Went Back to Work Today after 3.5 months of Quarantine

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

job.jpg
Source

And it really felt good. I do food delivery for a company called Favor ( similar to Uber Eats)

At first it was kind...

of overwhelming to get back into it. But once I got a couple of deliveries with some decent tips under my belt, I transitioned smoothly back into the job.

We are required...

to wear a mask when delivering the food. And we only drop off the food at the doorstep and then text the customer it has been delivered. It is totally 'contactless' between myself and the customer.

I did have a mishap...

along the way. I was delivering Chick-Fi-La to a hospital. And the bag ripped in two, spilling the fries all over the ground. The nurse ( customer) said she would take it anyway and I ended up getting a good tip even though she was 'frieless'.

Sometimes you just never know...

which customer will tip you good or not. You get nice surprises like that Nurse customer. And that's why I love the job so much and will continue doing it :)

Cheers,
Robert Andrew

Sort:  

Sounds like you are smoothly heading back into work, the whole Coronavirus Pandemic has really just left me wondering - how could pretty much every nation on the planet be so totally unprepared for the devastating financial mess it has caused. I mean sure most, like our UK Prime Minister push the positive "We saved lived with Lockdown", but they quietly ignore the thousands of small business's that will never re-open because of it, the mass unemployment that is still unfolding as hospitality business's crumble. What business can seriously run with months of zero income? It's madness, Hertz car rentals crumbled in the UK, Shearings coach holidays, some serious long term established business's have just folded over this. And nobody mentions or cares about the small business. And the Furlough scheme in the UK to retain workers who can not work is a joke, it's being wildly abused and them the whole cost of the mess will be added to the taxes of the workers who still have jobs at the end of it all.

Yes my friend I agree it is a mess. I hate it that many small businesses won't ever recover. This is a hard lesson all Countries are learning. Hopefully we will be more prepared down the road.

I did have a mishap...along the way. I was delivering Chick-Fi-La to a hospital. And the bag ripped in two, spilling the fries all over the ground. The nurse ( customer) said she would take it anyway and I ended up getting a good tip even though she was 'frieless'.

So many kind people out there, its a blessing to find them. Glad your first day back felt good to you. I'm in-between work right now. Maybe I should look into something like what your doing. Never considered Uber though as I've seen so many videos of horrible people they deal with for the cab like structure they do.

Yeah, I would no way do the cab thing with Uber. Just not my thing. But food delivery is something different and, imho, better. You might look into Uber Eats. I do Favor which is only in Texas

I think things are gradually returning back to normal

Yes, but in places like Texas we are having record number of cases everyday. So we must be very careful in this new normal.

You got lucky in San Antonio,
Here they would go ballistic,
(About the fries...)
not a good thing, at all - just what lives here...
Wish You a Great Rest of the Week!
And thanks for the tip!
Much better than My other solution!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

That is very cool that she was so understanding. I try to be that way as much as I can. Sometimes I am just having a bad day and my grumpy side gets the better of me. I am not proud of it. I think it happens to everyone though. I like the idea of contactless delivery like that. I wish I lived in an area where more people delivered. Actually, it's probably a good thing I don't for my waistlines sake!

I’m glad you had a good first day back to work and glad your business is going great guns, Rob.

This pandemic has left a financial mess but I have hope things will level out again once it’s over.