HIVE UK Meetup in Yorkshire plans and dates around the end of September 2020

in TeamUK4 years ago

4898it.jpg

If we are all honest 2020 has been a torrid year so far for various obvious reasons, and I can't be alone in wanting to see something positive occur before the year is out. @shanibeer had organised yet another meet up in Leicester for the 24th/25th April but because of Coronavirus lockdown which started in the UK on March 23rd it could not take place - and most likely will be next year now.

Hive UK Yorkshire Meet Up

While right now the UK still isn't doing great for Coronavirus cases, and the future is very uncertain how the situation will change - meet ups are not totally impossible providing there is enough social distancing, lashing of antibacterial gel available and some face masks for good measure. And I'm working really hard in the background to pull our United Kingdom @hive users together so they can support each other and show the best of British to the rest of the world. We now have the Team UK Community to post in or cross post relevant posts too, and our United Kingdom posters can use the #teamuk tag in their posts to get supportive upvotes from our community delegated account @teamuksupport It's going well, although I am way too busy to do what I would like to with it all - and hopefully we will get more active members promoting the posts of UK Hivers and cross posting them to the Team UK Community.

One thing is certain, you can not beat getting a bunch of people together to drive enthusiasm, and to enable that I'm offering free space including refreshments for a Hive UK meet up.

Ideally I want to find a date that suits the most people that would like to come, it has be a weekend and I'm planning on a single day event - so Public Transport convenience Saturday would be preferable for Train and Bus services. Driving is trivial and there is vast on street parking within walking distance, flying in is an option to Leeds Bradford Airport or Manchester - if anyone is considering this you need to contact me - I can run shuttle services from and to the Airport. For accommodation you can look up Bed and Breakfast in Halifax UK on Google or Premier Inn has a site 5 minutes walk from the event, they also have a slightly better value site 2 miles away - a good walk so there are plenty of options for anyone that does not want to travel both ways in a day.

IMG_5833.jpeg

Itinerary for the event

This is a Hive Blockchain event and primarily the points of discussion will be adding value to to Hive, onboarding new users, sharing the latest dapps and built on Hive platforms.

On the selected day arrivals will start from 9am for a meet and greet. With people coming from far and wide an open start seems preferable so the early arrivers can hang out, enjoy coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cold drinks and discuss what they like.

Midday starts the main discussion, every one should have arrived by now so utilising either your own mobile handsets or laptops and there will be two laptops on guest accounts for people to demonstrate ideas etc. WiFi will also be available.

1.30pm Refreshments to include a buffet from a local supplier, cold and hot drinks including a choice of chilled non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages from a local Kraft Beer cafe. The 30kg batch roaster will also be fired up for a demonstration of coffee roasting, covering the full process from loading the green coffee, adding it to the roasting drum, full roasting cycle, drop out to cool. An entire roasting experience for free added in, plus the 30kg batch you see roast, will be destined and then packed into 250g bags for every attendee to take away as beans or ground and labelled Hive Blockchain Coffee - I have a really smooth Brazillian coffee for this and it is sure to suit everyone.

2.30pm Hive musicans showcase to feature the work of @darrenclaxton, @nickyhavey and other suggestions from guests.

3.30pm If the weather suits we will take a walk into Halifax Town Centre and down to the Piece Hall - great photo opportunities and history about the town of Halifax.

5pm Anyone left we will hang out at the covered outdoor seating of Kobenhaven for hot and cold drinks.

Proposed Dates

So in my original post @shanibeer suggested the Third or Fourth weekend in September would suit her. This is a good starting point, but I really want to get as many people who wish to come attending - so Saturday or Sunday on 19th / 20th September or 26th / 27th September. Let's start out with yes or no in the comments and then work forward with Polls as we get a better idea of who is interested. I'm entirely flexible, it can be any date that suits the most and if only a couple of people actually turn up I'll just be working on making my shed slightly less shed like like I have been for every other weekend this year!

IMG_6204.jpeg

Book them and they will come

@stevenwood made a very good point about what if more people turned up then was expected, could everyone fit in the event especially with social distancing? Well if every single UK Hiver on @pennsif Big list of UK Hiveians randomly decided to turn up I could fit you all in, with 2m distance between each no problem. Downstairs. I could fit three times that list upstairs with 2m distance between each. So capacity is not a problem.

Location, Location, Location

Screenshot 20200714 at 21.58.20.png

For our UK Hivers looking to work out how far it is, use the postcode HX1 5AY - this map snapshot gives a rough idea Yorkshire is pretty central. M6 or M1 onto the M62 you can take exits 24 from the the Manchester Side or 26 from the Leeds Side of the M62 and take direct roads into Halifax centre.

Accessibility for all

There are no problems accessing the location with mobility problems, wheelchair access is no problem, there are no stairs and a simple ramp inside. It should suit anyone that struggles with general mobility, and we can make it work whatever is needed.

In addition from our existing discussions about this event I know that the cost of travelling alone will prove prohibitive, to mitigate that I am going to set up @hiveukaccess account which will only hold donated funds of Hive or HBD to be used to allow access to ANY UK Hive Blockchain event. Anyone that wishes to donate to the account can send funds to it, I will top it up myself - anyone in need of support to visit a UK Hive event can DM me on Discord | @c0ff33a / Deranged [Witness] | to request support and I will organise between the donators to send funds either as Hive or PayPal GBP equivalent.

Potential attendees so far

@shanibeer
@nathanmars
@stevenwood
@slobberchops
@goblinknackers
@steevc
@ashtv
@cawdawg
@chrisuk
@thehive

I'm going to be posting weekly about this event so keep adding your comments to show interest so I can build up an idea of who might be available - we have a few rough dates but I do want to find a date that suits the most people that might attend.

IMG_4964.jpeg

Come and join Hive blockchain, learn about the future of Hive, how to roast coffee and try to imagine this building as you see it now as it was in the 1800's

Hall Street Livery Stables

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @brosino , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Brosino Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain.

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

The Coffee Break Discord Voice Chat Show, in @thealliance Mondays 10pm UTC hosted by @c0ff33a and @enginewitty

Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Vote for my Witness

Sort:  

I can't commit to attend for now. It's a long trip for me, but may be viable if others are travelling the same way and we can car share.

It would be awesome to meet you but I’m no fan of long distance travelling having done central London and Brighton way too many times. Fingers crossed something works out - but you will be sure to have a virtual meet up with the posts from everyone attending

I think there are a few people up your way who should make it. Any meetup tends to be fun and even intense. I meet so many smart people via the blockchain.

Train to Leeds, then Leeds to Halifax? It's a limited-stop (the second leg).

Nearly 4 hours by train or 3 in the car each way. Bit of a trek.

Comment from @father2b

Weekend of sept 19th would be my preferred choice as both myself and @stevenwood are on our 14 day break from work. Sounds like you have this all planned my friend and I am sure it will be a great meet up.
Will keep looking for updates thankyou

My friend, that is an AWESOME starting point!

If it is taking place on this weekend, then I can confirm 100% right now! It just so happens that the 19th is my birthday, (you may have already read that on Discord lol). It seems this is written in the stars. Either way, whatever date this amazing sounding UK meetup takes place, I suspect that the energy in the room will be a springboard for many UK Hivers!

The future is quite categorically, unquestionably and indubitably bright!

Onward and upward :D

Excellent well nobody else has specified a preference so I’m happy to set the 19th as it suits so far three people - and I’m not expecting a massive turn out as it is. So next week’s post we will set the 19th as the date and work towards that.

Some new names, looking forward to it.

I’m hoping to get at least ten people to give the opportunity of a good discussion around Hive, but whoever comes is sure to have a fun and interesting day out at least. Be sure to bring your camera, plenty of History in the building to grab photos of.

Ah, would be pretty cool to go and meet all you folks but I'll still be on the other side of the world at that point 🤣 If you guys do go ahead though, really hope you all enjoy it!

Thank you very much, if it goes well it will be a yearly event.

Let's make it happen sooner than later.

I'll be there :)

Epic I will add you to the list, it should be a really good day.

I would love to got a to meet like this, However, My anxiety and mental state isn't where I'd like it to be right now and I don't think I'd be able to handle being outside. I've not left the house for 6 months now so I'm basically back to square one with my anxiety (was improving it at beginning of year but corona came)

So hopefully by time the next one comes round if it becomes a regular fixture I'd have gotten better at being outside again. haha

It would be awesome to meet you but I totally understand, if it goes well it definitely will definitely be a yearly event.

Weekend of sept 19th would be my preferred choice as both myself and @stevenwood are on our 14 day break from work. Sounds like you have this all planned my friend and I am sure it will be a great meet up.
Will keep looking for updates thankyou

Awesome, let’s make that a starting point it would be perfect to meet you both, I know @stevenwood is particularly looking forward to it.

I should be able to make it, not too far from me!

Awesome, I will add you to the list it’s going to be a fun day out!

Cheers!

Must have a

!BEER


Hey @c0ff33a, here is a little bit of BEER from @revisesociology for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

If I had the money to fly over and stay a bit I certainly would. Sounds like a fantastic time to be had !!

Oh wish I could go, look forward to hearing how it goes enjoy

I just heard from a friend in Scotland that things are getting better in the UK. Hopefully everything should be perfect by September for an amazing Hive meet! All the very best with the meet and hope y'all enjoy it! :D

Thank you very much, I hope do too!

!BEER on me i might do it someday

Thank you very much

That's cool, hope it works. So far I have only individually met a fellow Hiver recently, but no formal group meetings.

A former Khmer language student of mine is from Leicester and now living back there again after a Cambodian exodus. She's a musician and would be an awesome content creator on Hive, but my efforts to persuade her to join have so far not panned out.

Looks amazing :)

It should be a great day.

If you're doing another update post, it might be worth mentioning that Travelodge are doing a buy one night get one for free deal - but only if you buy in the next couple of days! I'm on their mailing list because of work.

Although I'm sure they'll be plenty of similar offers coming out soon for September thinking about it.

Awesome, thank you for that I will mention it although I'm a bit behind this week with one thing and another.

Hi @c0ff33a,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am


Hey @c0ff33a, here is a little bit of BEER from @teenagecrypto for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This sounds fantastic man!

I look forward to figuring out a date :)