Coffee and Lunch at the Rose Cottage Licensed Cafe & Tearooms

While we were visiting Castleton in Derbyshire, we popped into the Rose Cottage Lincensed Cafe & Tearooms. Castleton is famous for mining the Blue John stone which is a semi-precious mineral.

I was dressed for walking, complete with muddy boots and I thought it might be a bit too posh for the muddy boots brigade. I was pleasantly surprised that even though it was very nice, everyone was really down to earth and friendly and also welcomed pooches.

My brother had a latte and I had my usual black americano. There was a laminated poster on our table telling us the history of Rose Cottage.

"Rose Cottage is built on an ancient track that was used by people from the village of Edale. They used it when they walked to Castleton Church for services, or bring their dead for burial. It was custom to keep one of the doors at Rose Cottage unlocked as it was the legal right of way, existing from at least the 12th century until the 1970's when it was legally closed".

I thought it was a nice touch but I had visions of pallbearers carrying a coffin through the cafe!

I ordered grilled halloumi on sweet potato with guacamole and tomato with a lemon and lime dressing. My brother had smoked haddock with mozzarella fish cakes, chips, salad and chilli sauce.

The cafe also had a gallery selling Blue John jewellery, as do a lot of shops in the village.

The cafe had some quirky touches with a lamp made out of a spade. I like a bit of upcycling. When you visit a place for the first time you don't really know what to expect. I'd definitely return, as the food was great, the coffee was nice and strong, and we received a lovely welcome. I just wish I'd ordered a portion of chips as well, as I'm such a pig!

Sort:  

Yup! The chips looked very good and chunky. You have chili sauce too! This coffee shop is really good; the food options are impressive.

I like chunky chips!

The place looks very rustic and it should have some good products to fulfill the good first sight impressions. I would definitely love to visit this, if I got the chance!

Yes, it was definitely a good first visit!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Always appreciate your support @ackhoo and @qurator. 💖

 last year  

Wow, I'm intrigued!
Random General Banners.jpg

but I had visions of pallbearers carrying a coffin through the cafe!

Hmm... not the best thoughts to go with such a sumptuous-looking meal, eh?

My imagination works overtime sometimes. 😁

 last year  

untitled.gif

Ha ha! You got me!

 last year  

🤣

Black coffee + spade lamp = awesome 😃

I thought that too. 😁

Good morning, just the cover photo alone brought me right to see this cool post.

Definitely hive helps me to learn every day about different topics, that's great and even more for my age.

👇 This is something new to me, I had no idea, thanks for sharing it.

Castleton is famous for mining the Blue John stone, which is a semi-precious mineral.

Coffee with milk is my favorite and that one in the picture looks delicious, plus the place is like being in a movie because of how beautiful it looks.

I was fascinated by the history of the place, I love history and enjoy it very much.

The food made me hungry hahaha XD

How fantastic that they have a gallery for selling jewelry with those stones that are mined there.

This post is really cool.

Thank you @eollarvesm for your lovely feedback. Castleton is a really nice place, especially at Christmas when it is all lit up. Thank you for dropping by.