Our environment-friendly "no rent, no bills" freedom lifestyle in the rocky-semi desert on South Tenerife (2023.12.18)

in CLEAN PLANET5 months ago (edited)

Usually I write mostly for myself. Two days ago @travoved recommend posting into the Clean Planet community. I decided to post at least once into it.

I currently live in a community in the rocky semi-desert on South Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain.

I describe our life in a nutshell in this post.

We live a free lifestyle. Freedom. Both financially and physically too. We live in caves and in tent. There is no rent, no bills. Except my monthly mobile bill, which is €20 EUR per month. This includes a monthly 100 GB mobile internet data and 2000 minutes mobile talk into any network, including foreign networks. Of course I can cancel this package anytime.

We collect the waste selectively. Glass, metal, trash.

We collect the paper around the heaters.

As I already wrote in the above mentioned post, currently we collect the firefood from a nearby place. From the other side of the barranco, close to the road. Only a few minutes of walk away from the community place.

We collect the no longer edible fruits and vegetables and the not usable parts in two buckets.

We put the puckets underground below this trapdoor.

Once the buckets are full, we walk away, and throw their contents into this wood container. This is the compost. The mountain in the background is the Montaña Roja.

The toilet is beside the compost.

We put the used toilet paper in the trash can. Once it is full, we burn the used toilet papers.

We cover the new toilet paper with a plastic bag to cover it from the rain. The toilet does not have a roof.

We fill up eight liter bottles with water.

In addition to drinkink the water, we use the water to cook, to wash the kitchen things, to take a shower, and to water trees and flowers.

We take a shower in this cave.

Literal shower. This little cave is like a real bathroom.

We have many shampoos.

The water from the little cave above goes into a bucket, and we use it to water the trees nearby, so it is not going into waste.

We put the food in the other cave. Into the same cave as the water bottles. The storage cave.

We have refrigerators too, but currently our solar energy system is not strong enough to make them work. A thousands of Euros of investment to make these refrigerators work.

We have 5V USB chargers.

And with an inverter, we have 230V too.

The two solar panels give 200 Watts (2x100 Watts) power. Mostly we use it to charge mobile phones, power banks and laptops. Currently it could make only a smaller refrigerator to work. And only in the sunlight. We would need an industrial inverter, more solar panels and batteries to make the existing refrigerators to work.

Currently this is not a primary priority. But of course the community is working together.

If you are interested, then I keep blogging about my life. Mostly I post into the Daily Blog community.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain.

Sort:  

Congratulations @xplosive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Living in such a place is cool especially when it is conducive
I’m sure everyone wants to run away from paying rent

In addition to the rent, we save a lot of money on the heating too (the winters here are not cold, we do not have to heat the caves/tents), and we save money on food too by recycling. We collect and eat the no longer sellable, but still edible food thrown away by the stores.

!LUV.

@xplosive sent you LUV 🙂 (1/1)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Wow I never knew there was a place one could live without paying rent, thanks for sharing.

There are many ways actually. And worldwide. Some people live in their cars. Even in the USA.

Thank you that mentioned me. And as I see your current community is really nature friendly! Also your post attracted attention from people as I see😉👍

Also your post attracted attention from people as I see

Yes. I could say that this is one of the rare cases on this platform, when I am lucky, but actually I no longer care.

Usually only a few people (or literally no one) cares about my posts. This is why I write mostly for myself since months. I am not fighting for attention anymore, nor for anything else. I am done fighting.

If people care about my posts, then they care. If people do not care about my posts, then they do not care. Both are fine. I live a happy life. And soon I will have true love and true happiness again. Soon I will have a bird again. This is what actually matters. Not the attention from people. Probably the breeder will have a bird for sale around March and April, but this is not certain yet.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @savvyplayer.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Cool lifestyle post, @xplosive and greetings back to Tenerife.

Thank you.

I didn't realize your community was so extensive, that's awesome!
Does the community own the land in the legal sense, or is this more of a squat? Do the authorities ever bother you?

The legal ownership of the land currently belongs to the airport. Both the airport and the police too know that we live here. The leaders of this community live here approximately since 10 years. I heard weeks ago that it would be possible to get the ownership of the land for them by litigation, but it would be expensive. As I heard, especially the tax. If I heard correctly, then it would be a one time tax. Maybe they will do it in the future.