DreemPort Challenge - Reporting in for Week 1!

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

hehehe Hi guys!!!!

So - here is our first report day!!!

Starting off - I'll hit you with my answer to Question #1

...which is the PART I've been waiting to hear from you all - all week long! hehehe WHAT is it that you've been wanting to do - but just haven't done???? WHAT hidden talent or secret goal have you all been hiding away?? hehehe

Well - for me?

It started in 1983. hehehe Yep. I started learning how to play the piano when I was 7 years old. I stopped when I was 17. 10 years I played, but I was never taught really great theory. I learned a lot by memorization - over and over and over. LOL 1 hour, every day - for 10 years.

You'd think that I would be amazing after all that time. They say it takes 10,000 hours to master something, and well - I guess I only got in 3650 hours. hehehe so... when I stopped playing I was far from a master. But... I didn't really have the passion for it either. I didn't have the drive or the excitement. It was just a skill to learn. In the LAST season of my pianist years.., I finally found the MOST amazing teacher. She only took the BEST of the best. I couldn't believe that I was selected to be her student!

She had this massive studio - with floor to ceiling windows. A grand piano right in the middle of the salon! She was wonderful! I loved her. She believed in me. She used to take my hands at the end of every practice and stretch them for me. hehe She was just this tiny woman, with this HUGE presence, and at the end of every class - this was my favorite time. When she would look at my little hands (haha I did NOT have the long, slender fingers of traditional pianists) and she would marvel at my reach. She would stretch them a little more, talking softly to me, extending my fingers (even the pinky fingers that were curved) and speak to me as if I was a concert pianist.

Sadly, later that year, she developed stomach cancer. It took her quickly. Just like that - she was gone. I was transferred to one of her student teachers - and I lost all faith in my ability completely. Within one more year, I quit piano.

So now? What will I do with my next season of life?

Oh... my goal is too difficult to complete in the next 2 months I think hahahaha - so it might take me a while to complete - but I'm beginning now!

I want to play this...


Yes... the whole thing LOL

image.png

Recently, a dear friend of mine became somewhat infatuated with a particular movement of this piece - and I thought... why not! I can play this! Surely if I just put my mind to it... i can???

hehehehe

ummmm

sneak peak at that part?

image.png

WHAT am I thinking?!?!?!?! hahahahahah I do not know... but I'm going to at least TRY it for the next 2 months and see how far I get!

Here is my report card for the week! I would have had all green checkmarks except it took me a bit to get the Beethoven piece! hehehehe

Oh well! It's all about showing up right???? I HOPE YOU ALL DID GREAT THIS WEEK!!!!

image.png

Image
Exerpt of Beethoven's Piano Sonata No.14 in C-sharp minor (Moonlight) - Opus 27.2

Sort:  

This is such a cool personal goal, I know you can achieve it as you have put your mind to it 😊

I can't wait to hear you play it after you are done learning it.

I'm sorry about your teacher.

Looking at the picture you posted about what you intend playing..just a look and it looks confusing already but then we push through whatever we put our minds to.
I believe you can get it done champ.

HOPE YOU ALL DID GREAT THIS WEEK!!!

Yeah..funny how the week ended so fast already I see there's no reason to lose focus of whatever goal one set coz time waits for no one

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!

You did a fabulous job this week🙌 I didn't get a full house on all my days either lol... but I think you can argue that you did hehe... putting in the effort each day to progress a goal counts in my books... and you showed up❣️

That is really sad about your piano teacher. She sounds like she was an incredible woman; very in touch with her love for both her music and those she taught💗I can see why you connected so much with her. I think your goal is highly commendable. I must say my eyes just went very very wide looking at that sheet of music 👀😮 Wow! But if anyone can do it, you can Leah, I have no doubt at all 😊 and I hope you truly enjoy getting back to your piano playing. You are the 3rd person I have come across that has put music as a goal. Somehow, I get a feeling that there are going to be more once you go through all the reports 😍
!LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA !LOLZ

@dreemsteem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I told my doctor that I broke my arm in two places.
He told me to stop going to those places.

Credit: benthomaswwd
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/4)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(1/10) tipped @dreemsteem (x1)

Join us in Discord!

oddly enough I had ten years of piano lessons Royal Conservatory ... supposed to be some sort of thing. I got pushed into doing the grade 4 exam... hated every moment of it ... and clearly didn't make enough mistakes at the exam.. ended up with honours which then inspired my mother that I just had to go on to do the grade 5 exam. My teacher handed me the theory books and I handed them back, told her to save them for someone who really wanted to do it. Or give them to my mother.

Yaaaaay... now we are going to watch a video of Tiger playing piano.

I was so touched by that teacher stretching your hands. It's filled with love.

You are really talented. I can't wait to watch you play. You had an amazing teacher, sorry about her demise. You can still do it, at least in memory of her. I will be glad to see you push through this.

It's always difficult to keep going especially when you lost someone that has been your inspiration and has believed in you all the years. Pairing with another might be difficult and hard because you will kind of think if such person has the ability like your first teacher. I am sorry about her. I know you are always ready to get whatever you set your mind to do and working on this for 2 months wouldn't be an exception when your mind is on it. Let's see how it goes.

Waiting for another challenge this week. 😘♥️♥️

Loading...