I MISS THE GECKOS

in GEMSlast year

At least we still get to visit them sometimes...

The Common House Gecko and Mediterranean Gecko are both non-native species common across the southeastern United States. When I lived in New Orleans, I used to see them almost nightly. It was fun to me to encounter them, and a special part of my life, since I really enjoy a lot of the creatures that creep and crawl around on the earth. On our trip to Texas recently, I was able to check out some once again, and this time with my children. We enjoyed a couple nights of observing and catching them, and then released them back to their homes.
Here's one we detained overnight to get some daytime photos of. If you look at it's tail, you can see that it was once broken off and regrew. The pattern of the gecko stops at the break and the regrowth is a solid pink or tan. What incredible creatures with amazing capabilities. Enjoy the photos!

TEXAS GECKO WITH A REGROWN TAIL - PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!

Check out our Etsy shop


Sort:  

wow

oh))) cute)

The Africans especially the Western part see wall gecko as a negative creature and a sign of evil.

Am glad that you posted this I wish all and sundry can see and believe it is just one of nature's innocent existence.