Let's kick it up a notch

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago (edited)

Rubbing coffee on my meat is not the sort of thing I'm into, but who doesn’t love a sweet little rub now and then? I ain’t no master chef, or know much about cooking in general, but when I saw that I could spice up my meals with some coffee, I jumped at the opportunity. You may have read my previous review of a coffee mug by Rampage coffee. As it turns out, coffee is not the only product they sell. They also sell four different rubs that are a blend of coffee and spices. My curiosity was piqued.

Rub_0003.jpg

So far, I’ve used two of them: Sweet Canadian Maple and The Original Blend. I was skeptical at first because the idea of rubbing coffee on my meat sounded like funny business. What kind of sorcery is this? I asked myself, as I embarked in this voyage of culinary discovery.

As per the label, the Sweet Canadian Maple blend contains kosher salt, pure Canadian maple sugar, demerara sugar, garlic, onion, cinnamon, paprika, black pepper, and coffee. The suggested critters for this rub are pork & chicken. As it so happens, I had some locally sourced pork in the freezer, so without further ado, I took that sucker out and slapped some spices on it.

Rub_0001.jpg

Working it gently, I covered both sides, being somewhat generous with the rub but careful not to overwhelm the meat. Once I put it on the heat, it didn’t take long for the rub to burn, but inside, the meat remain juicy and tender. When I took the first bite, my eyes lit up and my mouth watered. It was a revelation. Angels sang. I had put just the right amount of rub, which was sweet and delicious without attracting too much attention to itself. The coffee flavor was noticeable but not overwhelming either. The rub let the meat be meat. Which is as it should be in a good rub, though I'm no expert in the matter.

Rub_0002.jpg

The second blend I used was the Original blend. It contains the same ingredients as the Canadian maple coffee rub without the maple sugar, demerara sugar, and cinnamon. The animal icons on the label suggests using this rub on cows, chickens, fishes, and pigs. I had a piece of sirloin and top sirloin, also locally sourced, so I decided to get all fancy with the rub.

Rub_0004.jpg

Rub_0006.jpg

I followed the same procedure as before; why mess with a good thing? I sprinkled and rubbed until both sides were covered and then cooked the two pieces. Just like before, the spice burned, but the meat remained ever so tender in the middle. Both tasted heavenly. This rub was more salty and spicy that the maple one, but it was just as delicious. Juices ran down the side of my mouth. It was stupendously decadent.

Rub_0005.jpg

As you can see, I really enjoyed myself. The two coffee rubs added a great flavor to the meat, and even though the spices burned in the heat, the meat remained ever so juicy and tender. I was a bit wired after eating and didn't sleep until two in the morning. Whether it was the effects of the coffee or the other spices arousing my senses, I don’t know, but it was certainly a delicious touch.

I still have two other coffee blends left: The World's Hottest and poultry perfection. Who knows what gustatory delights await me, but my mouth is already watering.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hello @litguru,
My curiosity is piqued too:)
This is awesome stuff!
I'm salivating for juicy meat now, and I haven't even had my morning coffee yet.
What a great find!
The maple syrup is what causes it to burn so fast.
Maybe if you're cooking chicken or pork, you could add basic seasonings, and let the meat cook enough, then add the spice with the maple syrup. That way, you could cook it on low heat, still get the full flavour, and it would prevent the meat from burning (so quickly).
I'm pleased to see this mixture, because I do experiment with spices, but I don't think I've ever added coffee. It's nice that the coffee flavour was just a hint and not overpowering.
Thanks for dropping by with this awesome post.
Have a great day, and enjoy the rest of your juicy meat and spices;-)

My curiosity is piqued too:)

Oh yes, @millycf1976, the rubs are quite marvellous. I think you're right, the maple sugar is melting and burning. I honestly don't mind because it gives the meat a smoky flavour and firmness on the outside that melts in your mouth with an explosion of juices when you bite into it. But I'm also eager to experiment with your technique and see what effect it has on it, so thank you for the tip. I never thought I would enjoy coffee in this manner, but these rubs are so good, they could have you eating meat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Such delight!

 3 years ago  

I do love the smoky taste and smell of the slightly burnt meat too 😋

Eating meat for breakfast lunch and dinner sounds like a nice punishment, makes me want to misbehave🤣

Oh wow, that looks fantastic! I've never heard of a coffee rub. I absolutely must try it.

We've been eating a lot more vegetarian foods lately. But tonight we had vegetarian burgers, and my husband and son and I agreed they were good but that when we want the occasional steak or burger, we are going to get the real deal!

I'm relieved I'm not the only that hadn't heard of this type of rub. They're truly delicious. I'm amazed how they alter the meat's flavor without taking away from its unique taste. I've been buying local products, so it's great quality meat. I hope you get a chance to spoil yourself :)

Coffee and meat? I didn't see this coming, it is quite an unusual combo, I wonder how would this react with fish, I only eat fish meat.

I honestly thought that I was the only one who didn't know about this exotic pairing. In my mind, every one else was having coffee rub parties and had not invited me. I'm thrilled I'm not the only one who didn't know about this spicy and energetic delicacy. 😊

Two of the rubs (The World's Hottest and the Original) are recommended for fish, but I don't see why you couldn't use all four on the slippery fellows. The more the merrier.

Can you order them online?

Right here: https://rampagecoffee.com/collections/rampage-coffee-co-coffee-rubs

Not associated with them, just a happy customer and so on :)

I checked it out, do they ship in Europe? At FAQ they mention only North America

Europe! Not sure if they deliver. If they do, they might have high delivery fees. You could experiment at home with your own creations. The secret ingredient is coffee after all. ☕

Yup , I will definetely try!

 3 years ago  

Hello @litguru,

We're Looking forward to seeing you soon;-)
Have a great day!

Thank you!

Wow! To be honest, I’m super intrigued and jealous! Hahaha I want to try those rubs too. I’ll look up at the internet so I can surely buy one now. Hahahaha

I’m so glad you shared this here. I just stumbled upon a very good post!

More powers 😊❤️

You won't be dissapointed! The rubs are delicious and fun!

That excites me even more! 😊😊😊

Congratulations @litguru! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List