A lot of books at home

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

An happy Sunday to you all! Here we are having a sunny warm days and we can feel the Summer that is just around the corner!
Yesterday the uncle of my hubby gave us a lot of his old books (about 700 books) and so today we spent the morning checking those boxes full of interesting books. As you know, me and my hubby work with our friend Elena in a bookstore where we use to sell new books and also second hand books (just a selection, rarities included) and so some of these book will be sold there.

DSCN4173.JPG

The uncle of my hubby is a nice man 83 years old who was an architect, he travelled all around the world (sometimes by his small sailboat) and he loves to read different kind of books. He loves sci-fi books, no-fiction books, novels written by international writers. Just to know, checking his books we found also a Kamasutra book and I'm pretty sure he was an intensive life when he was young (he was a beautiful boy and now he's a beautiful old man).

We found a lot of Asimov's books and other interesting ones, but my attention was also captured by the things (the bookmarks) we found inside of them!

DSCN4178.JPG

We also found 3 ink drawings made by the uncle of my hubby and I think they are fantastic:

DSCN4177.JPG

I think I'll frame them and I'll place them on a wall at home!

See ya soon and stay safe,

Silvia



***If you like my artworks, you can find them on my online shops on
Artfinder ( https://www.artfinder.com/silviabeneforti#/) and on Etsy (https://www.etsy.com/shop/vumap). ^_^ ****

Sort:  

I have bought “packs of used books” in the past, some used stuff stores sell them at like 20 or 30 books a piece for a very very cheap price.

However most books are not interesting (maybe that is why so cheap).

However, 700?!?! And for free?!?! Is this number just to picture that there are a lot or is it really 700?! Even if only 1% of those are interesting to you that would already be 2 months of reading (at my pace of course)

They are really about 700 books! Some of them are just cheap editions of sci-fi novels, but there are also some "treasures" from classic novels written by Balzac, Bataille, London, Conrad etc to many interesting biographies. The uncle of my hubby is a great reader and his collection is like an ocean, but also my hubby has a large collection of books and, at the moment, I have books in every corner (especially in our lab) ^_^

DSCN4179.JPG

I have ADHD and it is usual for me to just lose interest in the middle of a book. I have bought a Kinde e-reader, which made it cheaper, but I would say not so much convenient. It is usual for me to go back and forth on the pages to reread and get a better understanding, and that is difficult on a touch screen, on real paper books we can use the “finger technique” to hold pages of interest and easily go back and forth to seek the information. Paper has huge advantages to those who know how to handle the pages.

This is so cool. I'm a 'speed-reader' and have read a jaw-dropping amount of books, and it always makes me happy to hear about books flowing from one person to another (bookstore, yay!) Also, the uncle of your hubby is a talented artist too it seems, great ink drawings! Thanks for an interesting post! 🙏

Yes, the uncle of my hubby is a talented artist since he was a young guy. I watched some of his pieces (the style is the same of the ink drawings in the pic) and they are fantastic! He made also some pieces in digital way and thinking about his age I can say "WOW!" ^_^

I totally agree! In his 80s, wow indeed! 🙏

I used to read lots of Asimov as a kid. Those drawings are cool and definitely something to keep. I think we need to get rid of a few books as we are running out of space. May as well pass them on so someone else can enjoy them as there just isn't time to re-read everything.

!PIZZA

I loved so much Asimov when I was a young girl and my dreams was to become an astronaut. Thanks to his novels I chose to study in the local scientific high school and even if I had to choose other ways when I became a mom, I continue to love sci-fi stories . :D

I still read science fiction too. Lots of cool stories and ideas out there.

!BEER


Hey @silviabeneforti, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@silviabeneforti! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Congratulations @silviabeneforti! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 20000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 20500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP