The HIVE (POB WOTW)

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

A hive can connect us and allow for a level of organization not ordinarily possible in solitude. Whether we are a cog in a machine or traveling through life with a companion, there's rarely a time where a hive-like group lacks activity. Sometimes, you need to be a part of one just to see where life takes you.

A hive can exist in one or more of many forms. You have one in your home, at work, or at school. Each member performs their own tasks with their own set of goals. More important than anything else is what you can accomplish while being part of it.

Welcome, friends, to the new Word of the Week!

honeycomb-6121332_1280.jpg
Image by chenspec from Pixabay

The Solitude WOTW has concluded!
Who are our winners?

POB.png

Solitude Winners!

brain-2062057_1280 (1).jpg
Image by ElisaRiva from Pixabay

Thank you to everyone who participated!
How did everyone perform?

POB.png

Merit System Results

Grading Criteria


Grading Metrics.GIF
Word of the Week

Rankings

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 5.46.52 AM.png

Grading

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 6.03.48 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 6.04.28 AM.png

Visit the grading bases for more details!

POB.png

Engagement Statistics

plan-2092499_1280.jpg
Image by jacqueline macou from Pixabay

Authors (By Votes)

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 10.04.42 AM.png

POB Rewards

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 10.05.24 AM.png

GroupPOB Rewards
Top 10 Authors1004 POB
All Authors(43) Authors using the pob-wotw tag receive a total of 2856 POB

There were a total of (43) authors utilizing the POB-WOTW contest for solitude.

POB.png

WOTW Team Appreciation

wooden-2562242_1280.jpg
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

NameReasonAmount (POB)
@nonsowritesGrading Assistance, User Engagement100 POB
@amr008.pobAutomation Maintenance & Development1000 POB (delegation from @calumam)

POB.png

Contest Rules

office-4249395_1280.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

This will get you disqualified
Helpful Hints
  • Include the selected word in your article
  • Include the #pob-wotw tag
  • Use the proofofbrain.io front-end or proofofbrain.blog.
  • This week's contest starts 29/08/21 @ 00:00 UTC
  • This week's contest ends 05/09/21 @ 00:00 UTC

New Users

Are you new to Hive? Read these articles to help improve your experiences!

POB.png

The Word for THIS Week

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 6.23.56 AM.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The word for THIS week is HIVE

The word for NEXT week is Discord.

Welcome to the new Season!

  • The Word of the Week for this Week is HIVE. HIVE starts the first round of this new season.
  • The new season takes place over a six-week period. The first four weeks have their own special word, but the last two weeks represent a bonus round.
  • I decided to add a special bonus round at the end of each season. It allows for higher rewards and gives people more time to submit their articles for the contest.

POB.png

Do you like contests?

trophy-3459651_1280 (1).jpg
Image by 3D Animation Production Company from Pixabay

If you love contests, you've come to the right place! The table below presents a few authors, along with examples of their contests. Dates may vary when each new contest occurs, so be sure to follow along to get the most recent updates!

Did you miss the current contest? No problem! Just stay in tune with these authors and more. There will be more contests that follow!

POB.png

In Closing

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Thanks to the community for supporting our fellow authors. I look forward to providing more in the future. Thank you for reading and following on throughout my Hive journey.

If you like this article, please consider upvoting and following @scholaris!

POB Banner 5A.gif

POB.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Thank you for continuing to host the contest @scholaris,

It's become part of my week. I enjoy writing and I enjoy reading the contestant's point of view. I was really glad to see @d-pend join POB-WOTW. I'm looking forward to seeing what story he comes up with about "Hive". I could relate with @melbourneswest and "the hollow feeling of loss". I also enjoyed reading @kevinnag58's "My Private Island" and @samsmith1971's A Mission of Unimagined Proportions. We had some interesting winning posts.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that my post had the most total comments this week, but at the same time I'm a little concerned that the interaction is waning on pob-wotw.

tumblr_nfzggul8s61sezoa7o1_500.gif


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Interaction definitely waned. When Cal went on his sabbatical, I was scrambling to find funding and a more tailored approach to the contest. #pob-wotw, if you noticed, dropped out of the key words in the interface for a time. Now, however, it's back up to 13th place. We'll get it back up there.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

There are highs and lows, the lows help us to learn and rise again and that's why they are important too. POB WOTW is contagious (in a good way off course). It will be back on track very soon!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think engagement may improve again after the holiday period :-)

!LUV


Posted via proofofbrain.io

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@scholaris.pob, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (1/10)

Thanks for including The Tale of Two Pizza's contest in the contest section! Our story is developing nicely and we've got some consistent authors entering! Would love to see more entries from Brainie's this week so drop by and check out the adventure so far!

!PIZZA

Wait for my entry this week as well, i should be making it TOMORROW bro!

Looking forward to it! Should have plenty of time left then since its 3 days left until the post pays out and we start the next week! !PIZZA

You know me, i barely have time to live xD haahhaa, i will do my best to do it tomorrow <3

Tomorror i will post it, Issues with rain, electricity and internet. Basically hell on earth <3

@jesustiano! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dibblers.dabs.

Did you know you can earn $PIZZA daily by delegating HivePower to Hive.Pizza? (2/20)

Thanks pizzabot :D

You're very welcome. I love that contest. I'll keep looking for your updates!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I try to get the results out the same day as the post pays out and then get the next weeks contest up the same day. I missed that a bit on this week as I was away on vacation and left the next weeks contest post until the next morning... Shame on me for enjoying my vacation when there was a Pizza Contest to post I know! It should follow the weekly pattern from here on out!

!PIZZA

@scholaris.pob! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dibblers.dabs.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/20)

@scholaris! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dibblers.dabs.

Did you know you can now buy Rising Star packs with $PIZZA? (2/20)

Congratulations to all the winners. This is the contest that I love the best. It not only made me consistent in posting but the grading system helped me analyze my writings' strength and weakness. I wish I would be among top 5 someday 🙄.

Thanks @scholaris and all the other members of the team for arranging this wonderful contest. I hope the next season will be more flourishing than the previous one. Fingures crossed

I'm glad you love the contest and that it improved your writing. AMR was kind enough to provide me with data I asked for since the beginning of the contest. I believe it will provide us with an opportunity to see how many of us have performed over time.

Some great mind working together are making great progress 👍

I am getting a very low rating this days…..

It is well, I didn’t expect the same for this week.

Congratulations to the winners


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for your story @corporateay ,

I really appreciate your work and your voice and remember I am not the one giving out points, but please try to see things from my eyes when I read your post. I first noticed your post begins with a catchy title "Alone in a crowded place". That was really good. The problem was that I lost the connection with title by the second paragraph.

I appreciated the story of Emmanuel and his struggle through the crowds who told him not to take the path he was going. Emmanuel was in solitude in a crowded place because he chose a musical career and his friends and family did not support him, but it wasn't easy to catch that at the first read.

Sometimes I felt distracted when reading about extra information that didn't fit the main topic or title. Also the conclusion was inconclusive and vague. I wish you could have given us a link to some of Emmanuel's work so we could empathize with him. It would be great if you could include a picture of Emmanuel. And a more exact title would be something like, "One friend alone in a crowd of voices".

Please refer to @nonsowrites' post

https://www.proofofbrain.io/hive-150329/@nonsowrites.pob/ranking-higher-in-the-pob-wotw-challenge

Posted via proofofbrain.io


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I appreciate your contribution, and I understand your points @mineopoly.

I’ll work towards setting my points straight


Posted via proofofbrain.io

https://www.proofofbrain.io/hive-150329/@nonsowrites.pob/ranking-higher-in-the-pob-wotw-challenge

I have posted before reading these, i wished I had seen it before posting. You guys should see the changes in my next contest. Working towards it


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I am excited to see your improvement and will keep an eye out for your article this week @corporateay.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congrats to the winners!

HIVE is one interesting word we'll definitely enjoy writing about! Thank you and well done, @scholaris! 🙂

Congrats, folks!

I'm ready for more.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations to all the winners, hard work pays.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations to all the winners for last week POB word of the week. And I inspire to get to the top one day 😊


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hmm

How interesting.

I'm always seeing some of the same people winning WOTW.

I'm not questioning their worthiness. None of this before you think hahaha
If the person did it and deserves it, it's more than certain to win and always if that's the case...

But what's interesting is how often they appear.

I need to get the data better and look at @calumam's time if there was any kind of repetition like this on the same frequency.

Again I say. I'm just looking into it and I ended up realizing it. Maybe you can even answer me better, because I believe you must have realized much sooner than me hahahahah


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Ha ha, I had the same doubt but when I see the work of these users, I have no doubt, most of them are professional and extraordinary writers, it's very hard to compete with them but that doesn't mean we should not try, I improved my position from bottom 5, lol 😁. The best part of POB-wotw contest is the challenges it brings with it and it definitely improves our writing and creativity. Keep trying friend, I am sure we all make it to the winning list someday, even if not, lol, participating itself is a win in other ways too. Congratulations to all the winners, @d-pend is the big surprise, a gifted artist, he definitely raised the standards now and my friend @mineopoly, this guy will be always in the winners list, what's his secret 🤔


Posted via proofofbrain.io

image.png

Here's my way of facing the assignment:

A. Click bait title
B. Don't screw up the grammar or writing (include writing structure)
C. Make the format look pretty and easy to read
D. Try to find a personal image that is real to you (preferable something you make or caught on your camera.)
E. Give them something to chew on
F. Beginning, middle and twist
G. Think about the topic a few days
H. Make it funny and alive
I. Grab the audience with a personal or at least relatable story
J. Include your own art or at least artistic perspective
K. Make the reader feel good
L - O. AVOID


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This comment, here! 💯I do spend a good few days each week researching around the topic at hand and mulling over ideas in my head, playing with scenarios, storylines etc BEFORE I hit "create post". Then I draft it all out and revisit it a few times to edit, refine etc before finally submitting it. Complete respect to the WOTW admins and reviewers. It can't be an easy task and it must take a lot of time. If anyone wants to improve their writing, the best thing to do is to write regularly, challenge yourself and when entering WOTW, analyse your feedback from prior weeks against the merit grading system, and look at where you are falling short. I do this as there is always room for improvement and I have a long way to go. Then I check through against the grading system after I have written, to make sure I have hit the mark wherever it is possible within the constraints of my genre and perspective. I know there is an area for example that I can do more in: informative. This pops up time and again for me as a lower score and I know it's because I am primarily writing creative short stories and poetry, but I am hoping to weave more informative elements into my stories going forwards; if I feel it will detract from the perspective or creativity though, I will make do without it :-) Congrats to everyone who took the time to enter the contest and to the winners. I have been away for the long weekend in the UK since Thurday and only just arrived back home, so catching up. Keep writing everyone, I'm off to read the few WOTW entries that hadn't been posted before I left for the weekend, including the winning post which I am really excited to read! Have a great week everyone :-)

Look at this. More free advice:

If anyone wants to improve their writing, the best thing to do is to write regularly, challenge yourself and when entering WOTW, analyse your feedback from prior weeks against the merit grading system, and look at where you are falling short.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's how I followed it when I participated in the beginning. It worked quite well for me.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sometimes I feel sorry for you judges. It would be nice to have more support from the whales. At the same time it is clear that the contest is supported well in POB upvotes. Even if you don't win you find a pretty fat upvote. There is reasoning in all writing about one word. If we choose the right word and there is enough specific information and links we may target potential key word rankings.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's pretty impressive 👍. Winning Secrets from the best. 😊🙏


Posted via proofofbrain.io

@wiseagent, @hranhuk, @mineopoly, @vikbuddy, @samsmith1971, @corporateay

I've been thinking about you guys. Let me know what you think. It should clear things up a bit more. It's an update to the public merit system @Calumam developed. It's a lot of work to grade in this manner, but I'll do it for at least the next couple of weeks to give everyone an idea of how we get the grading done.

It's also a justification for why I reward higher for the contests. I've asked trostparadox to give me his input on the process. He stands apart from the contest.

I know, I know guys. No one asked me to do this, but things are a bit more stable in my life at this time. It's how Calumam wanted things done anyway.

Public Merit System Grading


Posted via proofofbrain.io

wow! so what I can see from the link is a personalised response to each person on each grading element as well as an engagement value. Am I correct in my understanding? Sounds like a lot of extra work but will really provide exceptional value in feedback to everyone who takes part especially if there is complete transparency of comments across all entrants for everyone to see. I hope the engagement portion doesn't stop some from engaging on other's posts as it boosts other's scores vs theirs. It won't stop me lol as engagement on other's posts is just as important to me as on my own; it was just a slightly cynical thought lol as the margins have been very tight amongst the placed entries and we wouldn't want an engagement score to inadvertently serve to reduce engagement. Perhaps the engagement score should also require meaningful engagement by contestants on at least a couple of other WOTW entries too, to negate any potential for an unintended drop in engagement?

The engagement section is new and experimental. It requires me to check on posts at least twice during the contest week. The only time you'll get a point removed is if people are engaging in the article, but the author doesn't response to any of them at least once.

For now, I need to keep it simple and directed towards the article. If, however, I wanted to do a bonus round for individual authors, then maybe I could focus on an author's cross-commenting on different articles.

They are amazing yes! But I'm not upset about not winning. By the way, I've already won a WOTW and I even have NTF of that. I really don't care about winning but about participating and encouraging. I hope you didn't misunderstand what I said before. It was just a question to @scholaris if he had also noticed about it ^^

I noticed too @hranhuk,

It is evidence that there is a need to expand the contest. That is why I invited my friend to join. If pob-wotw is going to last then we are going to need new challenges and at the same time every contestant needs some kind of affirmation and perhaps a little guidance. Last week @nonsowrites also addressed his concerns about those who entered but were not getting high scores. He gave detailed advice that could give some extra points if they were followed. I think that was a good move and that post should be promoted.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Just to add: one of the problems of a merit system is that the best always take the top spot. Except we don't want this competition to be based on merit, then we might see something different.

We are also trying to factor in other things so the ratings aren't solely based on the quality of the post but also the quality of engagement. It is a work in progress.

This was the point I wanted to get to!

WOTW is a total success!

With the magnitude of the "event" many people are engaged in the contest. But when it starts to be the same winners, will others continue to be motivated to win?

Taking advantage and answering here @scholaris

That was my long-term concern. The motivation. I cannot speak for myself. I will always write and participate, even if I never make it to the top 5 hahaha

But what about the others? How will they see this?

That's why I once suggested a voting stand for everyone who participates in WOTW (or any other official pob contest). Where all participants who fit within the rules and have a "minimum specific score" of the classification will receive good votes from the POB (a fixed amount for everyone), but I know that for this I would have to have support from other whales in the contest and responsibility for this. Which at the moment I don't see being possible. We would have to wait to gather more POBs and have other accounts that really want to help with this curation ;)

A voting stand or a minimum curation based upon scoring. I've been playing with that idea at a certain price range and score. Given the level of scrutiny we publicly give the articles, it's definitely doable. However, I won't do that for every article at this time.

One problem with the concept is that everyone has their own definition of minimum. Also, one person's high quality article could be low quality in someone else's eyes and vice versa. People are going to vote how they wish with their stake.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

The score would be minimal from the contest rules. Regardless of the taste of each type of person.

And the total amount of winnings will vary depending on the taste of each person voting. What I mean by having a "minimum" vote would be from the support account for the curation of the contest.

Now what each person votes and how much they want to vote is not the case. You understand?

Wow, that's good to hear. Keep it up friend, I liked your recent curation report, you are really doing amazing work. 😊👍. !PIZZA


Posted via proofofbrain.io

@hranhuk! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @vikbuddy.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

Thanks!

!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@vikbuddy, you've been given LUV from @hranhuk.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (1/1)

You and @corporateay are the first in my memory to voice these concerns. Corporateay questioned his performance. You, with regards to the recurring winners.

@Calumam set the merit bases and I defined them early on in the contest history. He never set a restriction on recurring winners. I believe the reason was that if someone continually performs well and scores high, they should be rewarded. Do you have a specific example of someone who continually appears on the winner's list? Also, have you compared their articles against others who may not have done as well?

AMR provided me with data I requested on the entire contest earlier this morning. The intent would be to evaluate all of the contests in the WOTW and check out things like:

  • User participation and metrics (votes, comments, unique commenters, etc.)
  • Recurring rewards (contest place, week by week, topic)
  • Weekly community engagement

I've presented such data on a weekly basis already, but not for the ENTIRE contest's history. It will take a bit to sift through all the data. It's about 4-5 months worth.

If you wish to look at things, I welcome it. I'd love to see an outside perspective of the contest. I put the weekly statistics out there expressly for this purpose.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'm a very observant person hahaha

But my questioning is not because I find something wrong. None of that. just really noticed

As for @calumam's time, I didn't look at anything. I've just followed the last few weeks since his absence.

And I agree with the point that if someone is always writing good texts, they should always win. It's that person's credit for their performance.

I myself, at the beginning of everything, had told @calumam that I wasn't trying to win. Since my time is short and mainly the engagement that was one of the pillars to win at the time among publications was very difficult for me to achieve due to time.

But, I was helping to spread the "word" and the contest so that more people could see and more contestants came in to make it bigger and bigger ;)

When I asked you if you had noticed it was exactly because you have more data and statics and if this could have made you notice and if this could end up causing you some kind of annoyance

I definitely noticed. I didn't take anything negative from what you wrote nor would I. I will always be encouraging with a questioning attitude. We can't find problems if we don't communicate. So, if you have questions, please feel free to ask. Only together can we improve the platform.

The merit grading is an objective response to the subjective process of curation. It aims to level analysis of a user's article across the board. Everyone gets graded along a line of strict criteria. It works to align curators to a set standard. It's also leads to your observation of the recurring winners situation.

I want to reward everyone for their efforts in the weekly rewards, but if I prevent authors with the highest grades from winning, because they won before, then I negate Cal's merit grading. It's an idea I toyed with before realizing the potential consequences.

The next step for me to take, then, is to utilize data analysis to evaluate the process entirely. The evaluation will look at the highest award winners, their articles, and the consistency of their grading...perhaps more. Where do I go from here?

@AMR has been doing some painstaking analysis on the whales of POB. Should I do something similar for those that participate in the WOTW contests? My approach could be that I single out different authors each week and show how I review their articles both alone and against other users. I figured I would start with @corporateay since he was the first to ask. Would you mind this corporateay? I feel this is a natural progression for the contest.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

!PIZZA

couldn't present something for solitude, but the Hive looks sexy to me.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

@scholaris! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @malopie.

Did you know Pizzabot in Discord has a bunch of useful commands? (1/10)

Words always change my friend. It's why we do it. Not every word is for everyone. I'm glad you like this week's contest. I look forward to reading your article. Have a fine day.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Fantastic submissions this week and all were wonderful! Made great reading and thank you for second place. It will help grow my account.

Second place was all you boss. You're steadily moving up. Actually, everyone is improving. This was the first week that I can remember where no one got disqualified from the contest. No tag abuse or plagiarism.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Nice one, am ready for hive business.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I will participate this week as well, The word Hive do ring a bell for me.

I look forward to reading your article!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Friday :D tops <3 Need some time to make it, is also highly emotional and personal.

What do BRDQ means?

Aside from the normal WOTW grading, we evaluated each article for the bonus challenge round. If you used the word solitude, or it's synonyms, we stopped evaluating for the bonus round, but included the article in the normal WOTW contest.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

So BR is bonus round, but DQ?

I did have a hard time translating, because solicitude have no translation front spanish, while there are 32 ways to say lonely on spanish, none of these are positive.

I guess is why latin are more lively and joyfull, because they like to be around people and party all time posible. Anyway, still, what DQ stants for?

It only means that you're disqualified (DQ) from the bonus round, nothing more.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

OH cool, and why? What are the canons for being disquialified and to be qualified?

For last week, the challenge was to write about solitude without mentioning the word or it’s synonyms. If you did, then you were DQ from the challenge but still included in the normal contest.

Oh nice :D Now i get it, xD lol i always think that we have to mention the word xD

That's good of you,your recent curation report was amazing and wonderful and I advices you to keep it up,more effort to come.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulation to the winners, this is getting interesting everyday and i must say the new word of the week 'hive' is something i will love to read about.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks you for the great job. I'm coming up gradually and this is my second performance in the contest. I got higher rating than before this time around


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations to all the winners, well deserved!

And thank you @scholaris for adding my contest to the list. Really appreciate!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You're very welcome. I'm glad to do it too. I love engagement.

Really interesting to read what you're doing. I can see a huge effort in the grading. This also encourages engagement. I see myself starting this week to be a part o this POB WOTW


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you. We've come a long way. The grading is our attempt at consistency in evaluation. At the end of the week we'll be putting all the grades out there for community review.

Really a great work. I'm just beginning to engage the POB community and I'm here to stay. Good efforts I see in the community so far.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks. It's great to have you here.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Damn, I gatta admit not seeing my names on the list of winners there really hurt..
Why ain't my name on the list, Huh?😭😬


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Can you send me a link to your article? I didn't see your name in the data tables.

What article? I didn't write any article.
But I can write down one if you tell me how to.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Ah, ok. I assumed you submitted an article and we might have missed it. So, you can follow the rules in this article, but to summarize things:

  1. Write an article centered on the chosen word for this week: Hive
  2. Do not plagiarize
  3. Use the tag #pob-wotw so we can make sure we can see it
  4. Follow the guidance in the merit basis grading for changes at higher rewards
  5. Have fun

That's about it. Feel free to ask any questions.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congrats to all winners


Posted via proofofbrain.io