The loss of my wife of 36 years and future retirement

in R2cornelllast year

IMG_0707-Hive.JPG


Author: @r2cornell

The loss of my wife of 36 years and future retirement/El fallecimiento de mi mujer tras 36 años y la futura jubilación


I have been away from blogging for some time on Hive. It looks like three years. There have been many reasons for not publishing personal content. The main reason is that my wife's health has not been good for many years. I can easily go back to 2008 when she was in intensive care because she was in a diabetic coma, and then in 2018, she was hospitalized for three weeks. Actually, her health began decorating around 20 years ago. She never fully recovered either time. In 2018 I took over her at-home care of disabled adults because she could no longer handle it, and I needed to be home to care for her. Her is Deborah, my wife of 36 years. On January 17, 2023, my beloved wife passed away. Although for most of our married life, her health was not good. As the years passed, more medical problems arose, and everything became more complicated. I do not think I could have handled the amount of pain she dealt with physically and emotionally. She was the strongest person I know. I miss her very much.

Hace tiempo que no escribo en el blog de Hive. Parecen tres años. Ha habido muchas razones para no publicar contenido personal. La razón principal es que la salud de mi esposa no ha sido buena durante muchos años. Puedo remontarme fácilmente a 2008, cuando estuvo en cuidados intensivos porque estaba en coma diabético, y luego, en 2018, estuvo hospitalizada durante tres semanas. En realidad, su salud empezó a empeorar hace unos 20 años. Ella nunca se recuperó por completo ninguna de las dos veces. En 2018 me hice cargo de su cuidado en el hogar de adultos discapacitados porque ella ya no podía manejarlo, y necesitaba estar en casa para cuidarla. Ella es Deborah, mi esposa desde hace 36 años. El 17 de enero de 2023, mi amada esposa falleció. Aunque durante la mayor parte de nuestra vida de casados, su salud no era buena. Con el paso de los años, surgieron más problemas médicos y todo se complicó. No creo que yo hubiera podido soportar la cantidad de dolor con la que ella lidiaba física y emocionalmente. Era la persona más fuerte que conozco. La echo mucho de menos.

This brings me to the above photograph. I am sharing this photo because, in 2017, we took our only vacation in all our married years. This photo was taken in Mexico. We went on a cruise, which we both enjoyed tremendously. There were many beautiful memories of that vacation. I do not believe I have shared this particular photo of her anywhere.

Esto me lleva a la fotografía de arriba. Comparto esta foto porque, en 2017, tomamos nuestras únicas vacaciones en todos nuestros años de casados. Esta foto fue tomada en México. Fuimos en un crucero, que ambos disfrutamos tremendamente. Hubo muchos recuerdos hermosos de esas vacaciones. Creo que no he compartido esta foto de ella en ningún sitio.

So, where does this leave me? At 70 years old, I still care for two disabled ladies in my home. I am now looking at retirement. Because of medical expenses, I figured I would have to work for more years, but now that medical bills are not an issue, I am taking steps to retire. I only wish I could have had a couple of years with my wife when retirement arrived.

¿Dónde me deja esto? A los 70 años, sigo cuidando a dos mujeres discapacitadas en mi casa. Ahora me planteo la jubilación. Debido a los gastos médicos, pensé que tendría que trabajar más años, pero ahora que las facturas médicas no son un problema, estoy tomando medidas para jubilarme. Sólo desearía haber podido estar un par de años con mi mujer cuando llegara la jubilación.

I had always planned on returning to blogging and still do. I plan on blogging on the same platforms where I have curation projects. That would be four platforms. I have heard from others that some on Hive take exception to users who publish on other platforms. I hope to publish here on Hive without any issues. I can only try it because many here still appreciate our Hive Curation Project. Based on my past posts, many enjoyed my photography and ramblings. If it becomes an issue, I will shift my focus elsewhere. I will leave it at that for now.

Siempre había pensado en volver a bloguear y sigo haciéndolo. Pienso escribir en las mismas plataformas en las que tengo proyectos de curation. Serían cuatro plataformas. He oído decir a otros que algunos usuarios de Hive se oponen a publicar en otras plataformas. Espero publicar aquí en Hive sin problemas. Sólo puedo intentarlo porque muchos aquí todavía aprecian nuestro Proyecto de Curaduría Hive.Según mis publicaciones anteriores, muchos disfrutaron de mi fotografía y mi narrativa. Si esto se convierte en un problema, me centraré en otra cosa. Por ahora, lo dejaré así.


end of post graphic.png


Photographs/Fotografías

I have recently begun to get involved with photography again. I will share a few with you today.

Recientemente he vuelto a dedicarme a la fotografía. Hoy compartiré algunas con vosotros.

The first one I photographed from a bouquet of roses I received after my wife's passing. I took several photos of each rose, including this one. I have shared a photo of this one, but this photo is unique and has not been shared before. I have no idea how I got the effect for this one, and I would not be able to duplicate it other than taking several photos simultaneously with minor changes in focus. I hope you enjoy this one. It looks like I forgot to put my logo on it.

La primera la fotografié de un ramo de rosas que recibí tras el fallecimiento de mi esposa. Tomé varias fotos de cada rosa, incluida ésta. He compartido una foto de esta, pero esta foto es única y no se ha compartido antes. No tengo ni idea de cómo conseguí el efecto de esta, y no sería capaz de duplicarlo si no fuera tomando varias fotos simultáneamente con pequeños cambios de enfoque. Espero que os guste. Parece que me olvidé de ponerle mi logotipo.

IMG_7986-H.JPG


The following photograph is of an amaryllis I tried to get to bloom by Christmas. Unfortunately, it did not bloom until after my wife was hospitalized, so she did not get to enjoy it.

La siguiente fotografía es de una amarilis que intenté que floreciera para Navidad. Desgraciadamente, no floreció hasta que mi esposa fue hospitalizada, por lo que no pudo disfrutar de ella.

IMG_7981-H.JPG


This final flower is a bloom on one of my geraniums. I am growing it in a container in my greenhouse until the weather improves.

Esta última flor es de uno de mis geranios. Lo estoy cultivando en una maceta en mi invernadero hasta que llegue el buen tiempo.

IMG_7995-H.JPG


I use a Canon EOS Rebel T5 for most photographs except where noted.

Estoy usando una Canon EOS Rebel T5 para la mayoría de las fotografías, excepto donde se indique.


end of post graphic.png


This brings us to the end of this publication. I trust you will find something in it that you enjoy. I am not going to set a schedule for publishing content. It will take time to move things to semi-retire by this summer and longer to fully retire. But I hope to continue publishing here on Hive. Thank you.

Con esto llegamos al final de esta publicación. Confío en que encuentren en ella algo que les guste. Iré publicando contenidos a medida que tenga tiempo. Me llevará tiempo hacer estos cambios en mi vida. Seguiré trabajando en ello hasta que me jubile del todo. Pero espero seguir publicando aquí en Hive. Gracias.


log hive 152200_InPixio.png


Sort:  

I am so sorry to hear about your loss. I hope she will Rest In Peace. I know it will always be hard to to see our beloved one leaves us.

Welcome back to being active posting again, and come back stronger my friend. enjoy your retirement time, and share more beautiful photos.

Have a great day ahead, and stay healthy.
!LUV

@r2cornell, @ekavieka(2/4) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

 last year  

Thank you

It is a pleasure to have you back with us after several years, my friend. He struggled for many years with his wife's illness but unfortunately she is no longer in this world, but I still imagine that the pain of losing her is always there, although he did everything he could to always keep her happy, my most sincere words on her passing. Rest in peace

It was really a very long time and of course a lot of memories happened but now everything has passed I hope you are well.

It's good to have him back here with us. I want to have my most sincere condolences on the death of his wife. I imagine that everything that happened is complicated. The pictures of those flowers are great.

Thank you very much

I hope you are always healthy

What a loving lady and what a great persona...full of life...I really feel sorry for the demise of your loving wife. My condolences and prayers for the departed soul.

I wish you a great and happy retirement. I also pray for your good health. God bless you, Sir.

Thank you very much

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Its good to get going and keep yourself occupied....sorry for the personal loss. It always hurts when someone close leave us.....I have been taken early retirement too...due to my dad h3alth he is 84 years old....its been 5 years without work. I spend time with him and time to time make content for financial support . Also regular posting allow me to refresh my mind.
Hope things get better sooner ....also wish to see your content regularly.

Thank you for sharing. I have a lot I set up for retirement. I planned for it because longevity runs in my family, and I knew I needed to stay busy. Busy, but in a healthy way. I have savings to make it, and I can always sell my home and land if money runs low. I paid my home off in 2021 after selling some rental property. I gave my daughter some land, and they are currently building their second home. They already said they would build a Tiny Home on the property for me if it comes to selling my place. I just would have been happier if my wife was here to share it with me.

Good to hear that....seems you have a good wealth to support the old age worry....stay safe...

Hi @r2cornell
Sorry for your personal loss and I know that it's not easy to move forward in life after this but good that you're doing it and trying to keep you busy.
I hope to see you posting your beautiful flowers posts more frequently. Stay healthy.

Thank you. I have to keep working on photography to increase my portfolio of photographs. Spring is here so there will be more flowers to find as the weather warms.

😢 May her soul rest in peace in the heaven. You did great by taking retirement and came back to hive. I love your photography and you are great.

Your curation project is also doing great. I wish you make huge money from online and can afford all the medical expenses for yourself and family. Sorry for your loss 😢

Thank you

I am deeply saddened by the pain of losing your wife dear person may God give you patience, hope and bless you stay well stay healthy stay beautiful keep working on the blog. And I'm so glad you're back on the blog God bless you!👏

You had half a lifetime together. I can't imagine what that loss would feel like. Photography is a great way to see the world in new ways, and represent what you see to others.

There's plenty of people here on HIVE that would love to see your work continue.

Thanks for sharing something so deeply personal on the HIVE blockchain. I wish we had more people as brave as you to post these deep, vulnerable stories about their lives.

They're interesting to read, and remind us that we're all human, and to make the most of what we have before it is too late.

Thank you very much. I appreciate your words. I look forward to sharing my photography again.

When a loved one leaves, he leaves a part of himself in us.
Of course he won't come back.
But it is in our power to continue his earthly path, sharing this particle with others. It is very unfortunate that this happened. I've been thinking about you lately and I'm glad you're back. You have wonderful flowers. Welcome!!!

 last year  

Thank you very much

I must pray that, may her soul rest in peace. I can understand your emotion too how you feel I do must prayer for you. You're very humble and a kind-heart men. God bless you!
Hope you make daily posts

Thank you sanach.

Sir, I am so sorry about your loss and I know how you are feeling right now. I am also happy to see that you have decided to write again and post on HIVE. I was looking forward to having a conversation with you about my illness and I am looking forward to that...