Is spending time on hive really worth it?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

img_0.2580672507768131.jpg

source

I recently realized I've been spending a lot of my time lately on hive lately. Not just physically, even psychologically. Nowadays, the first thing I do when I wake up is check my phone for any new notifications (majorly because I do most of my posting at night). After checking notifications and replying messages, I often just spend a couple more minutes (most times turns to more than an hour) going through a few posts and commenting. Then I proceed to do my daily activities, and almost all through, the thought of what to post that day is at the back of my mind. Any little break I have, straight to hive. Any intelligent great idea I have, the first question is "can I post it on hive". At times I stay up really late at night, just cause I'm looking for the right words to express my thoughts here on hive. It's like an addiction, and I just can't fight it.

I've always been been a guy who enjoys social media, though I'm not much of a contributor. When I was still active on Facebook, I'd always be one of the first to like or comment on all my friends post, but I soon lost interest. Then I joined Twitter and was also very active in the liking (commenting and posting not so much). But since my Government banned the use of Twitter in my country (though I still use VPN) my Twitter usage has decreased. Hive has been like a breath of fresh air to me. Thanks to @k-banti for leading me here. Who knows what meaningless activity I'd have been doing now.

So I started to think, what is it that's so special about hive that I can't seem to get enough of. The first thing that came to mind was the fact that most people are genuine. On other social media, there are a lot of fake accounts, people living fake lives, lies, impersonation, plagiarism and lots more. But on hive, a lot of good measures are being taken to reduce this to the lowest minimum. You don't know the joy I get when I connect with someone and I'm sure they are real and not some scammer trying to ask me for something.

Another thing I noticed was hive always gives me something to do. Like I said before, any little time I get I go to hive. Though I've had less time these days, anytime I'm bored I go to hive and there's always something interesting for me to check out.

Another thing that came to mind was the fact that it is actually improving my reading and writing skills. Though, I was good at reading novels in secondary (high) school, since I left I've not really been much of a reader. Most of my time is spent on my phone, preforming rather unimportant activities. But since I became active on hive I can boast reading atleast five articles a day (each greater than 500 words). My writing skills have also been upgraded.

Lest I forget the fact that there's monetary rewards attached. It is the reason I joined in the first place.

Looking back at this, I've realized that I've gained so much more on hive than I think. And though at times it feels like I'm addicted (I may be), or I'm spending too much time on it. I've come to the conclusion that the time I've spent on hive is actually worth it. And I'll continue spending as much time as I can. What do you think? Feel free to grace this post with your replies.

img_0.02865930283593262.jpg

img_0.02865930283593262.jpg

Thank you for reading. Your support and feedback is very appreciated. Have a spectacular day

Sort:  

Commonly I see people who are wasting their time ans capabilities on social media and I wanted to tell them about Hive. To be honest each day I am inspired by the write-up of someone, so it's authentic, profitable, and good for the writer too.
Hehe, thanks to @dreemport for taking me to your post.

Commonly I see people who are wasting their time ans capabilities on social media and I wanted to tell them about Hive.

Likee, there are so many. Where I'm from people don't believe in making profit online because they are so many scams. So when I tell them they're not interested.

Thanks for stopping by

You know I don't visit other sites and when people tell me about their likes or tweets/stories I just laugh and ask them, will you pay for this time investment 😁😂

😂😂 Me too

Hive is like my own personal office. Lol. That's why i prefer to work with my laptop. I've taken it like I'd take a normal job even better because I'm actually loving it. Hihihihi.

I've taken it like I'd take a normal job even better because I'm actually loving it. Hihihihi.

I wish I could do this, but at the moment it's not possible. The love is there though.

Any particular reason why?

I'm still a student.

I think time spent spent here is like time spent in the break room at work. Whether you get something out of it is really up to you. I spend a lot of my alone time on the train or at breaks thinking about what is happening on Hive or thinking about a contest or how things are going on Hive. Partly this is because I know people will respond to what I do here. The result is I cannot just post anything. I need to take some time and think about what is important to me.

When it comes down to it if I am spending too much time on Hive I turn off my phone and go outside. I take a few pictures and come back and post about it^^

I think time spent spent here is like time spent in the break room at work. Whether you get something out of it is really up to you.

Yes, very correct.

When it comes down to it if I am spending too much time on Hive I turn off my phone and go outside.

I think I'll try this

I take a few pictures and come back and post about it^^

🤣 🤣 🤣. But that way you are still thinking about hive

Yes @bOs...

We are mostly evolving into addicts and hypocrites. The mind is the final battle field.

Good luck conquering it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you

You are so right about the reading and writing.. There has been an upgrade for me too lately.
Thanks to hive

Yeah, hive has helped a lot become better readers and writers. Thanks for reading

Feel the same way too. Not to mention the rewards 👌


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I recently realized I've been spending a lot of my time lately on hive lately. Not just physically, even psychologically. Nowadays, the first thing I do when I wake up is check my phone for any new notifications

I feel the same way also, but I would say spending time here is worth it because you don't only gain monetary benefits but knowledge from the posts you read.

That's another reason. Rather than simply using your knowledge it also adds to you. Thanks for stopping by

I think all the crypto platforms provide a great opportunity for creAtives rly as if you start generating enough for posts you can actually buy freedom to create and buy materials or spend ages creating a project. You realistically do need to be making £500 -£thousands a post tho to be able to rly put together something amazing just for hive / steemit etc. For example a small movie, bigger art project. It would be nice if it got there at some point. Nfts afe prob a decent way too, I find it hard to get excited as love physical art so much and the idea people buy it to display but I do believe things really are starting that could afford creAtives that freedom.

It would be nice if it got there at some point.

Im looking to get there in the future

Congratulations @b0s! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hive is truly an addiction. I can testify too. It's nice to know that you have progressed from using social media uselessly to usefully. You have gone from liking and commenting on things that may likely not add value to you to doing the same thing but this time it adds value to you.

I am happy your writing has improved, and your time is well spent. Again, you have found genuine friends on the platform.

Enjoy yourself

Yeah the transition feels great. Thank you for reading

You are welcome sir

Not just physically, even psychologically

Hahaa. I acn relate to this. Would you believe, in my dreams too I often find me thinking about the plot of stories or researching about articles to write.

I had never been a social media type person. Surfing fb even for an hour brought me depression. However, hive is different. You have an audience here, who is concerned more than just clicking a heart and thumb. They hear you in details and give genuine feedback.

Improvement in reading and writing abilities is another big benefit of it, that in turns brings inprovement in personality.

Brought to this post by @dreemport

Hahaa. I acn relate to this. Would you believe, in my dreams too I often find me thinking about the plot of stories or researching about articles to write.

I usually dream I'm a whale 😂

They hear you in details and give genuine feedback.

Yes, not just spamming you with emojis likes and the rest.

Thanks for stopping by

I usually dream I'm a whale 😂

Dreaming is the first step towards destination. Keep DrEEming.....!

I will

I great read it’s easy to become addicted to hive and find it takes a lot of your time but you counter that with the benefit ms it has brought you way making that time well spent

Have a great day

Yes, in the end the benefits are worth the time. Thanks for reading

MY pleasure to visit and read your post

Hive really is worth it. I encourage you to investigate The Inkwell, if you want to improve your writing skills and grammar. Be sure to ask for constructive feedback, and you won't be disappointed :)

#dreemer

Hive really is worth it.

It is

I encourage you to investigate The Inkwell, if you want to improve your writing skills and grammar. Be sure to ask for constructive feedback, and you won't be disappointed :)

I am already a part of their weekly prompts. They're one of the reasons my writing has improved.

You are definitely on the right track ❤️

Keep up the great work🙌

Nice post, we love Hive, we have made genuine and positive connections here! !PIZZA

Thanks for stopping by

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupboys(8/20) tipped @b0s (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

I have never regretted spending time on hive and I don't think I will ever have any reason to.. Hive worths every bit of my time because since joining hive, I have learnt a whole lot I thought I would never know and I am still learning. I have become a better version of myself because of that and truth be told, I am already addicted to Hive, and I don't have any regrets whatsoever..

@dreemport directed me to your post

I am already addicted to Hive, and I don't have any regrets whatsoever..

Welcome to the club brother

But its being addicted worth it?... I believe it's one thing spend time on hive and another to be addicted to it....

Like mineopoly said (somewhere under my post), it depends on what you spend your time doing. So if you are addicted and you are not really gaining anything, then theres no point

Spending time on hive truly worths it as someone will gain a lot and also will have the opportunity to make some hive tokens. So, we are all here just to make earnings and to straighten our writing abilities.

@dreemport sent me here...

I can totally relate to the thinking and writing aspect.
Though I've not posted so much, I'm learning to put my thoughts together to create a meaningful post.
To think one thing that kinda discouraged me from joining hive earlier is the fact that I felt my writing skill was really terrible.
Thankfully, I'm here and I'm taking baby steps to becoming better at writing.