Dirty Chai & Plant Life At Garden of Easton

If you've ever been to Easton in Bristol you'd probably know about this gorgeous cafe. It's very hard to walk past and not want to go in - it just seems buzzing and warm from the road.

IMG20240221134844.jpg

For a plant lover, it's worth going in even if you don't order anything. It's basically two levels of devil's ivy, persian rugs, fairy lights and other indoor plants. What's not to love?

IMG20240221143011.jpg

As you walked up the stairs it felt like you were in a jungle of palms and hanging baskets, and huge lantern shone like the sun. A mural on the wall completed the feeling of being in nature. The place was alive with people chatting. It really felt like a cheery respite against the chill and grey outside.

We weren't here to eat (we'd stuffed up on samosa from the corner store) but were tempted by the beautiful cakes at the counter and walking past people's tables, I was drooling at some of the amazing food and vowed to come back for a vegetarian fry up one day!

IMG20240221143003.jpg

My sister in law ordered a dirty chai - which is coffee and chai. I just had to try it. It was kinda sweet but not overmuch and I tell you what it'd stand in for cake as well. Just delicious. It was so good I changed my order at the last minute and had one as well.

IMG20240221140630.jpg

I tell you what it did seem over expensive for a coffee - my husband's flat white cost the equivalent of $6.50AUD which is a lot for us, but it's probably comparable to Melbourne prices. BUt look at the size of the thing - note, that's SMALL.

image.png

Last year we didn't buy coffee at all, so even buying one felt like a shock to the system. I did enjoy the different drinks to what we've have on the menu at home though.

image.png

I don't often post about toilets unless it's in @livinginuktaiwan's Loo Loo community and even then pretty rarely, but this one was pretty cool. I WANT ONE.

When I got home I had a proper look at the menu and regretted not having lunch here - they had everything from arepas to japanese pancakes, and favour local produce and organic, as well as having lots of vegan friendly food. Next time I'm in Bristol, I'll definitely be eating here - though I'm not sure I can afford a drink as well!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Sort:  

Such a cool and peaceful environment to have coffee with love ones... coffee looks tempting... 😋

I shouldn't drink coffee but I do like it!

The toilet design is pretty cool, I think I want one too

Hahah yeah I bet they are expensive!

There are several important elements in your publication that I can highlight and that, at least for me, are worth noting.

First of all I loved the decoration of the place and its way of harmonizing with the environment and, for me, as a Geography teacher it is essential.
Secondly, the way the toilet is designed. It is true that it is interesting and I had never seen one like it before.
Thirdly, the way of writing the publication that makes us be in the place.

The coffee looks delicious but I can't speak about its quality. Anyway with the above elements it is very enjoyable.
Happy journey. Cheers and best regards.

£4.20 does sound expensive for a coffee, in fact I think things have got more expensive in the past couple of years in the UK

I'm with you on the loo, that's really cool, wonder how they did it. Now I'll probably got to go check it out sometime

I was just talking to @stortebeker about it. Some things are on par with UK and my son tells me that in a lot of places in Melbs it'll get this pricey too. Some basic items are way more exy, some are cheaper. But eating out - sheesh, it's pretty pricey. We've been mainly eating pasties when we are out, haha!

dude you are in England in this dog weather???

hahaha yep. only for a few more weeks.

 3 months ago  

I have only passed through Bristol, but I hope to spend a day there before we move away from the area, so I appreciate this review.
That's an eye-catching toilet for sure. I've never seen any like it before.

I'll be back in the UK on Wednesday, so let me know if you'll be able to make it to Devizes:)))

You're very welcome. Have a Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Day!-8.jpg

I will let you know - it's a bit silly that we are only 45 minutes away from each other right now. Part of difficulty is I can't drive here - we have a hire car for ten days tehn the landie will get here then we'll be off to maroc. But we'll be here fr the summer as well.

Maybe we can meet in frome for a wild swim or something!

 3 months ago  

Ah, I see. Ok, we can see how it goes. I know how it is with transportation:)

Yeah and Jamie has to drive me everywhere which is sooo tricky for my feelings of independence!!

 3 months ago  

Hehe! I know what you mean. I just got back to the boat today, and I fid the weather so miserable.

Wow! That toilet is something! And all those plants! I would have loved looking at all the plants!

It's amazing!!! Check this rubber plant out at our mates the other day ..

IMG20240228091124.jpg

That has to be the biggest one I've ever seen inside!

I was wondering where you are. when you mentioned samosa and dirty chai, then my light was on. So enjoy your stay dear. :)

Being a nature lover, I can imagine how pleasant it must have been to sit in that cafe.
As I virtually walked through this café with you, I heard, "The place was alive with people chatting.” And In my mind, I thought you were saying "The place was alive with people chirping". Then I corrected myself and replaced 'People' with 'Birds'. 😄🌼🙏

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!