Garden Update - Day 29

in Canna-Curate23 days ago

Hello Everyone,

It was a beautiful day here in upstate New York, and I managed to get out for some fresh air.

I didn't do anything with the garden today but it wasn't really necessary. I did manage to take some photographs though.

Let's check them out.


IMG_20240524_182956534.jpg



IMG_20240524_183016264.jpg



IMG_20240524_183028865.jpg


These tomato plants are looking pretty good to me. I'm not sure how big they will get, but I actually am hoping they don't get too huge, because supporting their weight might be a challenge if this happens. There's always the option to chop them back a bit if they do get huge, but let's just see what happens and feel it out as we go.


IMG_20240524_183114859.jpg


This is a Cherokee tomato plant. The tomatoes will grow with a purplish coloration.

I've heard tales that these tomatoes are a real treat, so I have very high hopes for this seedling. I planted this from seed and have a nice little bag of them that I bought from an eBay garden store about a year ago. This is my second attempt to grow them, the first attempt failed but at the time I was not adjusting pH and I think this is why.


IMG_20240524_183134685.jpg


What can we say about these squash plants? My goodness... that's about all I can think to say...

Despite planting them a little too close together, they seem to be really happy.

Behind them are some eggplants and bell pepper plants.

Now let's check out the Crack Mack cannabis plants.


IMG_20240524_184341760 (1).jpg


I'm very impressed with these plants so far. Noticeable is the odd deformities laden throughout the foliage profiles. I witnessed this occur with Big Mack Superstar and Miracle Mack, but not with the Green Crack that I grew after, utilizing a different substance for pH adjustment.

That tells me it might be the pH solution that I'm using. It's a product I bought from the internet and it certainly works, but something might be a little off with it, because when adjusting pH with lemon juice foliage does not do this.

The new growth seems to be correcting, so I'll keep a watchful eye over the development. I don't have any lemons right now so I will have to continue using the solution for now.


IMG_20240524_204927371.jpg


Upon closer inspection we can also see the foliage has a canoe like curl, and I do not know for certain what is causing this, and if there is any relation to the odd formations occurring.

The development of the plants is rapid currently, with an approximate 15k LUX intensity measure, 3.5 ft between the lights and plants at 50% power capacity. I do not think this is too much light for these plants and am ruling out potential overexposure. I would even feel safe with 5-10k more LUX, but I won't push it, since the intensity will increase naturally as they grow upwards towards the light.


IMG_20240524_205410444.jpg


No burned or unsightly leaf tips.

I've yet to meet a grower who likes seeing burned leaf tips, as it's usually an indicator of something being extremely off with the plants and/or environmental conditions.


IMG_20240524_205544737.jpg


This photograph is for @davidke20. He's mentioned a time or two how my grow operation reminds him of the movie The Martian.(IMDB.com)

You can see my feet positioned in the cockpit, and I'm ready for take off!

By the time I get to Mars, I'll probably have to start another grow, because the trip is going to take about seven months. I might have a little weed left when I get there but who knows... I'm going to hot box the shit out of that rocket the entire time I'm flying through outer space, just don't tell NASA because it's a safety issue and I'm not supposed to :D


IMG_20240524_210254442.jpg



IMG_20240524_205901054_HDR.jpg


The cayenne pepper plant is doing its thing and getting ready to start its next round of peppers. I've lost count of how many rounds of peppers I've had, and the amount of peppers its produced is also unknown. Maybe a few hundred or so. As it gets older it becomes stronger in some ways. It's about two years old.

It has a main branch system that I cut it back after every pepper round, this makes for a nice strong base and a somewhat bonsai look. I wonder how much fatter that main branch system will become over time.

In other news...

I'm planning to try some electroculture soon.


GIF_20240525_024623_926.gif


Simply put, electroculture harnesses the electricity that is naturally occurring in the atmosphere and directs it to the plants.

This cone I just 3D printed is used to shape copper wire so that it forms a perfect spiral. The design file that I utilized was uploaded by WoodYogi on Thingiverse.

Luckily for me (and anyone else who's interested) there's some brilliant minds on the Hive blockchain like @samstonehill, who have extensively researched and documented their experimentation with this cool science. Clockwise or anti-clockwise: Which is the best way to coil our electroculture devices?

Right now I'm trying to figure out if I should utilize clockwise spirals, counterclockwise spirals, or a combination of both.


IMG_20240524_235715406.jpg


This polylactic acid based plastic is glow in the dark, not that it matters for a shaper, but I just think that's super cool anyway.


IMG_20240524_235418607_HDR.jpg


Because science is cool.

And that will do it for today.

I'd love to know what you all think about electroculture. Please let me know in the comments!

Thank you for stopping by!

Have a good day! -@futuremind


Sort:  

Ok that printing in progress, squirting "stuff" in that spiral shape did remind me of something less appetising.

Other than that, marvelous martian moment!

What? 💩🤣

Hey, nice to see you again. you've obviously got the idea :) Yes, spring is here again and your crops seem to be doing great!

Hey, it's nice to see you too! Thank you for the kind words @mandragora88. The crops are happy indeed :)

Your garden looks great. Those tomato plants are getting huge already. Next year I am going to be doing raised garden beds for all of my outdoor plants. They will do much better than in pots like I have them this year. Can’t wait to see how the Crack Macks turn out. You have so much cool stuff going on. Keep it up man.

Thanks man. Going to keep doing my best and hoping for the best results I can achieve. The garden has been pretty forgiving with how much I haven't had to do with it so far to get really good results with no issues present. Hopefully the Crack Macks will also keep growing with no issues.

I think the raised beds idea for your outdoor plants is a great idea. I've always liked raised beds because it's easier to manage the plants and pests, and plenty more reasons. Less restrictive to the roots too so I think your plants will do better in raised beds. They're looking fantastic regardless, you're doing a great job as well man.

Over time the things that are there grow beautifully and well if they are cared for well your garden is now looking beautiful and you work hard too.


Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

Thank you my friend, I give my best efforts for the plants.

Sweet garden(s)😊

Thank you! :)


BANNER DRINKS.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Loading...