Follow Friday - Making a name

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Which Hive?

Much as I love the Hive ecosystem the name is not great. There are other products and services which use it and they seem to have more 'Google juice'. That makes it hard to find news about it too. 'hivecoin' does better, but would people search for that?

Searches

Is it too late for a rebranding and possibly a change of name? It would be best to do it before Hive gets much bigger. Whatever happens I do think we need more unified branding across the dapps. With some of them it is not obvious they run on Hive blockchain. Is that a deliberate ploy so that they could break off with something else? That has happened before (e.g. DLive).

Very few people, even in the cryptosphere, know about Hive. If they do hear about it then they need to be able to find relevant search results.

One place they may look is Wikipedia. I was discussing this with @hivetrending who tried creating a page. but it was rejected by the moderators. We need something better that they will accept. For that it needs to have good references. It should talk about why Hive was created and what it offers that is different to other blockchains. That should include describing the dapps. I am sure someone here must have experience of writing Wikipedia articles and knows what is needed.

Friday Followings

As usual I will include some people I have found on Hive who you may wish to check out. They will be getting a share of the post rewards.

  • @mattbrown.art is an artist from the Isle of Man who just joined up. He is getting into NFTs.
  • @lordbutterfly has created a couple of proposals so people can vote on whether or not they want a reduction in power down time to four weeks. I personally think that could be a bad move as powering up proves you want to be invested and have the rights to curate posts as well as vote for witnesses and proposals. Someone else wants one week, but that has security risks. Vote for what you think is best.
  • @ashtv is a videograher from Yorkshire who is part of the Filmmakers community. He has some cool gear to work with.
  • Brighton musicians @stickupboys have a fun tune available as an NFT.
  • @nupulse, aka Billy Korg is part of the @risingstargame community and has been doing some NFT giveaways.

This week's buzzword is NFT.

The End

I will spare you a doghouse section this week, but be alert for those who just take from Hive. If you do well from it then consider sharing the love. You can make someone a beneficiary on your posts to direct some rewards their way. That could be @null if you just want to burn some rewards. I did downvote a trending post today as the rewards were crazy, but the author is okay with that.

Our priority should be to do what is good for Hive. It is still tiny with just a few thousand active users. When it goes to millions we can all benefit. We have been losing a lot of sizable accounts in the last year.

Hive five!

Sort:  

Thanks Steevc for the shoutout! I really appreciate it. I sold my first NFT late last night and it just feels fantastic. I love this eco-system, and there's so much potential in it - but I have to admit, it was quite hard getting info on it elsewhere on the web when I searched for "Hive". Searching for Hive Blockchain brought up a crypto-mining company that had no association with Hive at all (and this took a while for me to figure out!)

Whether that means a change of name I'm not so sure - but it's definitely a conversation to be had. I think as a name it's pretty strong and does a good job capturing what the platform is about. If it does gain traction then all other "Hives" out there will gradually fall away in search status and it won't be a problem.

In my opinion, it's better to have a actual word rather than a "nonsense-word" brand. But that does mean that most of the dictionary words have already got some brands pinned to it. Hivecoin is definitely an option, and doesn't need to be a whole rebranding - just a renaming of the token.

For me, though, the issue is less about the brand and more about how people buy Hive. If they first have to buy a more established crypto coin to then transfer into Hive, then we'll always be playing seconds fiddle.

Getting Binance et al to allow you to exchange fiat into Hive is going to be the thing that opens the floodgates. Or a dapp that other hive dapps can plug into, that allows the user to easily buy Hive with a credit card. I appreciate that is a difficult technical and logistical challenge though.

Anyway, that's my 0.0002 Hive's worth!

Happy to include you. You may be the first person on the Isle of Man that I've found.

I think the name was picked by geeks rather than a marketing person. There are several prominent brands it clashes with.

I have a Wirex card that lets me buy crypto. I can't buy HIVE directly, but it's easy to convert from others. We could do with a direct method. I think some of the games accept cards or Paypal, so that may be an option.

Anyway, have fun. There's lots of artists here and NFTs are the new coolness.

!ENGAGE 25

That's interesting to here about the games. I may check them out.

And, I've been waxing lyrical about Hive on the island here, so maybe it'll become a Hive hot-spot!

Let me know if anyone signs up so I can add them to my list. Word of mouth is a powerful marketing tool and people can help each other out when they get started. Hive is not simple to understand at first.

Have fun.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the mention. I hope some talented folks jump in to beef up our Wiki draft page. It would be a great way to gain some community clout. Oh and also: !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @hivetrending.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Agreed but to rebrand now might be a bit late, i did severall rebranding and it costs a lot effort and concerted efforts. Within a company already difficult where you can create corporate guidelines. Might be a option to create or promote better named sub brands / DApps


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Well we need some way to get the brand we have better known. I hope someone can work on that. I know there were some proposals that could get funding.

!ENGAGE 10

Well, then that should be part of the marketing proposal - not seen any results there but branding costs money and to be honest I doubt this is sth we can pay as a community especially also with no guarantee. Given I work in that industry we should really focus first on a "core story" - as a step before branding (if we need that branding at all). We need to crate the core of this community (where tech, features etc is max a little part), we need to create the value, the vision, the potential outcome for a broader non-tech audience to attract users and investors.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We need more posts around marketing and SEO for those with the expertise to help. See comment from @dougdigital on this post with some SEO stats. I know nothing much about that.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

i wrote about this some time ago. google is not happy with hive blockchain, other search engines do much better. why, we can speculate and go to conspiracy theories.

i know almost nothing on ranking things on search engines and web development, but we could look at this from other side. if we had some specific name that means that people would find it only if the search for that specific name. now if we manage to move to the first page on just Hive we would get more random people on.
i know that only crypto people use presearch but if you search hive there first thing is info about hive (coingecko info).

on powerdown, i kinda could not care if it went one way or another as i think it would not do much difference. 35-40% of hive is staked and i don't think those that don't stake it now would do it if there was 4 weeks powerdown. maybe i am wrong...

Loading...

I have a friend who works for a large SEO company and they have such a hard time keeping up with arbitrary changes to the Google algorithm. It's just so opaque, and even a company that's been doing really well can have their traffic slashed 10-fold for no apparent reason.

I found Hive through a blog post about eco-friendly NFTgalleries. Then I saw a detailed github post that mentioned NFT Showroom too and my interest was peaked. From there I was drawn into thewider Hive eco-system. So yes, ultimately, I think it's the quality of dapps will help get word out, and the fact that they're all "cross-pollinated" is a big draw.

dapps would need to do more to get outside people and a good app can get more people. i would personally want more connections between apps.

and maybe the number of posts, comments and activity will help in rankings.

Actually I checked on Presearch, which uses Dsearch by default. Top results there are the same as Google, but it looks like @liondani bought an ad. That's good if it leads people here. I expect it would be more expensive to get the same ad visibility on Google. I don't think it needs 'conspiracy theories'. Other brands with that name are more interesting to the world. We may each see different results based on location and other factors.

image.png

We need some SEO experts to tell us what will improve visibility.

!BEER

this is what i get on presearch when i search for hive

pre.jpg

this post is from month ago, so not sure would results be the same.
https://leofinance.io/@bil.prag/google-not-happy-with-decentralized-media

On the Presearch engine I do get the Coingeko listing plus the Hiveonboard ad. Actually DSearch gets the same. As you said, few people would use those. Most use whatever their browser defaults to.

!BEER


Hey @bil.prag, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'd like to apologise in advance for my SEO ramblings elsewhere on the thread. The tl:dr version is: Hive.io is definitely not prey to a Google penalty, and its rankings are generally quite healthy at least in the US, but it's sorely lacking in other territories.

The main consideration for me is that it is relying almost exclusively on 8.1m backlinks (links from other sites to hive.io), rather than relying on having a competent organic SEO strategy implemented on the site itself. Hive's domain authority rating (SEMRush's statistic) gives us a score of '55', which is actually very healthy (60+ is considered excellent), so I think it any on-page/on-site tweaks could have a more potent impact that sites with, say, authority scores of 12.

ramblings are fine and appreciated 😀

You're right about Google. I also struggle when I search for something hive related, there're too many products with the name. Since it's not an artificial name someone invented, it's a natural word. That might be an advantage, people remember it easily. Maybe just change the notation to something unique, "hivve" or something like that...

Or hayve or heyve. I think the problem is that it was picked by tech geeks, not a marketing person. You can search for peakd, but why would anyone guess that is part of Hive?

!BEER

I recently started following ashtv. I would follow the others right away..

I don't know how easy it would be to change the token name. Not to difficult I imagine,but I am not one of the tech guys. For an alternative name I think we would have a hard time for people to agree on a new one. My name change suggestion would be:

CONTRA

I don't know if it is already be used or not, but we are sort of a contra community to most coins and to most social media.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You are certainly right

We need to be found on the search engines, instead of competing space with other brands who are similar to us in names.

Maybe we have to take the Wikipedia options since we will need a lot of links and references

of course, links and references will not be a problem because we have already created an ecosystem that has lots of juicy contents concerning the platform and other sub-communities which we can use

Let's just start from somewhere and see how it goes


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I don't think I am going to vote on any of the powerdown posts. I am on the fence about the whole thing. I have my opinions of how it should be done and I have shared those. Neither of the proposals are something I fully support so we will just see what happens. I think changing the name at this point would be hard what with exchange listings and all of that.

It may be possible to keep the HIVE code. Other coins have changed name, so it is possible.

I wish we didn't choose such a generic name like "Hive". We could have come up with a unique name like Bitcoin or Ethereum did, names not out of an English dictionary. It would have helped people searching for us on Google if our name was more unique. Too late now though...


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Agreed! If you are not even able to make yourself a name on wiki one should reconsider its "market activities"...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Agreed on the name. Hive is not a very good name. We need something more unique that not only would better show up 1st in searches, but would stick in peoples' minds more. But I'm not networked enough that I had any say at all on that decision, nor am I now. As angry as we all seem to still be at Steemit, they have a much better name.

Why was the Wikipedia page rejected, do you know? I have tried editing pages there before, but had even simple edits reverted for reasons I don't understand. It's a wonderful resource for basic info on things, but otherwise it could be improved.

The wiki post was a bit brief and only had a reference from Medium apart from the project site. There are some new stories on various sites out there, Steem got some mainstream coverage, for what good it did.