Neutral ground

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I was obligated to deliver bad news to someone I very much like. I would have preferred to avoid the situation however had little choice but to do it deciding that a café would be the ideal place. I thought the person would feel comfortable that they weren't in my domain, my comfort-zone, and out of their own. Neutral ground so to speak.

I didn't count on the person thinking it was a social gathering though, and that made it somewhat difficult for me as the person was genuinely pleased to see me. Awkward.

We exchanged small talk, ordered some coffee and, to prop up my confidence, I had a lemon and passionfruit tart. It was delicious. Then I got down to business.

The meeting didn't go badly and no, I didn't choose a café-setting to circumvent the opportunity of the other person getting upset and raising their voice. I simply thought it would be a nice setting for such a meeting and it turned out that way.

It brought me to contemplate the nature of cafés a little later on. They are places people have congregated for thousands of years to talk about the news of the day, do business - wholesome or nefarious, pass along information, a lover's tryst or clandestine meeting; so many reasons over the years...and here we are doing the same.

I know I'm not alone in holding business meetings in cafés and sometimes those meetings mean the start of something, sometimes the end...In my case above it was the end however there was a silver lining as I was, most happily, later able to deliver some good news opening up great opportunity for the person I'd met so a week later we met again and the entire vibe of the meeting was different.

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's end.

- Seneca -



Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @allover,
I've enjoyed reading this post.
You are right and I shall remember this idea of choosing a café to deliver bad, or not so pleasant news.
Somehow I kind of painted a picture of what kind of bad news was delivered, just by associating your username name to the scenario. I might be wrong😆 (I hope I am)

I hope the coffee and the lemon and passionfruit tart was delicious. Looks so from your photo:)
Welcome to the community, and enjoy your time here.

Hey there and thanks for your comment. Cafés are good for most things...Unless the coffee is bad and then it's good for nothing!

The news wasn't bad, just challenging to hear and deliver I guess. It all worked out because...coffee.

Thanks for the welcome.

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome!
I'm not surprised your meeting turned out positive, as it was good thinking on the Café meet up.
Enjoy the community, and see you around!

 2 years ago  

Hello @allover,
IMG_20211201_231001.JPG
PS. Here's the attached link to our community posting guidelines to make it easier for you; However, please observe general community rules and see pinned activities happening in the community.

Congratulations @allover! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I'm glad everything turned out fine. Being in a neutral space can help us relax and, so I think you made the right choice chosing this coffee shop to deliver the bad news. I hope next time you don't have to and gather for a good time only. 👍🏻

Good-time gatherings are way better than what I had to do on this occasion...Let's hope the next is one such good time! Thanks for your comment. :)

 2 years ago  

Hello @allover,

We're Looking forward to seeing you soon;-)
Have a great day!