Here we are again - Time to sweat, suffer and enjoy!

in GEMS3 years ago

Alright the steaming hit summer peak has arrived. At full blast and more than a week too early, but with a jump-start and a lot of stamina.

Summer here in Japan always follows the same pattern. From May it gets noticeably warmer, but the temperatures are still in the pleasant range. The humidity is also still within reasonable limits, and until mid-June, at least my gang is always happy to be outside in the fresh air. The days are also a little longer here, although not as much as where I come from, but you can still feel it.

Then, from the middle or end of June, the rainy season starts in this part of the country, and for usually a month we get a lot of precipitation and high humidity. Sometimes we have heavy rain and thunderstorms, the other time it rains continuously and can last for a whole day. There is no shortage of water here in Japan.

And after the rainy season, the "real" summer begins, which means that usually at the end of July, the temperatures settle at 30 degrees and more, and it remains quite humid. Night temperatures usually do not fall below 25 degrees, and even in the houses and apartments it becomes quite uncomfortable. Good to those who have one or perhaps several air conditioners, and who can keep them runningn throughout the night at full speed. Coolers are needed during the day and also often at night, because even without the sun there is no real refreshment when it gets dark. The walls of the houses in Japan are very thin, so everything inside heats up quickly just like outside. Insulation is a unknown word here, because of the high humidity people rather care for ventilation, so the whole house doesn't get moldy.

This year, the rainy season was shorter than usual, and peak summer arrived earlier. This year it started right away, without warning and start-up time. For 14 days we have now over 30 degrees, which may not sound so impressive to some people. But I come from rather northeastern latitudes, and even after years I have not quite got used to the climate here in Japan. Especially as this weather continues throughout the night, and together with the persistent mugginess it's a very sweaty affair.

Unfortunately, I don't have air conditioning in my workplace, but since I have to spend several hours a day there, I'm already drenched in sweat in the morning and panting into the fan. But I take that quite as a thrilling challenge, the air conditioner in my car has been broken for years as well. But still, I always survive the summers and end at the end I am feeling very sad when all is over.

It will be the same this year, but for now it's just a matter of hanging in there. As it looks, the summer will probably last into September again this year, and on the whole we can expect 2 months of midsummer . And there will be no breaks, the thermometer will probably remain set at 30 degrees + the whole time. And probably it will go up quite a bit, because the peak always comes in early to mid-August, when it gets really hot and the sun strats heating up its oven even more. But fortunately workwise I can then take a small little rest and will be able to avoid being in my workroom at least during the day.

But since I of course also want to enjoy this time of the year and I surely lnow how to do it, you can now find me at the beach. There is this one place I have been attracted to for years, with not so many people but rather clean water. And enough driftwood to make a fire now and then, on and in which we then try to roast something tasty to eat. We have already prepared potatoes, sausages, bread sticks and chicken pieces on the fire, but unlike grilling, it is sometimes more and sometimes less successful, but the fun factor is much higher. And both the extra portion of heat, which hits me from the flames, and the extra portion of sand do not bother me too much, because the smile in the faces of the folks in front of me compensates me for everything and confirms to me once again that I have done something right.

And therefore we will frequently hit the beach and jump into the waves in the next few weeks. And every now and then we will make a fire there and then try to cook us something delicious. In any case, we will like it!

IMG_0435.JPG

IMG_0443.JPG

Sort:  

After experiencing 6 month muggy summers for a few years, Tokyo's climate doesn't bother me much! The summer is splint in half with the rainy season and spring lasts forever! I do understand how unbearable it can be for someone who isn't used to humidity though. Basically I've been ok until now but August is always the worst.

I am used to it somehow, but being in a room without airconditioner for half a day is quite a challenge. I do love summer, but I also prefer cool night when I can sleep with the window open

I suppose I make liberal use of the air conditioner. Usually at a moderate temperature from the end of rainy season. I guess is be complaining without it lol

For 14 days we have now over 30 degrees, which may not sound so impressive to some people.

Sometimes we have around 40 °C and even more in Hungary.
Still better than the winter, which often can be colder than -10 °C. My hands are in pain below -7 °C, even in gloves.