Vending Machine Pizza and other Tales

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

I'm currently huddled in an upstairs bedroom while movers pack our stuff into boxes to be shipped overseas. Last night was a hectic scramble of taking everything out of cupboards and disassembling furniture to prepare for this moment and now if you're reading this I'm probably on an airplane back to my homeland.

20220912_095819~2.jpg

A few days ago I was sitting on the couch and noticed a sharp pain in my elbow. It was like a prick of a needle or something. Naturally, I added pressure to the elbow by pushing down on it in an attempt to explore this new found pain in my body.

"Ouch. Ow... Hmmm, that's new. I wonder what that's from?" Pushes harder. "Ow!.. ow!.. hmmm, strange." I moved my elbow a few centimeters over to a new location. "Ow. Ow... okay that's enough of that." I stop leaning on my arm and rest it in my lap. That's when I notice that it had been sitting on my frayed phone charger. "Oh shit! I must have been getting a shock or burn from the exposed wires?!?"

20220908_094620~2.jpg

I've had that charger for about 6 years now and it's been frayed for at least 2 of them. It was the charger of my previous cell phone but the charger still works despite its poor condition. I guess it's time to toss it now before I accidentally burn the house down in my sleep.

20220910_143305~2.jpg

Two days ago we moved a bunch of furniture over to a fellow expats house who decided to make France their permanent home by signing a local contract.

20220910_142745~2.jpg

We finished up in the afternoon when all of the restaurants had shut down between lunch and supper. She recommended that we get pizza from a vending machine down the street. It sounded strange to us but she explained that the restaurant makes the pizzas daily and freezes them and then loads them into the machine which heats them up after they are ordered.

20220910_142731~2.jpg

It's a pretty novel concept and I was actually quite curious to check it out.

20220910_143342~2.jpg

You make your selection and payment using the touch screen and 3 minutes later your hot pizza is delivered to you via a small slot below.

20220910_144020~2.jpg

Surprisingly, it wasn't bad. It was definitely better than fast food style pizzas like Pizza Hut and Domino's. The ingredients were fresh and a decent quality. I wouldn't do it regularly but it definitely works in a pinch.

20220910_144447~2.jpg

It's our last few days to experience French pastries so we have been trying to load up on them while we can.

20220910_212042~2.jpg

We bought a few desserts from a new patisserie in a neighboring town. My wife got something called a "Mango Explosion" and I got a chocolate opera cake.

20220910_204337~2.jpg

We also got a box of 12 macarons, another quintessential French delicacy that will be missed back home. These ones weren't as good as Laduree but still very delicious and not nearly as expensive either. I wish we knew about this place two and a half years ago.

20220910_212018~2.jpg

Well, it looks like the movers are all done packing.

20220912_131315.jpg

It's crazy how much stuff you can accumulate in such a short period of time.

20220912_131256.jpg

I like to think of myself as a minimalist but as you can see, that certainly is a lie. The boxes say it all.

20220912_131241.jpg

Well thats my brief little life update for all of you who like to know what's going on in our lives 😆. I'll check you on the flip side once I get a new cell phone plan and/or Internet hooked up. Peace!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lxsxl ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hey brother good luck on your next adventure.

Ps: those pizzas in the machine they are legit delicious, sometimes better than in a restaurant. take care!

Yeah they were pretty good. Surprisingly so.

Thanks man. I'm just trying to get our house in order, unpacking and crap. Haven't had much time for Hive, just some voting and replying to comments. Data plans are shit in Canada as well. I went from having 80GB of data in France to 4 GB here, and my bill is about 30% higher here... it's stupid. I seriously need our wifi hooked up so I can use the internet haha. Should be next week though.

Aight bro get that fiber, it's Canada, the greatest country of all, come on!

Leaving France with the taste of fast food in your mouth? What are you? A heretic or something??? Godspeed my friend, and all the best for this new (old?) chapter in your lives!

Haha I know. It's a real shame. Even worse since the last two dinners have been at hotels - not great ones. Actually, we went out to a fancy restaurant a week ago and called it our final French meal.

Good luck on the move, The Pizza vending machines are a trip. We have about 4 of them in a 20 minute radius of our place. Usually pretty decent grub but still feels strange to get a Slice from a machine.

Yeah I thought it was pretty decent actually, but a bit weird when you first encounter them. Handy nonetheless

Safe travels!
That's quite a unique pizza system. It looks delicious.
Hmmm, I hope your elbow is better and that the charger is disposed and never to be seen again.
Minimalism comes in different forms, and I think that your time in Europe together will carry lasting memories, and will always be a significant part of your journey, so it's worthwhile holding onto some sentiments.
All good wishes:)

Yeah that's true about the memories and all that. We definitely have a few items that will be good for that.

And thanks 😊

I am so very late, but, I am glad I stopped over to see where you have been. I have been out of pocket. Are you weeping yet? I know I am and it's not even me. The saddest day in my life is when I finally moved back over the pond!

I hate to admit it, but, my household goods were over 20,000 pounds... and here I used to be a minimalist. Their furniture and statues were heavy. Did you give your furniture away? I kept mine!

Good luck, I imagine you will be posting soon!

Haha yeah. I've been way less active on Hive since the move. It was a sad day to move indeed.

It's crazy how much one accumulates right?!

We kept a lot of stuff but gave away a lot as well. We got rid of all our big furniture other than one bed frame and a chair.

Thanks for the tip. You didn't have to but I appreciate it 😁

Hey, you know... until you get a job. 🤣

It was so hard to not want to take the whole country home with me.

Yeah I know what you mean. I miss it already. I'll just be pining for it this winter. Lol

that "Mango Explosion" dessert is so much teasing!! and I loved the stone table at photo #3 -- would be a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a cup of morning or noon coffee!
!PIZZA

Haha yeah that table is outside the restaurant and where we ate the pizza. It was a nice spot. Dessert was quite good as well 😋

Safe travels @leaky20 🤞🏻🍀😊😎
Hope all goes well.

Oh I sooo know the packed belongings views. When you see it all stacked up like that, it looks much more than you would expect. The same here.

That’s an interesting way of getting a pizza. Surprised it is ok-ish hahaha 🤣
The deserts do look delicious.

Have a wonderful day… I know it will be exhausting, as it is a long way to travel.
Take care!

Yeah the boxes make things look bigger than they are in some cases as well. They put our bikes in boxes 😆
Yeah, the pizza was quite good surprisingly.

Really… hahaha bikes in a box.
Ours are just wrapped with bubble wrap.
I do must say, I have furniture so far dismantled that some need 4 boxes hahaha lol
We have still 85% packed now. And it will stay this way until we move abroad.
And that can take months. So boxes everywhere hahaha 🤣

Did you arrive well?

Yes we arrived fine. The pets were all good. Now we are unloading our old furniture from before and setting up the house. Thanks for asking.

That’s good to hear @leaky20 😊😎
Always so much to do… have fun setting up the house.
Anytime. Enjoy your weekend 👋🏻☀️

I hope your new place will be great :) What did you mean that she signed a contract to stay???

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

It's the same house that we moved out of to go to France(our house) so it's all good. We were renting it out while we were away.

What did you mean that she signed a contract to stay???

I meant that she isn't an expat anymore she is staying as a local. It's permanent for her. The contracts are much different. There are way less perks when you're a local vs an expat.

What perks do expats get? I'm surprised they don't encourage people to become locals 😲

It depends on the position really, but the standards are: house and utilities are paid for, bonuses on salary, moving allowance to furnish the house and car. Some people got their kids school paid for or other perks depending on the persons situation. Anyone below a manager generally gets 50 euros per day for a "per diam." That's a huge perk but my wife didn't get that because she is above manager. So that sucked.

Wow, they basically pay people to live there??? Why?

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@leaky20! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I guess it's the price a company has to pay for people to leave their homes, family and friends to go to a foreign country and fix shit Haha. Basically when one company buys another they often have to send people to the new company to get them on to the new systems and all that. It's often a complete shit show and there are a lot of long days and lots of overtime. So the employee is compensated for it. There are pro and cons for the situation.

Did you hear about the guy who threw his alarm clock while hosting a party?
He wanted to see if time flys while having fun.

Credit: reddit
@leaky20, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/6)

Bon voyage!

It's crazy how much stuff you can accumulate in such a short period of time.

Oh yes this is why it is one of my desires to become a minimalist. Slowly getting there. Experiences matter more than stuff and I think we need far less than what we think

Yes I totally agree. We try to pair down our stuff regularly and try to not impulse buy or purchase things that we don't need. We still manage to accumulate a lot over time nonetheless 😆

That's awesome
!pizza

Thanks 😁

You welcome

Oh my!! I thought you were having the pains as a result of the work you did but it's really not surprising seeing that it was the current from your frayed charger. I once had a similar experience with my cooking gas but it was my neighbor that saved me.

Those dessert are just perfect for the time, I hope you have a safe trip back home.

I once had a similar experience with my cooking gas but it was my neighbor that saved me.

Sounds like dangerous. Good thing your neighbor was there to save the day!

It was truly dangerous, I'm really happy I had a neighbor 😢.

Vending machine pizza? Now that's something new. I didn't think that would be possible. Good to know the pizza tastes good. The desserts look yum! Good luck with the move :)

Yeah it's quite the novelty. I've also seen a baguette vending machine in France as well haha 😄

Thanks. I appreciate it.

OMG! I watched a vlog about that Pizza vending machine. And it is so amazing of how they discover this. Seriously, soon we don't really need humans anymore to the work. Wew. Also love to have that macarons, throw some here please

ಥ_ಥ

Yeah things are becoming more and more automated each year. That's for sure.

wow, the pizza vending machine looks super cool!

Yeah it's a pretty novel concept

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
qwerrie tipped leaky20 (x1)
@wrestlingdesires(2/15) tipped @leaky20 (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!