runny for nice drips on the Easter cakes. Finally, I add powdered sugar and mix it and it's ready.

214.jpg

227.jpg

233.jpg

264.jpg

Now it's time to decorate the Easter cakes. I spread meringue on top and decorate with sprinkles. It's essential to add the sprinkles while the meringue is still wet, as it dries quickly and the sprinkles won't stick later.

322.jpg

332.jpg

I also dyed the eggs with a different method. This method is quite popular and many people know it, but I wanted to try it and show you. I poured red wine into a pot and placed the eggs in it, cooking for 10 minutes once it started boiling. Then, I leave them for at least 8 hours. I take the eggs out to a napkin and let them dry.

341.jpg

364.jpg

376.jpg

378.jpg

405.jpg

413.jpg

The result is these shimmering, space-themed eggs. They really shine brightly, as if covered with crystals. It's a practical and useful method. If you don't know this type of dyeing method, keep it in mind. Now it's time to say goodbye. I hope you found this useful and liked my post. I'm looking forward to your comments. Take care and see you soon.

444.jpg

Sort:  

This dish look so yummi have really the look of a cake perfect for Easter celebrations but in a way it looks similar to our panettone. Yummi and cute ❤️

Thank you. I'm glad you liked the dish. Yes, it has a festive look, perfect for Easter or any celebration. It's interesting that it resembles a panettone, both are delightful in their own way. ❤️